We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hamadryade Eco-Lodge, enveloped in Eden atop a disused goldmine, is distances away from “rush hour” noise & pollution.”
Review of Hamadryade Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hamadryade Lodge
Ranked #9 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Tena
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hamadryade Eco-Lodge, enveloped in Eden atop a disused goldmine, is distances away from “rush hour” noise & pollution.”
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Luxurious and modestly priced, the 5-bungalow haven, planted in exuberant rainforest along Napo River, is one of the finest ecolodges to have sprouted in the region.

My stay at Hamadryade included all activities, as well as excellent meals made fresh from organic local produce served atop a panoramic deck overlooking endless vegetation. Whitewater rafting, rituals and dancing with Chiripuno natives as well as a 6-hour trek unraveling jungle mysteries are just some of the outings offered. The most memorable – exclusive access to the Hourani, a primitive tribe wearing very little of what is traditional clothing with women donning a dried bark skirt while the men happily hoist their private parts on a vine tied around their waist.

Sebastian, the owner has created a spectacular contemporary ambiance reflecting Amazonian culture, colors and icons. Community endeavors and native guides ensure visitors are in harmony with the ecosystem, that the environmental impact is a positive one.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RachelGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    13
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
35
49
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

We very much enjoyed the 4 nights we spent at Hamadryade Lodge for our honeymoon.
The owners (and Fanny!) warm welcome and the family athmosphere make the experience brillant.
The decoration of the bungalows and the venues is very tasteful and there are plenty of activities to do in the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alja30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2011

I want to start off here by recommending the boutique hotel agency temptingplaces.com, who helped us select this wonderful place: they will for sure have the hotel you are looking for. The Hamadryade Lodge is just The Place to discover the amazonian rain forest in Ecuador.

Everything in the Hamadryade Lodge was just "right" and "true": environment, nature, smell, sounds, cleanliness, design, local, pool, food, service, people, activities, sport...

The hotel is perfectly situated and integrated in the rain forest totally respecting the environment but with great design and architecture altogether achieving unexpected level of comfort. It is totally quiet beyond the natural "sounds" of the forest. It is great to rest by the pool (rain water) and you can be sure to catch up on sleep time... Net the "live" experience is much better than what you can imagine from the website.

The owners, Sebastien and Melaine, are available any time to help. They arranged our trip from/to the airport. They reshuffled several time our program of activities to accomodate to our needs. They provided equipment on loan and advices to walk in the forest. Dinner, prepared by Sebastien, was a great experience every single day: simple with his magic touch. Massage sessions available on demand with the day. Just one word for room service, cleanliness and gardening: perfect... Net, the service also participates to the total experience: proximity, interaction, simplicity. The small imperfections bring the right dose of adventure and memories: for us, it was just the best souvenir to go down a river in a dugout (tree) canoe with 6 adults, no life jacket and just one paddle because the "official" large engine pirogue was not available!

We stayed 7 days at the Hamadryade and this was the perfect length. It will take 4 hours by car get to the hotel from Quito. This is a wonderful route through the andes (12000 feet high) and down to the amazonian forest... Make sure you drive during the day!

Room Tip: Take their package of activities
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VincentJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Superb, superb, superb :) Can but recommend. Especially the offered swim in the lagoons. And the 6 hour jungle trek was great as well! Not talking of a lucky coincidence to experience an all-lights-out evening storm in the jungle while neatly eating dinner in candle light :)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Auza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We just got back from a wonderful trip to Ecuador with our 20 yr old daughter and 17 yr old son. We spent 3 nights at Hamadryade and it was really wonderful from start to finish. The owners, Sebastian and Melanie, are gracious hosts and fascinating people, who were happy to share some of their experiences with us.

The Lodge is strikingly beautiful and incredibly comfortable. All the luxuries - great beds, bedding, hot showers w/delicious soaps and shampoos, etc., and fantastic food that incorporated some of the local produce (including exotic fruits and fruit juices at breakfast) with a french flair. All of this, but you still feel like you are in the middle of the rainforest with panoramic views everywhere.

In addition, there was plenty to do and all arranged without fuss by Sebastian. We did a rafting trip (with "The River People" , who were extremely professional in terms of safety, but also lots of fun and very interesting folks in their own right), took a trip to a local indigenous community w/Pepe as our guide, and also spent a good part of an afternoon at Pepe's amazing butterfly garden on the Hamadryade property.

Our main concern before taking this trip was that our son, who is not at all outdoorsy, would be uncomfortable. But even he had a great time - and took a million photos along the way. We highly recommend the Hamadryade Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newyorkfamilyplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Spent two nights in Tena at Hamdryade Lodge
Beautifully appointed, basic lodges on vaulted stilts overlooking the river
Ceilings painted with mosaics and well appointed bathrooms (with toilet apart)
Ecolodge does a nice job of actually saving water/ being natural without the "fuss"
Lovely pool for dipping and bird watching as well as porches
Lodge also has outdoor eating area with french-ecuadorian cuisine prepared in a five star way.
Very laid back - "whatever you need" approach but remember you are in the jungle !
Arranged rafting and travel to and from resort
If I had to be really picky I would only say that you have to ask for things- rather than being asked- IE More water at dinner/ drink at pool but always available with asked
Excellent choice and a great option for several couples too!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marikim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Nestled in the Amazon Basin, the Hamadryade Lodge is a first class way to stay in the jungles of Ecuador. What first captures your amazement upon arrival, is the beauty of the landscaping, and setting mixed in with the elements that the Amazon basin provides. The lodge as a whole and it's ambiance along with the natural setting that you are in results in a perfect chemistry that makes Hamadryade unlike any other lodge of its kind. The Hamadryade Lodge sets up numerous exploration activities. Adventures include hiking the jungles, waterfall swims, white water rafting, and visiting indigenous people. All fantastic, fun and interesting. The white water rafting will get your blood flowing.
Food at the Hamadryade Lodge is a 10 out of 10 experience. Gourmet breakfasts and dinners are specially prepared for you each day. It's like eating at a 5 star restaurant. Simply superb!
What also separates this experience is the wonderful service given by Sebastien Cazaudehore, proprietor of the lodge. You couldn't dream of being serviced any better.
We highly recommend the Hamadryade Lodge to everyone.

Sincerely
Richard A. Zuckerwar(son) and Richard J. Zuckerwar(Father)

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAZ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tena
0.6 mi away
Cotococha Amazon Lodge
8.2 mi away
Suchipakari Amazon Rainforest Ecolodge
15.8 mi away
Huasquila Amazon Lodge
Huasquila Amazon Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cotundo
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Sinchi Warmi
Sinchi Warmi
#10 of 30 in Tena
29 reviews
3.2 mi away
Banana Lodge
Banana Lodge
#1 of 11 in Misahualli
98 reviews
19.4 mi away
Yacuma Ecolodge
Yacuma Ecolodge
#8 of 30 in Tena
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamadryade Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamadryade Lodge

Property: Hamadryade Lodge
Address: Via Misahualli km 11, Tena, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Napo Province > Tena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Tena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamadryade Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamadryade Lodge is a luxurious hotel located in the High Amazon region, near Puerto Misahualli. This ecosystem, even if it is still the Amazonian Rainforest, is very different that the one in Lower regions. We are at 500mts altitude with hills and small mountains. Therefore, the climate remains pleasant all year round (24°C in average), and the absence of swamps allows an easier access to the more remote zones of Primary Rainforest, and of course the most positive consequence, is that we do not suffer from the presence of mosquitoes and Malaria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hamadryade Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamadryade Hotel Tena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing