We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of The World's End

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The World's End
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ecton
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A very pleasant and friendly hotel just outside of Northampton.

The rooms are spacious and have everything required to make your stay comfortable. The restaurant is great - the food is lovely, reasonably priced and the staff are incredibly helpful and friendly.

There was live music in the bar (which was excellent) and there were a number of good ales on tap.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PM551H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
There are newer reviews for The World's End
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

Spent a night here over easter weekend. Great, really helpful staff even though we arrived with a request for an iron, right in the middle of good friday evening meal service & an engagement party going on downstairs. Room was really comfortable. Only gripe was with the lack of a decent veggie or fish option at breakfast; my poached eggs were fine, but looked a little sorry in the shadow of the full english.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwilce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for posting a review of your visit and overnight stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed the experience and hope to see you again here soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Have visited a few times on a Sunday with family. The food is delicious and fresh - very tasty! Very reasonable too, especially for the quality! Super impressed! Always have an impressive dessert selection too! Definitely worth a visit - has now become one of our favourite haunts!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouP1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review of your experience, we do believe our Sunday menu is good value for money and hope to see you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I stayed at The Worlds End for 2 nights. The circumstances for my visit we're not good as I was going to a funeral of a very dear friend. My room was very comfortable and spacious. The hotel had provided everything in the room that could be needed including a really good hospitality tray. I had dinner in the restaurant and couldn't fault the food. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choices. My only disappointment was that on the morning I checked out I had to leave early and was too early for breakfast. I did ask at the reception the evening before if it was possible to provide maybe a small snack but this was not possible. I had a long journey ahead and it would have been nice to have been offered even a piece of fruit for the journey after all I had paid for bed and breakfast. Apart from this, it is a lovely place and I would stay again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnRosemary47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for posting such a positive review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay even though the circumstances surrounding your visit were sad.I am sorry we could not offer you breakfast earlier but unfortunately as we are a restaurant with rooms as opposed to a hotel we do not have a 24 hour reception and the building itself is not staffed until 7am.
We hope to see you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed at The World's End in January for a birthday celebration. The staff were very friendly & helpful, the rooms were also very comfortable. We also dined at The World's End and the food was fabulous! My friend and I shared the chateaubriand and it was perfectly cooked. The breakfast the following morning was also lovely. Overall a very enjoyable place to eat and stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmam7476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for posting a review we are proud of the quality of our steaks and we get many comments on them, they are the best quality available and are matured for 28 days,
We hope to be welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

After initially enjoying a great overnight mid-week with work, my wife sand I have booked on several further occasions when traveling to watch the Northampton Saints rugby team. EVERY time the staff have been both welcoming and helpful. The bedrooms are of ample size, clean and bright and beds comfy. Breakfast has been great and flexible, I ask for extra eggs instead of sausages, no problem and the meals we have had in the evening on the "dine and stay" package have been faultless - the sharing platter to start AND the steaks have been the main highlights. The bar serves quality hand puled ale plus the regular lagers, wines and spirits and is very relaxed, locals and visitors mingling just fine. All in all, I would recommend TWE and that's from a hard to please northerner!!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the car park are quieter, the roadside facing bedrooms can become a tad more noisy duri...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for posting such a positive review, I am pleased to announce that we have just received an award for the quality of our real ales, so it's good to hear that you recognised the quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed two nights, first night was Curry night, avoid it.
No meat in the curry, told waitress, but 2 minutes later the bill shoved in my hand to pay full bill, there not interested here.
Night two, I thought let's treat myself to Rib eye with all the extras. Specified medium, and Also specifically asked Not Bloody and bleeding.
What come out was Embarrasing, half was pure Fat, very poor quality steak. Menu specifying 28 day local sourced quality steak?, maybe the cows are on diets and not correctly reared here?,
Had three mouthfuls and left it.
Waitress asked if ok, I said no, it's fatty and not cooked right, she said if you had told us we can cook another? I said its fatty and under cooked, don't serve bad food to start with!
Anyway there not interested in complaints, charged me full price quite happily, the bill came within seconds of returning food, so it must be a common problem, they want paying before you get chance to think about complaining.
Won't entertain this place again, and will leave same review on Hotels.com which I booked accommodation through.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank mark_haynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Mark
I have responded to the email you sent to us, it is unfortunate that you didn't give me the opportunity to read my response before posting your review as I am sure I could have rectified the issues you raise directly with you.

Regards

Andrew Chapman
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ecton
5.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
3.1 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
411 reviews
2.3 mi away
Westone Manor Hotel
Westone Manor Hotel
#28 of 29 in Northampton
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Sedgebrook Hall
Sedgebrook Hall
#1 of 1 in Chapel Brampton
708 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 29 in Northampton
490 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ibis Wellingborough
Ibis Wellingborough
#2 of 4 in Wellingborough
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The World's End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The World's End

Address: Main Street, Ecton, Northampton NN6 0QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton > Ecton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ecton
Price Range: £80 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The World's End 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the edge of the village of Ecton, on the A4500 midway between Northampton and Wellingborough, this boutique-style residence provides comfortable, modern rooms, alongside great food, beers and wine. The modern rooms at the AA 4-star Worlds End feature LCD TVs, tea/coffee, broadband internet access, under-floor heating and a private bathroom with bath and shower. Take time to relax in the bar areas, or enjoy a meal in the contemporary restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The World's End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The World`s End Hotel Northampton
Worlds End Northampton
Worlds End Hotel Northampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing