We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for a couple of nights”
Review of Hostal Limoncocha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Limoncocha
Ranked #7 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Tena
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good place for a couple of nights”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This was a good hotel, walking distance to the town. The rooms were spacious and it was nice having a veranda and nice views of the city with great sunset views. They also offered breakfast (extra), but we did not purchase. They provided a kitchen, so we used that to cook some of our meals. The accomodations were good and the host was helpful. I would recommend this hostel if you are in Tena.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJaffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    33
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
31
17
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I was a very big fan of the price- 6 USD for a 4 bed dorm (I was the only one though) and shared bathroom and the hammocks in the terrace. However, the hostel was located farm from town and all of the outdoor booking agents (aside from the one in the hostel). The staff was helpful when I asked questions, but in a very unfriendly way. Overall, I wasn't very comfortable and felt far away from town.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mucky2013, Inhaber at Hostal Limoncocha, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Google Translation
Jeder hat sich mal ein Urlaub verdient, so kann man nicht immer da sein und sich um die Turisten kümmer. Mein Hotel ist nur 300 von der bushaltestelle weg und 150 meter von der bushaltestelle nach Misahualli, supermarkt ist gerade um die ecke und der Mark ist auch nicht weit weg. die bak ist 500 meter endfernt also was braucht man mehr, mache leute ticken eben anderst.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muenchenstein, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

The best of this family owned hostal is the view overlooking the center of Tena and the good value. We just payed 7 USD p.person for a spacious room with shared bath. At the 3rd floor they have a public kitchen you can use with all the facilities you need. Cooking, overlooking the city and the jungle covered mountains was something different.
Also they offer tours into the rain forest and white water rafting tours.
Free computer and wifi was available too.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Liberta
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I stayed here for a couple nights and thought I was going to get a pretty good place because of the lonely planet review but when I got there I felt a bit ignored and didn't like the vibe. I felt like the owner hardly looked me in the eye and the kid who was there talked short with me when I asked him really basic questions like, "is there a free room?" Didn't like that one bit. The pluses were the rooftop kitchen and the strong wifi on the lower story. Strong enough to watch videos most of the time. Clean enough, trashcans and toilet paper were not attended to enough. All in all, wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rooseM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Our family of seven visited Tena and we knew a bit of Spanish. It was easy enough to communicate with the German owner. Even though the hostel was not in downtown Tena it was safe and secure and was only a few minute walk from the center of town. We felt safe walking home at night, and when necessary it wasn't a problem for the hostel to call us a cab. The hostel was clean, fans were in the rooms which was a nice reprieve from the humidity, and laundry services were available.

We arranged our tours through the hostel and Juan was our tour guide for both the rafting trip and Ahuano Jungle tour and he was absolutely fantastic. I would highly recommend the jungle tours and rafting!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TKulyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Pros: hammocks on the terrace, price, breakfast. tour agency (I did not use)
Cons: Owner seemed ambivalent to new guests, further away from center of city (10-15 min walk)

A little advice for Tena in general: If you travel solo give yourself some time to visit the tour agencies to get a rafting trip set up. This may require you giving them your anme and hostel so when they get enough rafters they will contact you. When I visited there were not very many other rafters and as a solo traveler I was turned down by 3 agencies (including Limon Cocha) because they cant take outjust one person.

Room Tip: I spent an extra 5 bucks and got my own bed and bathroom. great deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viewhaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Perhaps it was just poor timing for our arrival, so they weren't ready to receive guests - although it was around 3pm, the time that we discussed in our emails the previous day. My wife and I walked to reception from the bus station, which was not far, but the streets were unmarked and in a state of construction so finding the place was somewhat of a trick. The young men at the reception desk seemed upset I interrupted their online gaming to talk to us, but eventually obliged. We were unceremoniously shown to our room, so we showed ourselves around to the amenities. We stayed 2 days, and they eventually got better with their service (not that we asked for anything), but the first impression was not a good one. Otherwise, the rooms were clean and reasonably comfortable. We were a little far from everything, but 1$ taxi anywhere in Tena is easy to manage. The wifi worked in the common room, but was slowed or not functional when the fellas were gaming. If returning, we wouldn't go there again, but wouldn't be too upset if we couldn't find a room elsewhere.

Room Tip: We asked for private bath - little pricier, though
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdoylens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tena hotels
1.0 mi away
Hostal Los Yutzos
Hostal Los Yutzos
#1 of 3 in Tena
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
La CasaBlanca
La CasaBlanca
#6 of 29 in Tena
106 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hostal Pakay
Hostal Pakay
#1 of 13 in Tena
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
A Welcome Break Hostal
8.1 mi away
Cotococha Amazon Lodge
7.4 mi away
Wisdom Forest Yoga Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Limoncocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Limoncocha

Property: Hostal Limoncocha
Address: ITA Street 533 | off Av del Chofer, Tena, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Napo Province > Tena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Tena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Limoncocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing