We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - amazing! ”
Review of La Casa del Abuelo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Casa del Abuelo
Ranked #17 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Tena
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

After 5 months in hostels/hosterias across South America we were so excited to stay in such beautiful lodgings.

It's like hotel, the rooms are gorgeous! Super clean, the beds are divine, sheets are white and fresh (like a hotel), the bathroom & shower was amazing. It was quiet, we had air con, and for the price, it was amazing!

We even enjoyed a few games of pool and a DVD in the games room (during the rain).

Stay here!!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank WorldexplorerIrons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

The hostel is in a great location - 5 min walk from the bus stop, yet far enough that it was quiet and secure. The rooms are spacious and clean and the bathrooms were of a great size. There is a common area with a pool table and bar. It is also close to the river where you can go swimming.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmh69d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

we stayed in this hotel (more like a family run bed and breakfast) 3 nights. It is in a quiet part of the town, away from traffic. The room was nice, very spacious and comfortable. It was, however, a bit loud - we could hear our neighbors and the kitchen noises. It was fine as nobody stayed up late or listened to music. We have not really met the staff and when we did, they were not very friendly - just doing the required minimum. The receptionists were almost never there. They did not speak much English so could not help us with our questions about taxis, buses, etc. The breakfast (not included in the price!) is fine, but nothing special. I would rather go to Cafe Tortuga - for the same price, one get better and more food. I don't think in Tena there are many nice places to stay so overall I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: The top floor has big room with small terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andras J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The Casa is a great place to stay in Tena. My wife and I stayed on the top floor and found the room to be fantastic. The room had a deck with frig, coffee maker, and sink. The room was really nice, clean and of good size. The owners were extremely nice and accommodating. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: Top story might very well be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

A very charming hotel, we - a group of 14 - enjoyed the stay. The rooms were clean, the breakfast good and WLAN has been provided for free. And for relaxing in the evening a recreation room with a billiard table and TV for at least 20 persons was available. Walkway to downtown Tena: 10 min!
I highly recommend to choose the hotel for your stay in Tena!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This is a beautiful old home that has been well maintained. The room was very comfortable with a nice bed, sheets and towels, like if you were staying at an expensive hotel. We paid $30/night for a couple and it was a great value. We felt like we were staying at a nice B&B. they had a small restaurant and a game/lounge area with a TV, movies and an Xbox. It was on a quiet street but a short walk to everything. Probably the most comfortable room I have stayed in, in South America.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank el_cap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

This is the third time I have stayed here, on this occasion leading two tour groups. All were happy here. The house is charmingly constructed with whitewashed walls with thick timber floors, wooden beams and stairwell, and is tastefully decorated. Rooms are very clean and nicely appointed, with TV, comfortable beds, clean bedding, and decent clean bathrooms. Air conditioning in every room is quiet and efficient, and the hot water is plentiful (unless every showers at once!!). There is free wi-fi available on each floor, (usually) with a very good connection. Breakfast is very tasty and filling (freshly queezed juice too!), and the staff are wonderful and friendly. Our rooms cost USD $20 plus 12.5% tax, and are very good value. For extra, there's a suite on the top floor with excellent views. Oh, and it's usually very quiet at night too, but in Tena and all Ecuador you can never control (or anticipate) what noise might disturb your sleep! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Top floor suite (room 10) is more expensive but worth it for all round views and comfort. On the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tena hotels
0.0 mi away
Hostal Los Yutzos
Hostal Los Yutzos
#1 of 3 in Tena
56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Limoncocha
Hostal Limoncocha
#7 of 31 in Tena
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wisdom Garden
Wisdom Garden
#2 of 15 in Tena
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La CasaBlanca
La CasaBlanca
#8 of 31 in Tena
107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cotococha Amazon Lodge
0.0 mi away
Hotel Christian Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Abuelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Abuelo

Address: Juan Leon Mera No. 628, Tena 150150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Napo Province > Tena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Tena
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing