We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The World's End

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The World's End
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ecton
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

A hidden gem in the Northamptonshire countryside. Excellent venue for all your needs, weddings, birthdays, business meetings, etc. rooms are clean, comfortable and very stylish.
The restaurant serves food of an incredibly high standard.
Award winning chef too!!
Great to just pop in for a drink and bar meal. Super garden for the children to play in. Plenty of outdoor seating for Summer use.
All in all, a very pleasant place with excellent service from the staff and management alike.
Worth a visit or treat yourself to an overnight stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lakeworth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thanks for leaving us a positive review, we all work hard here to achieve the highest of standards and it is very satisfying when customers appreciate our offering. We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    77
    50
    34
    19
See reviews for
50
83
10
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

It was not a good start, no one in reception, so I had to go looking for any/some staff to be able to check in. Eventually found someone in the kitchens! Wasn't much better tbh, I got a graceless unhelpful reception, did what they had to do, no more. This turned into a theme in fact, as when I later tried to contact reception, I got no response, despite letting the phone ring for a good 3 or 4 minutes! However, the upside was they have a new chef, who clearly knows what he's doing, our dinner and breakfast could not be faulted in any way. Our bed not so good I'm afraid, seen a bit too much action! The waitresses and breakfast staff were very friendly and fairly attentive, but front of house, is a different story altogether, they need reminding about customer service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouSmorales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for posting a review. Please accept my apologies for the lack of service on reception when you checked in. There should always be someone present to check you in and I will reiterate this to my staff.
I am pleased that you enjoyed the food and restaurant service, we try hard to offer good quality food and service and one of our chefs was crowned winner of 'young chef of the year' at the Northamptonshire food and drink awards last week. We hope to see you back at The Worlds End soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We went here for a family function and thought we would stay the night. The staff had been fairly helpful in setting up the surprise party, however, we went with three young children and there were no cots! They were particularly unhelpful when we asked for a cot and just said "no". We could have taken our own if we had known this in advance. In addition there were automatic doors....but they were not working when we visited, and trying to negotiate the steps, and very heavy doors with three children and several bags was very difficult, but no one offered to help me to the room. At least we had a hearty breakfast to look forward to, but even then the sausages were very undercooked and bacon limp.

Room Tip: We had a family room... 2 rooms with an interlinking door, which worked well for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for posting a review of our experience with us. I am sorry you felt we were not very helpful with regard to the situation regarding a cot. We do not supply these and so could not help you with that. If you had mentioned upon booking that you were bringing a small child then you would have been advised that we do not supply cots.
There should have been people on hand to assist you to the room should you have required so please accept my apologies for not being offered that. I can confirm that the automatic door has been serviced and is in working order.
I hope your experience has not deterred you from giving us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Worlds End for one night and were very impressed. Its a lovely building in a quiet village with a large car park. There was a very warm welcome at reception and the room was very spacious and comfortable. The TV could have been larger but other than that we couldnt fault it. We had a fantastic meal in the restaurant and both had steaks which were to die for! We'd definitely stay again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneM_T2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for posting such a positive review of your stay and meal with us. We strive to provide great quality food and service and it is always pleasing to hear guests comments. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

we held our wedding reception on the evening of our big day.

what can I say?!
from initially meeting Andrew and his team we were guided through how the evening would work. everything that was planned went fantastically well.

on arrival our guests were greeted with welcome drinks which were lovely. the buffet food was delicious and we have had a lot of compliments from our guests about the quality of the food not only on the evening but also of the lunch menu when they stayed over too.

all the bar and waiting staff were great on the night, joining in the dancing at times and always had a smile on their faces.

the whole evening was just perfect, the staff and venue made it just what we wanted to be very informal and for everybody to have fun.

we had a room ourselves which was very spacious and clean, there was plenty of space in the wardrobe and all toiletries provided in the bathroom. the breakfast was also very tasty, nice big full English with juices and cereal as options.

all our guests who either stayed for one or two nights have been very very happy with their stays.

on several occasions that we have visited the restaurant, we have always been highly impressed. whether it has been for an evening meal or sunday lunch the food is always delicious.

so pleased we chose the worlds end for our reception, a wonderful place all round and we will always have fond memories.

mr & mrs jones

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ash j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Mr & Mrs Jones

Thank you for sharing the experience of your wedding reception here with us. We strive to consistently exceed expectations. You were a pleasure to deal with and I would like to wish you all the best for your future together.

Regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oirschot, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

The hotel was booked for us by a company in Northhampton as we were to visit them from abroad. We checked in at 6pm and check in was fast even tho it was quite crowded around the hotel restaurant and pub. Rooms were of decent size, bed was comfortable and all accessories in the room were perfectly fine. After the night's stay we had breakfast in the restaurant which was a tad limited choice but the food itself was excellent. Room was based on the A-road side but traffic did not bother us, the night was perfect. Only stayed one night, but as I'm asked to return next week to the same company I really am looking forward at staying at TWE again!

Only downside is the location, it's quite far from pretty much anything not considering houses, a church and a school.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanGroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience with us here at TWE and hope to see you back here soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay but found the restaurant by surprise, and how lovely it was too!
Service wonderful, surroundings super and food gorgeous.
Only tiny issue was we couldn't tell what cheese was on the twice baked soufflé. However the remainder of our meal and the accompanying wine was delicious. Couldn't fault it and would happily return

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodfanatic65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your positive review of our restaurant and we hope to see you back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ecton
3.1 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
4.8 mi away
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Northampton Marriott Hotel
#6 of 29 in Northampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Ibis Wellingborough
Ibis Wellingborough
#2 of 4 in Wellingborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Northampton Gt Billing/A45 Hotel
5.8 mi away
Sedgebrook Hall
Sedgebrook Hall
#1 of 1 in Chapel Brampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The World's End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The World's End

Property: The World's End
Address: Main Street, Ecton, Northampton NN6 0QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton > Ecton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ecton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The World's End 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the edge of the village of Ecton, on the A4500 midway between Northampton and Wellingborough, this boutique-style residence provides comfortable, modern rooms, alongside great food, beers and wine. The modern rooms at the AA 4-star Worlds End feature LCD TVs, tea/coffee, broadband internet access, under-floor heating and a private bathroom with bath and shower. Take time to relax in the bar areas, or enjoy a meal in the contemporary restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The World's End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The World`s End Hotel Northampton
Worlds End Northampton
Worlds End Hotel Northampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing