We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor breakfast”
Review of The World's End

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The World's End
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ecton
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor breakfast”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We booked this hotel through late rooms .com. We were asked if we had any dietary needs and as usual I asked for vegetarian, wheat free. When we arrived we found the room lovely and the whole building elegant and stylish. However when we went to breakfast I looked at the menu and there was no vegetarian option on any wheat free break or cereals. I asked the waitress who said she would ask the chef. She came back and said "he says he doesn't know anything about a vegetarian or wheat free breakfast" I plumped for egg and mushrooms and no toast! The was also no teaspoons on the table or sauces. We had to pour our own tea and coffee from flasks and there was no yoghurt a or fruit etc. overall we were disappointed. Why ask if we had any dietary needs , raise our expectation and then not deliver. We couldn't even complain as the same girl who served breakfast checked us out and I felt it wasn't her job to deal with disappointed guests! We won't be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melanimorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with the breakfast offer, we have many compliments from guests about our full English, but have recognised the fact that we do not cater for all, we are in the process of reviewing our breakfast offer to include wheat free and vegetarian options.
I hope that you will give us another try in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    78
    50
    35
    20
See reviews for
51
86
10
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I normally stay at Hol Inn / Prem Inn when staying in the area but a colleague recommended TWE; and I am so glad she did.. Great hotel and restaurant and the staff are really friendly which gives the place a warm and homely feeling, much better than your 'hotel chains'..
Food is fab too and nothing is too much trouble for them.. thank you I will be returning again and again... :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
I am pleased that you found us and are happy with quality of our offer, as an owner operator we do strive to offer something different from your normal chain hotels and I am glad you recognised that we do have good customer service here at TWE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Visiting Northampton for the weekend and needed a place to stay. This was a great place. The pub was friendly, had a good selection of drinks, and the night we stayed, there was a fantastic girl singing, what better entertainment? The restaurant had a good menu, I decided to have a burger, and as I'm fussy had to send it back as it was a bit to rare for my liking. This was not a problem at all, and I ended up with a new burger cooked perfectly (for me!). The room was a good size, comfortable and clean. My only issue was it was too warm! I did try turning the heating down, but still felt it was roasting! Otherwise great all rounder of a place offering everything you could need for a drink, meal or stay.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kjc75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

WOW what a fantastic selection of ale's. Being a passenger on this visit i thought "why not" several beer's were downed that hit the spot to perfection. Food was duly ordered and arrived quickly. Large portion's hot and very tasty. Sweet's arrived again large portion's and faultless. Staff on hand but not overbearing. Very clean & tidy all round. Will return. Thank you.

Room Tip: Try The " ALES "
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eric m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for posting us a positive review, we are very proud of the 3 real ales we serve here at TWE, we have recently been awarded with a CAMRA accreditation for the quality of our ales so it is good to see that customers notice the quality. We hope to see you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We arrived with a party of around 20 people for dinner after a wedding, some of us had arranged to stay in the hotel afterwards. The food was very good, portions were more than most of us could manage; I could have stopped after the selection of cheeses and antipasti served as a starter!

The rooms were perfectly nice, with ensuite, hairdryer and iron provided. There were tea- and coffee-making facilities... The KitKat was a nice touch, but only one? Some of the group commented that the rooms were too warm, but we didn't experience this, possibly because we're fresh-air fiends and threw all the windows open as soon as we could.

Breakfast was excellent and generous, with cheery helpful staff.
There was plenty of free, safe and well-lit within a stone's throw of the door.

I can't comment on the price of the meal as it was part of the wedding party, but the B&B was excellent value, and I would certainly consider staying here again if I need a bed when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we had a number of kind comments on the wedding meal and service so thank you for posting such a positive review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tidworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A very pleasant and friendly hotel just outside of Northampton.

The rooms are spacious and have everything required to make your stay comfortable. The restaurant is great - the food is lovely, reasonably priced and the staff are incredibly helpful and friendly.

There was live music in the bar (which was excellent) and there were a number of good ales on tap.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PM551H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Spent a night here over easter weekend. Great, really helpful staff even though we arrived with a request for an iron, right in the middle of good friday evening meal service & an engagement party going on downstairs. Room was really comfortable. Only gripe was with the lack of a decent veggie or fish option at breakfast; my poached eggs were fine, but looked a little sorry in the shadow of the full english.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwilce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for posting a review of your visit and overnight stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed the experience and hope to see you again here soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ecton
6.1 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
8.3 mi away
Sedgebrook Hall
Sedgebrook Hall
#1 of 1 in Chapel Brampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Northampton Marriott Hotel
#6 of 29 in Northampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ibis Wellingborough
Ibis Wellingborough
#2 of 4 in Wellingborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Northampton Gt Billing/A45 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The World's End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The World's End

Property: The World's End
Address: Main Street, Ecton, Northampton NN6 0QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton > Ecton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ecton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The World's End 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the edge of the village of Ecton, on the A4500 midway between Northampton and Wellingborough, this boutique-style residence provides comfortable, modern rooms, alongside great food, beers and wine. The modern rooms at the AA 4-star Worlds End feature LCD TVs, tea/coffee, broadband internet access, under-floor heating and a private bathroom with bath and shower. Take time to relax in the bar areas, or enjoy a meal in the contemporary restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The World's End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The World`s End Hotel Northampton
Worlds End Northampton
Worlds End Hotel Northampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing