We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!! Would return to Tena just to stay there”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hamadryade Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hamadryade Lodge
Ranked #9 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Tena
Chester, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Love this place!! Would return to Tena just to stay there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Sebastian has built a spectacular retreat in the wilds of Equador. The only thing it needs is a yoga teacher and I'd stay a month. We appreciated his incredible energy and enthusiasm. The equisite meals, his restored old truck, his dog.

Room Tip: Any room would be amazing. If you have two couples, choose the family lodge. The design is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohdoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    13
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
34
48
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

After a three and a half car ride from Quito through some of the most beautiful mountains and their different environments, we enjoyed three nights at Hamadryade... lovely breakfasts of exotic fruits and crepes and delicious dinners al fresco. Our cabana, set in gorgious flora, was very comfortable with a sitting area and balcony looking out into the lush vegatation overlooking the Rio Napo, one of the two rivers which form the Amazon River. Surprisingly, there were viturally no insects at the Lodge. The staff was very helpful in planning the two days of activity, boating on the Rio Napo, visiting a tropical animal rescue shelter, AmaZOOnia, a 3 km walk through a native inhabitited island and a full day with a Kitchwa community, learning their ways of life as well as lunching there. These were full days of adventure ending at the Lodge with a waiting pool or a lounge to have a cocktal before dinner. The way of life at the Lodge is to sustain the environment with organic products in the bath and electric saving lights, none of which took away for the very comfortable way of living. The Lodge is a bit on the expensive side but worth it because of its uniqueness and concern with the forest and its sustainability. Well worth the stay! Thanks, Sabastien:-)!

Room Tip: There are five cabanas and all are a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Suz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

My wife and I, along with our two young kids ( 8 and 6) recently spent a few nights here in January 2013
The lodge, accomodations, food, scenery, pool etc were all first class and I would highly recommend the lodge for anyone who is looking for a luxury jungle experience
Sebastian and Lisa were perfect hosts and had great suggestions for us to keep the kids thrilled ( white water rafting and visit to Kitchwa community etc)
P.S. The Vice President of Ecuador was there for a night while we were visiting.. kind of says it all

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HowieDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

My family and I just came back from a one week stay here and we couldn't be happier! The eco-lodge is situated in the middle of the jungle, surrounded by beautiful sights and nature. Lisa and Sebastien, made us feel very welcome and comfortable staying here. They are very professional, happy, and were always quick to help our needs. My family and I were very happy to meet Lisa , Sebastien's manager. She is very hardworking and always does things with a smile. The hospitality we received from both of them was exceptional. The rooms are beautifully decorated and has views overlooking the green jungle, and even a river! The food prepared by Sebastein was also great. And the adventure activities offered at the hotel are amazing! Highly recommend river rafting and the night hike! Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ani C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
572 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

We were driven to Quito to Hamadryade, stopping encounters at a number of places both for scenic photo opportunities and a lodge that specialises in hummingbirds. On arrival at the lodge, we were greeting by the owner, Sebastien, and Liz his manager, both very professional and charming. Liz then took us to bungalow 4, Huaorani. There are four regular bungalows and a fifth large one that can sleep six. The open sided main lodge houses the reception area, office, a small fair trade boutique, library/bar/sitting area/complimentary wifi zone and the restaurant. The open side of the lodge lets you enjoy uninterrupted views of the rainforest and a glimpse of the Napo River. Just down the stairs is the delightful ozone treated rainwater pool, with deck chairs and hammocks. Towels (and swimming accessories for kids) are provided.

The bungalows are set in the lovely grounds and well spaced apart. Each is named after one of the ethnic groups and the ceilings decorated with the animal and vegetal symbols important to that group. The bungalow had five storage cupboards with a variety of shelving and hanging space. One included a safe, flashlight, umbrella,and insect repellant. A fan and an alarm clock is provided and there is a phone that connects to the office,other bungalows and after hours extension. The large main room has comfortable beds (and high quality sheets) that can be configured as twins or king. There is a day bed, two modern wooden chairs and a large coffee table with reading material. The lockable glass sliding door leads to the balcony which has two wooden deck chairs and views over the rainforest. There are windows on the sides with fly screens allowing for a cross draft.

The toilet is off one hall and bathroom off the other. The stylish slate and wood bathroom is spacious with a shower, twin sinks and the lovely locally made Florasana products.

Breakfast and dinner is included, as well as lunch on arrival. The food was all tasty and on booking and on arrival we were asked if we had any dietary issues that should be catered for as there is no menu, you enjoy the courses prepared for that day. Breakfast is four types of cut fruit, juice, French toast and coffee or tea. Simple but delicious.

A range of activities can be arranged. We most enjoyed being on the river, the visit to Amazoonico animal refuge and the visit to Ceibo to see the six century old giant tree, Papa Pununo. Sebastien knows and is accepted by the local community and is always ready to help make or tailor arrangements be it transport, lunch elsewhere or other activities.

There is an open sided traditional hut in the rainforest, where we enjoyed a relaxing massage. The activities were not inexpensive but they were interesting and worthwhile in our view.

Sebastien and Liz make every effort to ensure that you experience everything that you wish to during your visit. Just spending time on our balcony, around the pool or in the lodge looking at the rainforest was a highlight. Their hospitality confirmed that we were in a very special place.

Highly recommend this wonderfully relaxing Eco lodge with good rainforest views and glimpses of the Rio Napo.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yns_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

I went with a friend out of season , the rooms are very pleasant with authentic bits and pieces from the local indian tribes that do give the place that jungle vibe , nice bathrooms with loads of hot water , lovely towels and natural soap and hair products , we were the only 2 tourists that weekend and Sebastian the owner had doubled up as host / chef , i found the included dinner very dissapointing , he tried to make a chicken rissoto and it was just awfull , the breakfast the following morning was ok , made perhaps more pleasant sitting out on the veranda listening to the birds , do not expect to see much wildlife around this place !! , this is more a chill out spot in a lovely setting .. not a true jungle expierience , to be fair i think if there had been more guests then Sebastian would have had more staff and a better meal prepared , but it was not the case when we visited , very pricey for what we got .

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

The smart decoration of the rooms and the elegant feeling made this a special place. The gardens are carefully kept and sitting for dinner or breakfast in the open and enjoying the jungle scenery made the restaurant very special. The food was marvellous
After travelling through Ecuador and getting more or less the same food we found here an innovative and delicious meals. A extrordinary combination of wilderness and high standars in food and service. There were a lot of excursions offered to get to know the area and the water rafting experience was wonderful. We were lucky to have a whole two stories suite and enjoyed the helpful and friedly service. Massage in a special open tent was wonderful. Sebastien has a done a great job here and it is really recommendable to spend quiet but well serviced lodge

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geniesserin-51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tena
12.9 mi away
Anaconda Lodge Ecuador
0.6 mi away
Cotococha Amazon Lodge
8.2 mi away
Suchipakari Amazon Rainforest Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Huasquila Amazon Lodge
Huasquila Amazon Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cotundo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
3.2 mi away
Banana Lodge
Banana Lodge
#1 of 12 in Misahualli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yachana Lodge
Yachana Lodge
#1 of 54 in Napo Province
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamadryade Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamadryade Lodge

Property: Hamadryade Lodge
Address: Via Misahualli km11, Tena, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Napo Province > Tena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Tena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamadryade Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamadryade Lodge is a luxurious hotel located in the High Amazon region, near Puerto Misahualli. This ecosystem, even if it is still the Amazonian Rainforest, is very different that the one in Lower regions. We are at 500mts altitude with hills and small mountains. Therefore, the climate remains pleasant all year round (24°C in average), and the absence of swamps allows an easier access to the more remote zones of Primary Rainforest, and of course the most positive consequence, is that we do not suffer from the presence of mosquitoes and Malaria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hamadryade Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamadryade Hotel Tena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing