We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great best tartar sauce”
Review of Saltee Islands

Saltee Islands
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great best tartar sauce”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Delicious lemon sole and monk fish but the chips were soggy . However the tartar sauce obviously not out of a jar and I have never had such a good salad from a Fish and Chop shop.
The waiting time needs to be improved.

But must sort out waiting times.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    19
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Omagh
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We headed to Kilmore Quay, very excited about our trip to the Saltee Islands. We wanted to cruise around them rather than spend 5 hours walking around them, as we have 3 children under 7. The cruise departs at 2pm and we were on the quay waiting patiently with 2 other ladies when the boat owner arrived. The trip cost 20 euro per adult and half that for children. The man totted up his fares and decided that 110 euro was not worth his while and he would not take us on the boat!! Unbelievable! The kids were gutted about the " mean man"!

Helpful?
20 Thank Tyronegang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Amazing Day Out”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Why have I not discovered this gem sooner???!! Visited the Saltee Islands today. Arrived in Kilmore Quay (2hr from Dublin) & departed on the 11am boat (organised with Declan Bates the day before). We have incredible weather. Boat journey was maybe 15-20 min. At the island we were transferred into a dingy and brought to shore in that.

**Note: you will get wet. Bring wellies/flip-flops or remove shoes & socks. Pack a towel**

On landed on the island, we were left there for 4 hours (boats returns to mainland at 3:30pm & also 4:30pm)

If you travel between May & July, you'll be blown away by the seabirds...They are everywhere!!!! My favourite are puffins. The gannet colony at the far east of the island is unbelievable. I sat and ate my lunch while literally sitting at the edge of the colony, unreal. You'll also see seals lounging around.

Cost €25/pp for the boat

If you're worried that 4 hrs on the island is a lot, well don't, because it's not!!!

Bring a picnic, drinks and sunscreen. You should probably prepare for changeable weather. There is *no* shelter on the island and no facilities whatsoever.

Have fun and take lots of photos.

Helpful?
12 Thank AlanMerrins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlow, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great day out on the Saltee”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We went there in June 2013. We went across with Declan Bates, who along with a few others do trips to Great Saltee. It was my first time to explore the island, only ever having gotten off for lunch during a fishing trip some years ago.
I was absolutely amazed by its beauty and had underestimated its size. It takes about 4 or 5 hours to wander around it at your leisure. The Gulls swoop at you when you unknowing get too near their nests. We managed to keep them off by holding a fern over our heads. Once past that area (most people didn't go to the eastern part of the island where the gulls are most plentiful) we came across the beautiful and timid Puffins. I got to within a couple of metres of them regularly. The razorbills and Gannets also allowed close approach.
Bring good walking footwear, flask and sandwiches, drinks, a good camera with lots of memory, a variety of clothing including rain poncho or similar.
I don't know why I left it so long to do this trip, as it was one of my most enjoyable ones.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank wearb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Be ready to rough it a little”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We loved being able to hike on the Saltee Island and see all of the seabirds. However, just be warned, take everything you need for the day, as there are no facilities of any kind there. Also, the ferry is a working ferry, nothing luxurious about it, and there is no official pier for landing on the island. You will be walking through water and over seaweed to get to land, so be prepared with boots.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank LShue211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saltee Islands also viewed

Kilmore Quay, County Wexford
County Wexford, Province of Leinster
 
Fethard On Sea, County Wexford
 

Been to Saltee Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing