We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SO SO”
Review of Hamadryade Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hamadryade Lodge
Ranked #12 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Tena
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“SO SO”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

I went with a friend out of season , the rooms are very pleasant with authentic bits and pieces from the local indian tribes that do give the place that jungle vibe , nice bathrooms with loads of hot water , lovely towels and natural soap and hair products , we were the only 2 tourists that weekend and Sebastian the owner had doubled up as host / chef , i found the included dinner very dissapointing , he tried to make a chicken rissoto and it was just awfull , the breakfast the following morning was ok , made perhaps more pleasant sitting out on the veranda listening to the birds , do not expect to see much wildlife around this place !! , this is more a chill out spot in a lovely setting .. not a true jungle expierience , to be fair i think if there had been more guests then Sebastian would have had more staff and a better meal prepared , but it was not the case when we visited , very pricey for what we got .

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    13
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
35
48
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

The smart decoration of the rooms and the elegant feeling made this a special place. The gardens are carefully kept and sitting for dinner or breakfast in the open and enjoying the jungle scenery made the restaurant very special. The food was marvellous
After travelling through Ecuador and getting more or less the same food we found here an innovative and delicious meals. A extrordinary combination of wilderness and high standars in food and service. There were a lot of excursions offered to get to know the area and the water rafting experience was wonderful. We were lucky to have a whole two stories suite and enjoyed the helpful and friedly service. Massage in a special open tent was wonderful. Sebastien has a done a great job here and it is really recommendable to spend quiet but well serviced lodge

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geniesserin-51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Great combination of luxury and authentic-jungle feel. Booked for two nights and extended three on realization that there was too much to do and see, and Sebastian the owner was more than willing to help you weed through the things to do and those to skip based on his keen attention to your needs. The food was incredible, each and every night, and the employees overall couldn't be warmer. This is definitely a place to stay....and return. Hot water and shower and soaps and views from balcony were unparalleled to any place I've stayed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
118 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Booked the all inclusive package which was great in that it involved just the right amount of activity for me. Stayed for a week, but felt like I would not run out of things to do if I had stayed longer. Activities took advantage of the nearby natural settings; forests, waterfalls, river trips. Would have been better with professional guides, but enjoyable nonetheless. Not much to see in terms of wildlife- not a big surprise.

Rooms were kept spotless, quite a relief in this type of environment. Fan was helpful when it got really hot.

Dinners were very good.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Livetowander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

When we arrived at Hamadryade we were really blown away by the cool modern wood and glass bungalows. This place is really spectacular and the grounds are maintained superbly. The owner (Sebastian) is very welcoming and friendly. As mentioned in previous reviews, the food is quite good and there is plenty of it. The pool was great after a day of excursions, and the view over the gardens from the pool is great. The only issue we had was that everything costs and the listed prices are not the total price, you will also pay for transportation and it will be marked up from what you would pay the tranportation provider directly. A small thing in what was otherwise a really marvelous setting, but worth noting. One last note is that the butterflies in the butterfly garden had to be freed because of an ant invasion, This is a bummer, except that the flowers on the grounds are spectacular enough that there are a lot of butterflies flitting around on these. The rooms are luxurious and spectacular with a steel wall in our master shower that opened to the jungle outside while you were taking a shower...pretty cool. Great chairs on the veranda that looked out over the gardens, valley and river below.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seem like they would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We decided to stay in this hotel based on the comments we read on tripadvisor and it was definitely a good decision. If you like adventure but still enjoy luxury, this is the place. Service was great, food was delicious. And the fact that there are only 5 cabañas means that you won't be in a crowded hotel full of people. I definitely recommend this place; would love to go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Veronica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Hamadryade Lodge is all that you would expect and more. Immaculate and beautifully decorate private cabanas in the middle of the woods, overlooking the beautiful Rio Napo. Fantastic food and wonderful service, not to mention an adorable little dog.

The best part about our stay here was returning after a long day in the jungle to absolute luxury. The excursions are fabulous (a jungle hike, white water rafting, a hike to a waterfall) and are executed flawlessly. Dinner was amazing and the variety truly appreciated. I really appreciate that the lodge was built on an old gold mine, so that no forest had to be cleared to accommodate the lodge. The shampoo and conditioner in locally crafted ceramics (instead of plastic bottles) has to be one of the most ingenious eco-friendly adaptations I have ever encountered. In all, a great experience that I would highly recommend.

My only comment is that some screens or other sort of physical bug deterrent would be a helpful addition to the cabins.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank essie846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tena
12.9 mi away
Anaconda Lodge Ecuador
0.6 mi away
Cotococha Amazon Lodge
8.2 mi away
Suchipakari Amazon Rainforest Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Huasquila Amazon Lodge
Huasquila Amazon Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cotundo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
3.2 mi away
Banana Lodge
Banana Lodge
#1 of 12 in Misahualli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yachana Lodge
Yachana Lodge
#1 of 55 in Napo Province
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamadryade Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamadryade Lodge

Property: Hamadryade Lodge
Address: Via Misahualli km 11, Tena, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Napo Province > Tena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Tena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamadryade Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamadryade Lodge is a luxurious hotel located in the High Amazon region, near Puerto Misahualli. This ecosystem, even if it is still the Amazonian Rainforest, is very different that the one in Lower regions. We are at 500mts altitude with hills and small mountains. Therefore, the climate remains pleasant all year round (24°C in average), and the absence of swamps allows an easier access to the more remote zones of Primary Rainforest, and of course the most positive consequence, is that we do not suffer from the presence of mosquitoes and Malaria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Hamadryade Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamadryade Hotel Tena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing