We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very family friendly”
Review of The World's End

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The World's End
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ecton
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not very family friendly”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We went here for a family function and thought we would stay the night. The staff had been fairly helpful in setting up the surprise party, however, we went with three young children and there were no cots! They were particularly unhelpful when we asked for a cot and just said "no". We could have taken our own if we had known this in advance. In addition there were automatic doors....but they were not working when we visited, and trying to negotiate the steps, and very heavy doors with three children and several bags was very difficult, but no one offered to help me to the room. At least we had a hearty breakfast to look forward to, but even then the sausages were very undercooked and bacon limp.

Room Tip: We had a family room... 2 rooms with an interlinking door, which worked well for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for posting a review of our experience with us. I am sorry you felt we were not very helpful with regard to the situation regarding a cot. We do not supply these and so could not help you with that. If you had mentioned upon booking that you were bringing a small child then you would have been advised that we do not supply cots.
There should have been people on hand to assist you to the room should you have required so please accept my apologies for not being offered that. I can confirm that the automatic door has been serviced and is in working order.
I hope your experience has not deterred you from giving us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    82
    51
    38
    20
See reviews for
52
88
10
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Worlds End for one night and were very impressed. Its a lovely building in a quiet village with a large car park. There was a very warm welcome at reception and the room was very spacious and comfortable. The TV could have been larger but other than that we couldnt fault it. We had a fantastic meal in the restaurant and both had steaks which were to die for! We'd definitely stay again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneM_T2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for posting such a positive review of your stay and meal with us. We strive to provide great quality food and service and it is always pleasing to hear guests comments. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

we held our wedding reception on the evening of our big day.

what can I say?!
from initially meeting Andrew and his team we were guided through how the evening would work. everything that was planned went fantastically well.

on arrival our guests were greeted with welcome drinks which were lovely. the buffet food was delicious and we have had a lot of compliments from our guests about the quality of the food not only on the evening but also of the lunch menu when they stayed over too.

all the bar and waiting staff were great on the night, joining in the dancing at times and always had a smile on their faces.

the whole evening was just perfect, the staff and venue made it just what we wanted to be very informal and for everybody to have fun.

we had a room ourselves which was very spacious and clean, there was plenty of space in the wardrobe and all toiletries provided in the bathroom. the breakfast was also very tasty, nice big full English with juices and cereal as options.

all our guests who either stayed for one or two nights have been very very happy with their stays.

on several occasions that we have visited the restaurant, we have always been highly impressed. whether it has been for an evening meal or sunday lunch the food is always delicious.

so pleased we chose the worlds end for our reception, a wonderful place all round and we will always have fond memories.

mr & mrs jones

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ash j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Mr & Mrs Jones

Thank you for sharing the experience of your wedding reception here with us. We strive to consistently exceed expectations. You were a pleasure to deal with and I would like to wish you all the best for your future together.

Regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oirschot, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The hotel was booked for us by a company in Northhampton as we were to visit them from abroad. We checked in at 6pm and check in was fast even tho it was quite crowded around the hotel restaurant and pub. Rooms were of decent size, bed was comfortable and all accessories in the room were perfectly fine. After the night's stay we had breakfast in the restaurant which was a tad limited choice but the food itself was excellent. Room was based on the A-road side but traffic did not bother us, the night was perfect. Only stayed one night, but as I'm asked to return next week to the same company I really am looking forward at staying at TWE again!

Only downside is the location, it's quite far from pretty much anything not considering houses, a church and a school.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanGroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience with us here at TWE and hope to see you back here soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay but found the restaurant by surprise, and how lovely it was too!
Service wonderful, surroundings super and food gorgeous.
Only tiny issue was we couldn't tell what cheese was on the twice baked soufflé. However the remainder of our meal and the accompanying wine was delicious. Couldn't fault it and would happily return

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodfanatic65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your positive review of our restaurant and we hope to see you back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights over the Grand Prix weekend and I must say after reading the reviews I was a little concerned. I guess this place must be hit and miss because we found everything fine.

Check-in was really quick. The room are really clean and nice decorated - very light and airy. We were fortunate to have a room over-looking the car park which are worth requesting as on the opposite the rooms face the main A road.

The bar area is really nice. They also have a really nice outdoor decking area which we got to enjoy on the Saturday. Very good bar staff who were really friendly and helpful.

We ate in the restaurant both nights. Really enjoyed our meals on the Friday but both had pizza on Saturday which we didn't enjoy as much. They have a really nice selection of wine - we had red on the Friday, white on the Saturday and both both really lovely.

The price was inflated for the Grand Prix (which all the hotels in the area do) but if they are charging their usual price you won't go far wrong staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room the car park side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philrdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you also enjoyed the Grand Prix!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I had a wonderful time staying at The World's End! As soon as I walked through the door I was made to feel so welcome! The staff are absolutely fantastic, they make you feel right at home! We stayed on a Friday night, so after taking our stuff to the rooms - which were clean, comfy and had everything we needed for the night - we headed down to the bar for a couple of pre-dinner drinks. There was a band playing who were fabulous and again there was great servıce! We then headed to the restaurant where we had a table booked and I cannot fault a thing! Servıce, food, atmosphere were all exceptional! Afterwards we headed back up to the bar where the band were still going strong and were doing all the classics! It was great!
We had a great sleep and breakfast was included the next morning - a delicious Full English!

This place really does have everything you need for a weekend away, or even if you are just after a reasonably priced room and a good feed!

Would definitely stay again!

Thanks guys!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. We strive continuously to improve and it is pleasing when customers take the time to post positive reviews. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ecton
3.1 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
357 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 29 in Northampton
464 reviews
4.7 mi away
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Northampton Marriott Hotel
#6 of 29 in Northampton
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Ibis Wellingborough
Ibis Wellingborough
#2 of 4 in Wellingborough
372 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hilton Northampton
Hilton Northampton
#8 of 29 in Northampton
1,219 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sedgebrook Hall
Sedgebrook Hall
#1 of 1 in Chapel Brampton
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The World's End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The World's End

Property: The World's End
Address: Main Street, Ecton, Northampton NN6 0QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton > Ecton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ecton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The World's End 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the edge of the village of Ecton, on the A4500 midway between Northampton and Wellingborough, this boutique-style residence provides comfortable, modern rooms, alongside great food, beers and wine. The modern rooms at the AA 4-star Worlds End feature LCD TVs, tea/coffee, broadband internet access, under-floor heating and a private bathroom with bath and shower. Take time to relax in the bar areas, or enjoy a meal in the contemporary restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The World's End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The World`s End Hotel Northampton
Worlds End Northampton
Worlds End Hotel Northampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing