We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never, ever, ever again, 3 painful nights sleep!”
Review of The World's End

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The World's End
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ecton
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Never, ever, ever again, 3 painful nights sleep!”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed in this hotel with 5 other friends for the stock car F1 final for 3 nights.
we arrived early afternoon on friday night and booked to eat in the hotel restaurant. All six of us sat down and only 5 of us actually ordered food. We spent in total about £98 between us all. We were a little shocked to see we had a service charge of £10 added to our bill, we had read that for a party of 6 dining that an "optional" service charge "may" be applied.
We had a few drinks outside on the decking area and then retired to bed. The rooms looked nice but when we got into bed the matresses were the worst i have ever slept on. If you felt the sides of the mattresses you could feel every single spring. They felt like really cheap mattresses. I am 4½ months pregnant and because of the bed i woke every ½ hour with pain in my hips from whichever side i happened to eventually fall asleep on. Its not like i could even have a few acoholic beverages to try and numb the pain with being pregnant! Even my partner struggled to sleep and he usually has no trouble sleeping! By the third night i dreaded going to bed and even tried to sleep on the floor, sat up in bed and at one pint contemplated sleeping in the car! I was even sick on the third morning as i was so tired (yes i know i am pregnant but the mornig sickness stopped a long time ago).
Some of the staff looked down their noses at us and were rude and obnoxious.
At breakfast i noticed some of the other guests sat on the next table received a warm "Good morning" and we got a grumbled "morning". Were we not good enough? the waitress was that disinterested in what we were ordering she got it wrong and i had to send it back. Our friends didnt even get all they ordered even after asking for it twice to be told it was on it's way, never came, they forgot.
I was asked on checkout if we had enjoyed our stay and i told the receptionist no and explained why. She did refund the service charge but to be honest i would have liked to have had at least one nights stay refunded, it was that bad! In fact we opted to go out "anywhere" other than stay at the hotel and get looked down on.
So no to sum up our stay i would not recomend to anyone or return to this hotel until new beds were put in place and staff were properly trained. I could go on..
Terrible, i do hope the manager replies to this review and offers some kind of explanation, that would be a start!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevens20204, Manager at The World's End, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
We apologise that your stay was not enjoyable and in light of your comments we have replaced all the mattresses in our rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    84
    52
    40
    22
See reviews for
55
90
10
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Stay here regularly on business.

Very friendly, polite, helpful staff; good food; modern decor; ample free parking; oh and v good beers, wine - real ale or lager, white & red !

thanks all for your hospitality

Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lauraandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Used the bar for a business meeting
Staff very welcoming
Lunch was good ... the beef in my sandwich was a rare treat

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N_Rayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We have just had the most fantastic wedding reception at The World's End. I cannot praise the staff and managers enough. Food, service, venue was absolutley top notch. Nothing was too much trouble and they all worked so hard. Absolutely brilliant - I cannot think of anything that wasn't just as it should be. I am just disappointed that I don't have any more children to get married!

I would definitely recommend TWE for the quality of the food (commented on by many guests), the overall organisatrion and preparation of the dining room,the professionalism and kindness of the staff (including the chef and kitchen staff).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonVillette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

The hotel, located in Ecton (within Northamptonshire), is a very lovely hotel that satisfies my needs while travelling. Ecton is a small village that does not take too long to walk through. I encourage you to get lost behind the main street and look for the walking path trails to take you through sheep fields or wherever your heart desires.

The hotel has a restaurant that serves above average food but nothing that I thought was spectacular. The service provided by the staff is top-notch and some of the best I have experienced in the UK. The hotel also features a bar which has a good selection of beers on draught, large selection of wine and champagne, bottled beverages and spirits. In addition, the bar has happy hour from 5-6pm and 9-10pm where the draught beers and select 175ml glasses of wine are available for 2.85 GBP. The room rate includes a very nice breakfast (Traditional Fry) that is more than enough to keep you going for whatever you have to get accomplished throughout the day.

The rooms are average size and do not have air conditioning. However, there really are not many days throughout the year that you would actually need it. The decor is slightly modern, but not consistent from room to room. The shower pressure (both first and second floors) are consistent and maintain heat. If you prefer travelling with Wi-fi, you can obtain a Wi-fi access code from reception and use your device within the bar and restaurant area. There is no Wi-fi available within the hotel rooms. The hotel indicates that there is a wired service available in the room, but I did not attempt to use.

Overall, this hotel is lovely and small without the large amenities you would have of a large hotel. However, the hotel is perfect in every way. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and think that the staff was absolutely amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor. The first floor has people walking buy occassionally when you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManFromIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

What a fantastic place to stay. The staff were extreamly friendly and helpful despite being very busy. We were shown to our room where we were suprised at what was available. There was a variety of drinks including various teas, coffee and both still and sparkling water. The room itself was very clean and well laid out. Dinner in the evening was excellent and the service remained at the high standard that we received from the moment we arrived. In the morning we were delighted with the breakfast menu and although there was a wait for breakfast (as previously commented about on TripAdvisor) this is simply due to the fact that ALL breakfasts are cooked to order and therefore the food arrives fresh and hot.

All in all I can highly recommend this hotel and we are already planning our next trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biskit1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phila
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

I stay here often for business. Big rooms with internet access. Free internet in the lobby. The staff are very helpful. There is a good restaurant at the hotel and a nice pub. The lcoation, East side of Northanpton is good for travel. Close to everything but away from the hustle of the city center

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ecton
3.1 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
393 reviews
2.3 mi away
Westone Manor Hotel
Westone Manor Hotel
#28 of 29 in Northampton
557 reviews
5.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Ibis Wellingborough
Ibis Wellingborough
#2 of 4 in Wellingborough
381 reviews
4.7 mi away
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Northampton Marriott Hotel
#6 of 29 in Northampton
504 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sedgebrook Hall
Sedgebrook Hall
#1 of 1 in Chapel Brampton
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The World's End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The World's End

Property: The World's End
Address: Main Street, Ecton, Northampton NN6 0QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton > Ecton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ecton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The World's End 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the edge of the village of Ecton, on the A4500 midway between Northampton and Wellingborough, this boutique-style residence provides comfortable, modern rooms, alongside great food, beers and wine. The modern rooms at the AA 4-star Worlds End feature LCD TVs, tea/coffee, broadband internet access, under-floor heating and a private bathroom with bath and shower. Take time to relax in the bar areas, or enjoy a meal in the contemporary restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The World's End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The World`s End Hotel Northampton
Worlds End Northampton
Worlds End Hotel Northampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing