We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub food at restaurant prices”
Review of The World's End

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The World's End
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ecton
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This is a great looking restaurant but it ends there. Tasteless food and service straight from New Zealand. The Maitre d' wore jeans and the waitress declared "good effort" on clearing the plates. Never had garlic bread with zero garlic before! Avoid or find a good pub.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank neillypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWE2012, Manager at The World's End, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit to us. We are proud of our reputation for good food and service that we have built up over the last 6 years, and our recruitment policy is unique as we employ staff from all over the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2012

I was working in Northampton but due to travel onto Kent the next day to see my sister so Idecided that it made sense to take my mum with me and find somewhere to stay overnight nearby. I came across this on a late booking site and it was cheaper than the usual basic travellers hotels so I decided to give it a try.

Mum and I were both really impressed, room was lovely and comfortable. We had a meal in the restaurant which was fantastic and they allowed Mum to mix and match as she's 84 so wont try very adventurous food! The service was great, we were made to feel really welcome. We have marked it down as a place we'd like to go back to for a weekend.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a meal if you are staying in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizdeoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevens20204, Manager at The World's End, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Thank you for your positive response, we have worked hard to gain our reputation and it is good to be recognised. We hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We came across this place on a walk one afternoon and hadn't been planning to go anywhere posh since we were in coats and wellies - we were just looking for a bite to eat so felt a bit out of place when we found such a nice restaurant inside this country pub. However we were welcomed in and were very glad that we'd stopped on our walk as we had a great lunch that really hit the spot. As we only wanted something light we ordered a sharing cold platter, which was great value and offered more than enough food for the both of us. The service was polite and reasonably quick, the food was delicious and fresh, and the prices across the menu were all quite acceptable. We were only visiting spontaneously however in future I imagine it would be great place for a nice meal out as some of the dishes sound gorgeous and the decor is really classy. I hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sunseeker-kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevens20204, Manager at The World's End, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Thank you for posting a positive review, it is always useful to receive feedback on visits and we are glad that you enjoyed the experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We have visited this establishment a few times over the last two years and always been impressed with its bistro style food, nice reasonably priced "eat & stay" package and customer friendly staff

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neville m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevens20204, Manager at The World's End, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Thank you for your positive review, Our dine and stay package at the weekends is very popular as you can stay over in one of our rooms for £40 including breakfast if you book a table in our restaurant on a Friday, Saturday or Sunday night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Ran by a very friendly team, good food, good room - brilliant :o)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevens20204, Manager at The World's End, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Thanks for your positive review, we are proud of our customer friendly staff and reputation for good food and we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Went to dinner with colleagues who were staying TWE. Starters were ok - welsh rarebit not really tasty enough; Main course - we sent one dish back ( the duck) because it was overlooked - it was taken off the bill, but the other meals were quite good. Very attentive staff who were pleasant enough and entered into some banter. Overall satisfactory and would go again if even to see if they can do that little bit better!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SMSteve2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevens20204, Manager at The World's End, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Thank you for posting a review. We are proud of our reputation for good quality food, but if we do have a complaint then we try to deal with the situation in a friendly and professional manner. I apologise that your duck was overcooked, but I hope you will visit us again as this is not the usual standard we have set ourselves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We ate here on Saturday lunch. The restaurant wasn't busy - a table of 4 and a 2 plus my table of 2.
We shared a starter of Welsh Rarebit, it was just mustard on some soggy brioche! Awful! We left 90% of it, the waitress asked if it was ok and when we said no, she removed it from the bill.
I ordered burger - medium rare but was then told I couldn't have it M/R because of health & safety! I changed to the 'proper' steak & mushroom pie. I just happened to cut into it whilst the waitress was next to our table, there was 2 tiny pieces of meat in the pie!! I showed her and she looked embarressed! She brought me a bowl of the meaty filling! It was tasty, although the beef was quite dry.
My hubby had the special cod loin, for the price, £15, it was very poor value! 1 small piece of fish served atop some mash and the most over powering lemon sauce.
Service was good - a person on the table of 4 sent back a main course, the kitchen was having a bad day!!
We've eaten here many times and have seen a steady decline in the quality. The food is not cheap, much better quality & value can be found in pubs in the town, the Wig & Pen for example.
TWE needs to revisit its philosophy on its food.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolewelltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevens20204, Manager at The World's End, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Thank you for posting a review. I am sorry that on this occasion we did not come up to the standard we have set ourselves. Generally, we have a great reputation for our food, but feedback both good and bad helps us to improve. I hope that you will give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ecton
5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
3.1 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 27 in Northampton
442 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 27 in Northampton
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Northampton M1, Jct 15
5.9 mi away
Sedgebrook Hall
Sedgebrook Hall
#1 of 1 in Chapel Brampton
722 reviews
4.7 mi away
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Northampton Marriott Hotel
#7 of 27 in Northampton
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The World's End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The World's End

Address: Main Street, Ecton, Northampton NN6 0QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton > Ecton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ecton
Price Range: £64 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The World's End 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the edge of the village of Ecton, on the A4500 midway between Northampton and Wellingborough, this boutique-style residence provides comfortable, modern rooms, alongside great food, beers and wine. The modern rooms at the AA 4-star Worlds End feature LCD TVs, tea/coffee, broadband internet access, under-floor heating and a private bathroom with bath and shower. Take time to relax in the bar areas, or enjoy a meal in the contemporary restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The World's End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The World`s End Hotel Northampton
Worlds End Northampton
Worlds End Hotel Northampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing