We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic non-luxury option” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anse Soleil Beachcomber

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anse Soleil Beachcomber
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anse Royale
Certificate of Excellence
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic non-luxury option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

Let's face it, it's not a 5-star luxury hotel. I'd say it's more like a 2-star hotel on a 5-star location. We had a standard room (seems like 7, 8, or 9 were private with great views) for 3 nights there. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were great: fresh fruit, juice, toast, coffee, then the choice of eggs or crepes. Service was quick. The rooms are somewhat shabby: worn-out furniture and hard beds, not much hot water. However good a/c, great views, and very suitable rooms. The beach seems a great combination of nice sand that goes in for a distance and very close and interesting snorkeling, plus it's not crowded. All in all, the hotel is very nice and makes a great base for exploring for which we appreciated having a car.

Room Tip: 7,8, 9 all seemed great (10 faces a big rock and no light)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aj N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    115
    37
    12
    8
See reviews for
41
192
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK / Paris, Fr
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

We had a premium room. The room was huge and comfy, 10 metres off Anse soleil, one of the most beautiful beaches of Mahe. the bathroom is also big. It is possible to eat at the hotel but when we arrived late in the afternoon they told us that as we haven't booked earlier, instead of the carte we had a choice between 3 different meals. the food was disappointing and the following days we ate at the cafe on anse soleil. the food there is better for about the same price. the breakfast was good. Be very careful with your valuables everywhere in the seychelles islands. one evening we went in the bathroon 1 minute and left the balcony door open and suddenly my husband saw a thief in the room looking at our stuff near the window. fortunately for us we saw him before he managed to steal sth.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank vangel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Our family spent a week at this lovely hotel, staying in two adjoining standard rooms which were very comfortable - huge beds - and well air conditioned with unit and ceiling fan. We had rooms 4 and 5 at the far end which afforded us privacy and great views of the stunning Anse Soleil.
The hotel is tucked away on the South East coast and to explore the the island you really need to hop on a bus (stop is a steep climb) or hire a car, which is easily achieved and at reasonable cost, through the car rental business on the premises.
Breakfast was plentiful with a selection of fresh fruits, toasts and eggs. Snacks were available during the day - delicious milkshakes - and you could book an evening meal, which we tried once with mixed opinions. Mostly, we chose to eat at the delightful Anse Soleil cafe on the beach or futher afield when we explored the rest of the island. (Mahe has a great selection of very good restaurants.)
The bay provided excellent swimming and some of the best snorkelling and our children enjoyed taking the kayak out.
The staff were always friendly and accommodating.
We had a wonderful stay, enjoying one of Mahe's most breathtaking beaches on our doorstep.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jjlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tartu, Estonia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed there for 11 nights, the hotel is located straight at the beach which was a deciding factor for us. The beach was stunning and not crowded, loved it:)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

This small hotel is situated on its own beach in south-west Mahé and offers better standard rooms with magnificent views over the beach or lower standard side rooms with small terrace overlooking the rocks. We spent part of our honeymoone here and it was just what we had wished for: superb snorkelling and swimming, just a few people to share the beach with and the best sunsets we have ever seen. The only downside can be the meals but there is no chance to dine elsewhere, part of being away from the crowds. Not much choice at night and some dishes rather boring covered in the same sauce. Breakfast is great though no fresh fruit which is crazy being in the Seychelles - but eggs and juices etc every day. A perfect location for a laid back beach stay, lots to see and do during the day i.e. visit other beaches, small very 'arty' village etc Would go back anytime - pity they are building a huge '4 Seasons' now around the corner. Paradise lost - again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank austriannomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Fork out a few thousand pound more and you can stay in a 4 or 5 star Hotel such as the Four Seasons next door, trust me it is not worth it, we walked there from the Beachcomber for the day and tried their beach, it's the same as any other. If you stay there for lunch take plenty of money, a Chicken and vegtable wrap cost me £17, Horror!
The Beachcomber is bang on the beach with no more than 25 steps to the beach whichever room you have. Breakfast is the normal Eggs, fruit and toast and is adequate. Dinners are 3 course and again you'll find something you like on the menu as there 4 or 5 choices. Some of the main courses do suffer from too much sauce but you don't have to eat the whole lot, do you? Next door to the Hotel is the Anse Soliel Cafe, nice food here if you fancy something different.
We also stayed in rm 12, very spacious but it does run out of hot water if all the rooms are occupied and it was cloudy that day, so have an early shower.
The hotel only has 15 rooms so it does have not what you may call a lively social bar, everyone has their dinner and goes to bed, then the staff close the bar between 9 and 9.30, the only exceptions are the British guests such as myself that annoy the staff and keep them working a bit longer, they are good humoured though and very helpful in all areas of the hotel. Special mention goes to the unsung heroe of the Beachcomber and that is Paul, he is part time security guy and maintainance man, has many other talents as well, have a chat with him he is a real nice guy.
Getting around the rest of Mahe is a bit of a nightmare from this hotel you really need a hire car for a least a couple of days to see the island, Taxis are expensive. Whichever beach you go to they are all nice.
The hotel may seem expensive for what it is but you would have to spend a lot more for something which seems better. Overall a nice hotel and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: 10 to 13 are the newer larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bernard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

I simple want to confirm my previous review. Anse Soleil is a great place to stay. In December we only had chance to stay 3 days in this hotel but we got the same experience than first and second time.
Our room was the #12. The quality of the accomodation is perfect, the bungalow is spaceous and equipped with good quality furniture. The breakfast is good, the dinner okay. The beach is fantastic and I still hate the Four Season why they demolished most of the forest.

My only concern was that due to the cloudy weather the solar panels were not able to provide enough warm water. A hotel like this should have a spare system which warms up the water.

Room Tip: I always stay in a premiere room what are the best in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhiltheGroundhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Royale
4.4 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
9.4 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
10.9 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
0.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anse Soleil Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anse Soleil Beachcomber

Property: Anse Soleil Beachcomber
Address: Anse Soleil, Anse Royale, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Anse Royale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anse Royale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Anse Soleil Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anse Soleil Beachcomber Hotel Mahe Island
Anse Soleil Beachcomber Mahe Island
Anse Soleil Beachcomber Seychelles/Anse Royale, Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing