We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A Hidden Haven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anse Soleil Beachcomber

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anse Soleil Beachcomber
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anse Royale
Certificate of Excellence
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“A Hidden Haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

We only had 2 nights in Mahe and we are so glad we stayed at Anse Soleil Beachcomber. We did a lot of research before deciding on this hotel and it ticks all the boxes of our wants.

We had wanted to stay in a small hotel with a real Seychellois feel. The location of the hotel is also very important for us – we wanted one which is situated on a stunning beach and also be surrounded by lots of greens. It must be away from any kind of water sports and loud music but close to where the locals live. Preferably, it should also offer us good dining option if we choose to eat in after a tiring day out from exploring the island.

Anse Soleil Beachcomber offers us all the above and much more. Upon our arrival by taxi from the jetty (about 40 minutes’ drive and at a cost of EUR 40!!), we were shown to our room with an awesome view (the Superior Room No. 10), which we later found out from Lonely Planet to be one of its room with the best setting. Our room is very secluded, situated ideally at a quiet corner and is literally built above the sea amongst solid, huge rocks. We fell asleep each night listening to the waves splashing on the rocks and woke up to calls of birds from the surrounding greens.

Our room is well cleaned, huge in size, with a sitting room, TV, mini fridge and complimentary tea, coffee and milk. It has a small terrace with a table and chairs for us to enjoy our coffee and the amazing view. The local staffs are all friendly, charming and polite. We could also get free wi-fi at its lobby and dining areas using our own laptop.

We had dinner at its restaurant on our first night and enjoyed the local dishes very much, specially the fresh fish! We find the prices for their food and alcohol to be very reasonable by local standards.

We went to the nearby Maria’s Rock Caféteria for our dinner on our second night and it turned out to be a totally awful experience for us. For the same price we had paid for the dinner at our hotel, we were served only with about 1/3 of the portion of food. The service was very slow and poor, the food was very bland and the staffs were unsmiling and lazy.

We hired a car from the hotel and found the price to be EUR15 cheaper than that offered to us by another company. Alison, the owner of the hotel, was very flexible with the terms of our rental. We were allowed to drive ourselves to the airport and leave the car there without having to pay the usual one-way fee so often imposed by car rental companies. Driving around Mahe was a real pleasure and due to the location of this hotel, you definitely need a car to get around!

We will definitely recommend this wonderful hotel to others and should we ever return to Mahe again, we will surely book its Room No. 10 months in advance!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannisze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    110
    36
    12
    8
See reviews for
39
186
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2009

This is a gem of a hotel in a fantastic location. Rooms overlooking the fantastic sea and beach, one of the nicest beaches we've seen in the Seychelles.
This hotel is very quiet and ideal for those wishing full relaxation, staff very friendly and welcoming. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaffyapplesWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

This place is truly beautiful and authentic. We stayed here for 5 nights and then 3 nights at a 5 star hotel down the road. We had a MUCH BETTER time at Anse Soleil. The beach was better. The service from Monique & Natacha was second to none. Lovely ladies. Our room overlooked the beach. Ok so it wasnt a luxury room but we spent most of our time on the beach anyway.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wimbledon_kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englishrose6
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

I chose this hotel because I wanted an authentic, low key small hotel in a beautiful natural location. The hotel is very relaxed and has rustic, holiday decor made out of local materials. It has a boho feel. Don't expect five star luxury because thankfully there is nothing to distract you from the breathtaking location and beach. It is not a London Boutique hotel by the beach. This gives you a real feel for the Seychelles as because it is small the staff are very personable. Monique is a fantastic lady and the owner is also very helpful. We stayed in a standard room which gave us a view of the whole beach. It was extremely clean and kept lovely by the hard working cleaning lady who placed lovely tropical flowers in the room each day. Eating Options: The beachcomber restaurant does creole food and I had a great fish curry there. Breakfast is fairly basic just fruit, toast and eggs but fine. The eggs have great flavour so I did not mind having different variations each day. The coffee is very good. We hired a car some days and so ate at the really good, Chez Plume, The Anchor, Eclipse,Marie Antionette, Sundance cafe, Al Mare, Eden, Chez Baptista and Rendevous in Victoria. We stayed for twelve days at Beachcomber and two days in the North. We were not bored once at Beachcomber as there were beautiful walks, artists studios, Maria's cafe with cool sculptures and decor ,secluded coves near by. When we hired a car we toured other beaches on the west and east coasts which were also stunning. The hotel is in a fairly isolated setting however the Four Seasons has according to locals changed the natural habitat. There is construction work going on due to Four Seasons but once you are down the track and at beachcomber the only noise you hear is the birds and sea. The Four Seasons ships in trucks of Asian workers daily from their wooden barracks to build more villas. It is important that this hotel, beachcomber is locally owned and to support it, as there are plans from investors to build other huge hotels. The impact on the natural environment will not be a good one. People are very friendly and make a point of acknowledging you. They seem genuinely keen to help you with always a lovely smile. The staff at Beachcomber are delightful and it was a nice place to be. A tip if you consider the Kuoni tour of Praslin and La Digue you will do a lot in one day and it feels rushed. Much better to visit islands on separate days. And Monique I am now working hard, honest!! But I wish I was still there.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Englishrose6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2009

We stayed at the Anse Soleil Beachcomber for the first two nights of our honeymoon trip around the Seychells and we weren't disappointed. The location is absolutely idyllic - tucked away on the beautiful little cove of Anse Soleil in the south of the island of Mahe (after having travelled around the entire island by the end of our honeymoon, we thought this little cove was the best beach on the island and travelled back down to it on our last day). The only thing in between our hotel room and the sea was our room terrace and a small area of grass, and we were woken up by the sound of the waves lapping against the rocks each morning.
The room was very basic, but it was clean and there was air con and a ceiling fan. The staff were friendly and helpful and had put flowers around our room as a welcome.
The breakfast was slightly disappointing (a couple of brown bananas and an egg, and the coffee took ages to arrive), but it didn't really bother us because we just wanted to get onto the beach!
We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant during the evenings as we had read some bad reviews and breakfast wasn't great, so we ate at the little beach cafe instead. The food there is lovely - freshly cooked tasty creole food right on the beach.
Personally, we would reccommend hiring a car (which we did at the airport as soon as we arrived on the island) as the hotel is very tucked away and you can't walk anywhere as the hills surrounding the place are very steep (the hotel also do their own car hire).
Overall, we would reccommend this hotel for a short stay. There is nothing at all to do in the immediate vacinity so we probably would have got slightly bored if we had stayed for too much longer. And for those people who like some night life - this place would definitely not be for you! Perfect though for our first couple of nights on the island and as an introduction to the Seychelles.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steppenoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordemais, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

It's not a five star hotel like the Four Seasons in the next beach (Petit Anse) but it is definitively a very charming hotel standing a few meters from the water...
The manager, Monique was very welcoming and just nice, great service and is not the "pushy to buy" type of person; she's like the place, authentic...
The beach is great (we liked it much more than the next door one, Petit Anse). The high tide does not recover the full beach, so you can enjoy it the whole day.
You can borrow a canoe & paddles and go for a tour.
You can easily swimm or snorkle. It is definitively a class A beach!
The half pension is very nice and the cooking is quite local on the menu.
You can order snacks for lunch if you wish or you can also eat in the restaurant on the beach; all prices are very reasonable in this spot.
We took standard room facing the sea, just great! However, you have to know that you hear the waves, we just loved it but some people think it is noisy (!!???).
It is a very nice place to spend 3 or four days resting, reading books, swimming and enjoying the landscape.

Chuong & Karine

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FoxNumero11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bath
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

Excellent holiday. We got married here and the hotel staff were fantastic the whole time. Breakfast was plentiful and the evening meals were very good catering for vegetarians. We stayed in room 11 (premier room) and it was fabulous.
A tip - don't hire a car through any other company. The hotel runs Anse Soleil Cars which you can hire for a day or half a day etc. This means that you will not waste money hiring a car for a week when you don't use it.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bobba_bobba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Royale
10.9 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
9.4 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
4.4 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
Banyan Tree Seychelles
#1 of 2 in Takamaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anse Soleil Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anse Soleil Beachcomber

Property: Anse Soleil Beachcomber
Address: Anse Soleil, Anse Royale, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Anse Royale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anse Royale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Anse Soleil Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anse Soleil Beachcomber Hotel Mahe Island
Anse Soleil Beachcomber Mahe Island
Anse Soleil Beachcomber Seychelles/Anse Royale, Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing