We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must for Sunday brunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Dauphins Heureux Cafe Restaurant

Les Dauphins Heureux Cafe Restaurant
Price range: US$11 - US$108
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Les Dauphins Heureux Cafe Restaurant is located on Anse Royale beach, in the village of Anse Royale, South East Mahe. Our restaurant specializes in authentic Creole cuisine, seafood, fresh fish, cocktails and great desserts. Seating is possible inside the restaurant, on the open air deck, or you may book a table on the sand under the trees overlooking the ocean and beach. The bay of Anse Royale is an excellent swimming beach with good snorkelling right in front of the restaurant. Every Sunday lunchtime we offer a Sunday lunch Creole Buffet from 1pm to 3.30pm, with specialties like grilled red snapper, octopus curry, an assortment of salads & chutneys like mango, patole, margos, fruit citere. Our hot dishes include 'katkat banane', salted fish with brede mouroung, barbequed pork belly etc.. Desserts are : bananes caramel, coconut nougat, daube de patates or bananes in coconut milk. Every Friday evenings we have our 'fish and shrimp' (& our 'A la Carte' menu) night with live vocals & guitar music from two talented local artists. We are open for breakfast from 8:30am.
UAE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must for Sunday brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

It gives you a chance to taste a lot of creole dishes. A bit disorganized on booking, they tell you you don't need it and then when you get there they say there is no space

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank lovetravellingUae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    116
    44
    27
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mahe Island, Seychelles
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely, local restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

A gem of a restaurant tucked away in the village of Anse Royale.
We have been here several times and on each occasion have enjoyed a wonderful meal. I would describe the food as modern Creole. As would be expected, there are lots of fish dishes to choose from but meat also features on the menu. I cannot agree with a previous reviewer who complained about portion size. Starters are large enough to share between two people and the main dishes always seem enough.
The decor of the restaurant is very stylish and pleasingly understated. Tables are not too close together and diners can choose to sit inside or on a wooden decked area, or even on the beach.
What really makes this restaurant a success is the presence of the owner who makes a point of welcoming guests and making sure that everything is okay for them.
On Sunday there is a lunchtime buffet and Friday is 'Fish Night' with live music (when we were there this consisted of two guys with guitars singing a range of things from local Creole and French folk songs to Simon & Garfunkel and Elvis! And they were excellent!). Can't wait to go again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janeonhertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice food and Owner!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Beautiful restaurant with tasty food and beach view!
The owner is such a nice lady!!!
Recommended!
The best on Anse Royale area.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food with OK atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Decent lunch spot in Anse Royale. Not much seating and little ambience but food was quite tasty. I had jobfish curry and my wife had grilled chicken. Service was in line with the norm in Mahe.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank IlliniBadger84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Inconsistent quality, small portions, so-so food,overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Great view!!!

Went once for a kid's size fish and chips and a beer; received a generous portion of fish that was better than Kaz Creole next door that we tried the next day.

Went again two days later on Saturday, Dec. 28, 2013 and ordered two adult fish and chips and received as much on two plates as we received for single kid's plate the first visit - also batter was tempura and greasy, which was not the style the first visit.

Ordered the caramelized bananas with coconut ice cream for dessert (around $14 dollars) (which could easily have been amazing) and got a very small dish of smushy, old brown-veined rubbish bananas 'camouflaged' in a starch-thickened syrup sauce with slices of orange thrown in and a tiny scoop of grainy coconut ice cream half melted on top. Yuck.
The banana were rough textured in the mouth because they were so old.

Banana are cheap here and really creamy and delicious, so it was pretty offensive to be served trash and charge a price that would indicate some pride of craftsmanship.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Les Dauphins Heureux Cafe Restaurant also viewed

 
Mahe Island, Seychelles
Baie Lazare, Mahe Island
 

Been to Les Dauphins Heureux Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing