We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Jungle Escape!”
Review of Terra Luna Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Terra Luna Lodge
Ranked #18 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Tena
TRINIDAD, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Jungle Escape!”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Just a short cab ride from the town of Tena, the Terra Luna Lodge is a beautiful family-run jungle lodge. Surrounded by lush tropical plants and trees, toucans and other birds, a pond filled with fish, swimming pool, pool and foosball for the kids, a full bar and extremely helpful staff, the only downside is that you might be tempted to "stay in" and not explore the rest of the jungle. The rooms are beautiful, with large flat screen TV with Direct TV and huge comfortable beds. The included breakfast is delicious with fresh fruits and juices, breads and eggs. The have good coffee too. Dinners are delivered from local restaurants in the area or you can go out on your own. We look forward to our next visit to Tena and the Terra Luna!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anontraveler4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    3
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed there one night before going on a trip to Amazonas. We were maybe a bit unlucky, because we arrived late and it was pouring with rain. They didn't seem to have any other guest staying there, and it was located outside the centre so it felt a bit far out in a ghost town. If the weather had been nicer, I guess our whole experience would have been better as well, so not quite fair to blame that to the hotel. The staff was very nice, and the rooms were OK concidering that it is in Amazonas. If I were to go back to Tena, I would probably book the same place again. But then, I don't think we would ever go back to Tena, not a very nice place :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frasti001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Every morning we woke to a symphony of birds. Terra Luna is a 5 star jungle lodge with the convenience of being a $2 cab ride from the supermarket in downtown Tena and a $1 cab ride from the only 5 star restaurant in Tena. I jogged every morning in the neighborhood inhaling the freshness, tranquility and safety of the area. Breakfast included fresh fruit, juice, eggs, ham, cheese and unlimited fresh brewed coffee (not instant). Our room was exceptionally clean with a porch and french doors that we opened each morning to listen to the birds. The pool was perfect each evening to enjoy cocktails and sooth sore muscles from the days hike/ walks. There are numerous outdoor comfortable places throughout the hotel grounds to enjoy reading a book, chatting or just appreciating the beauty of the spectacular gardens. The owner and staff are super attentive and go above and beyond in exceptional service. The owner of Terra Luna speaks very good english. He coordinated an unbelievable hike into the Amazon for us with a native who spoke fluent english. Terra Luna is truly a 5 star hotel at an affordable price. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Tucked behind the town of Tena in the jungle is a relaxing retreat called Terra Luna Lodge. Terra Luna comes with picturesque views, a swimming pool and fully stocked bar. Patricio and his staff were courteous, helpful and willing to go above and beyond. The rooms were beautifully designed with queen size bed, flatscreen, WIFI, and most importantly AC. Breakfast was delicious and included. I cannot wait to go back to the jungle and Terra Luna Lodge!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CocoLocoCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
418 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 379 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

It is worth the taxi ride here. If you are going to want quite, comfortable , clean (newly built) with a swimming pool in a tropical garden then look no further than here. We left Tena town and "Case del Abuelo" (average and we were unimpressed) with red eyes from waking at night because of barking dogs and came down the back road to this lodge - very glad we did. What a great fine. New rooms, new beds, new towel and sheets all for $5 more than 'Abuelo's'. Oh, "Terra Luna" has A/C, wide screen TV and free WiFi in the rooms, hey, what is not to like? Well, Price includes breakfast. Strongly recommended. We give it a 4.5 for the price.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fdoamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tena
7.7 mi away
Cotococha Amazon Lodge
7.4 mi away
Hamadryade Lodge
Hamadryade Lodge
#9 of 30 in Tena
107 reviews
15.0 mi away
Suchipakari Amazon Rainforest Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Christian Resort
12.2 mi away
Huasquila Amazon Lodge
Huasquila Amazon Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cotundo
146 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hosteria Hakuna Matata
Hosteria Hakuna Matata
#1 of 3 in Archidona
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terra Luna Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terra Luna Lodge

Property: Terra Luna Lodge
Address: 1 Km From Center Of City | 1,2 km de Pto Guadal Camino a Chile Chico, Tena, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Napo Province > Tena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Tena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TerraLuna Lodge - a different experience. We bring both relaxation and entertainment for your trip to the Amazon region of Ecuador. The exquisitely beautiful architecture of TerraLuna Lodge will relax you after a day of exploring the mystical wonder of the Amazon. Come, relax, play, swim, dine... TerraLuna brings it all to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Terra Luna Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing