We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Vibe and Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anaconda Lodge Ecuador
Ranked #1 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Tena
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing Vibe and Excellent Value”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We had the best time at Anaconda Lodge. We needed to relax and it was easy here. The room was immaculately clean and every meal was fresh and delicious, by far the best food we ate in Ecuador. The lodge has many projects going on supporting the local people including a rehabilitating a chocolate mini-plantation. We saw monkeys and orchids and all the hikes were led by local, knowledgeable indigenous guides. Its the kind of place where the little local children see so few foreigners that they shyly follow your group from a distance. We ended up staying an extra night and plan to return next year. Worth mentioning that it is gay friendly with a special love for San Franciscans. Daniel

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    8
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
52
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lone Tree, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had a WONDERFUL time at Anaconda Lodge. Francisco and Silvia were great hosts, we had a lot of fun getting to know them and the other guests at the lodge. The food was fantastic and the activities were great as well. We really enjoyed the treks, the tubing, the visit to native family and the presentation by the local Shaman. Our room was very comfortable and it was nice to hear the sounds of the jungle at night. It is easily accessible from Tena which was great for us. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wootravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco R, Propietario at Anaconda Lodge Ecuador, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
It was wonderful and Cool to have you guys here at the Lodge. We are so happy that you guys got the message that we try to give to our guest, "Let's Save the Amazon and the Native People that live in this Magical place in our Planet".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayfork, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Our stay at Anaconda Lodge was absolutely wonderful! For us, it was the ideal vacation. We had a great time getting to know Francisco and Sylvia who made us feel like family - very welcoming! Our guide, Cesar was awesome - we had so much fun on every hike and felt like we were just out with an extremely well- informed friend. We really loved starting each day with great food, a hike in the jungle and floating down the river. The hikes are 4-5 hours and when we get back, there is cold lemonade and lunch ready...The food is absolutely amazing! I could live on the fresh bread and chile sauce alone. And experiencing the taste of fresh chocolate has changed the way I see chocolate...indescribable.

we had the very great pleasure of witnessing a spiritual cleansing demonstration by the only shaman left in the area. It was a very special experience for us.
We saw howler monkeys, tamarin monkeys, beautiful butterflies, amazing trees and plants....we planned to stay 3 nights and ended up staying 4 - and we would have stayed longer if we had more time!

We had a great time getting to know Francisco over those 5 days and are happy to have made a new friend. Our next visit will be for at least a week, probably longer. :).

The only real advice I might give someone is: Don't forget to pack bug spray(OFF) and don't forget to use it!

We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: ALWAYS keep the door to your cabana closed. It is the Amazon and comes with lots of insects so reme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 15nane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Ok we are a couple of oldies who spent 3 nights here. The accommodation was fine, the food excellent. The first day we went a 3 hour trek with caesar which was great! Back for lunch 1pm and then nothing. We were the only people at the lodge which was weird. 2nd day the same. We had a very cool depart on day 3. It may be a place to go in a group but not solo. There was too much criticism from management about previous guests not paying etc. Overall I feel it was an expensive 3 days

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank TomandaliUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco R, Propietario at Anaconda Lodge Ecuador, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Your comment seems so strange to us because when you both left December 19th you told us that you had a very beautiful experience at the Lodge. When you two arrived to the Lodge, you requested us that you both didn't want to do the activities, since your wife had a problem with her knee, and less doing hikes through the jungle. We organize Canoe tours so that your wife could not have problems. After lunch you every day you would go to the cabin to have a NAP all afternoon until the time of the activities at night. The first and second day I offered you to go bird watching in the afternoon and you answered me that he would rather have a NAP because you were tired.
It is not strange that you were only guests for the 3 nights that you both were staying at the Lodge; I am going to explain why again, because you already asked us that question when you were here. We are a Lodge which has only 2 years of operation and therefore are not very known yet. The big resort hotel that you saw from the River, can accommodate 180 people and those days they had only 6 passengers, we have 28 passengers. The first 20 days of December hotels in the Amazon do not have many guests, after that date they begin to arrive, in this moment we are 90% full.
Regarding what you mentioned of criticisms of former passengers who had problems, you were the one that asked me and my wife the second night after dinner, if we had had problems with passengers who had not paid and I replied yes and told you what had happened and that had been twice only.
We are cheapest Lodge in the area, so we are not going to respond to that comment. My wife and I remember very well when you mention us how you cheated to pay less on your trips around the world to save money, so maybe you found us expensive because you could not do does dirty tricks that you told us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The lodge is really cool - nice rooms with strong fans, clean, and a cool living room/dining room space to share with others. The sunsets are beautiful too. The food was prepared by Francisco's wife (whose name escapes me right now) and it was very good, though almost completely vegetarian. That was fine for me though since I'm not a big meat eater. The only real drawback of the experience was Francisco himself - he seemed really unhappy with us and sort of annoyed by me and my family the entire time. We've traveled all over the world and get along with pretty much everyone, so I don't know if he was just going through a rough time or something else was going on. At one point, my family and I were sitting eating breakfast, debating for about 20 minutes whether or not we should go tubing. We were the only people in the lodge so no other guests were waiting on us. Suddenly, he snapped at my parents, telling them that we'd been unsure all morning what we were going to do and that he needed us to decide. Then he literally completely ignored my mother when she tried to talk to him. My parents are far older than him and it was super upsetting to have someone talk to them that way. That was really upsetting for all of us, and we felt on edge around him the whole time. We eventually left a day early, even though we had paid for that extra day. However, on another note, the guides are fantastic and so kind and flexible. I enjoyed being around them and loved hearing about their life experiences and knowledge of the Amazon. Unfortunately, I think we would have loved the experience if Francisco had been kinder and more flexible with us.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CTverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco R, Propietario at Anaconda Lodge Ecuador, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
When a person is rude and disrespectful to the culture, that bothers us. At all times I tried to be friendly with you as owner, but ALWAYS ignored me and rudely whenever you wanted to talk to me no attention. You and your family have been the most badly behaved passengers we have had in these two years that we are open.
My wife that cook for you guys is called Silvia thinks the same of you as all personnel that works at Anaconda Lodge Ecuador. You may have traveled the owl world, but that does not mean to be disrespectful in places that you stay.
Worst of all is that in addition you tried to pay with counterfeit bills, which is a crime.
For us, all of us at Anaconda Lodge Ecuador was a great relief when you and your rude family left the Lodge, especially the native’s people that work in Anaconda Lodge Ecuador, as you were very discriminatory towards them. The racism that you showed to us was very noticeable.
I always make it clear that I headed to respect you, but unfortunately you were rude and disrespectful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aschau Im Chiemgau, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This lodge was recommended to me for organizing a trip into the Amazonian rainforest. It was a good choice. Transport Quito-Punta di Ahuano took us 4.5 h. Transfer by boat to the lodge was the first enjoyable adventure. After a relaxing lunch we had a hike into the forest. A knowlwdagble Kichwa indian had many details to show to the Eurpean newcomers. A next days boat and hike trip was interesting and exciting again. Rooms were clean, food excellent, staff friendly ... . I would like to come again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bene-tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

This was hands down the favorite part of our trip to ecuador. We brought our 4 year old son, and although I know many of ours friends thought it was nuts to go to a boat access lodge in the amazon with him, it was perfect. The hikes would have been too much for him to walk, but we had the backpack. The cabins were simple but clean and relaxing. The food was amazing and all staff great. I did get very sick the day I left, (doctor at termas papallacta saw me and said it was food-related) but the only thing I consumed that my husband and child did not was a tiny sip (to not offend) of the chicha drink from the native's house. Not a surprise.. Just a warning that just because all food/water at the lodge is purified, that part of a tour is probably not. All in all though, absolutely fabulous!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Kmb327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tena
12.7 mi away
Cotococha Amazon Lodge
5.4 mi away
Suchipakari Amazon Rainforest Ecolodge
12.9 mi away
Hamadryade Lodge
Hamadryade Lodge
#9 of 30 in Tena
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Yacuma Ecolodge
Yacuma Ecolodge
#8 of 30 in Tena
56 reviews
24.7 mi away
Huasquila Amazon Lodge
Huasquila Amazon Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cotundo
146 reviews
5.9 mi away
Itamandi EcoLodge
Itamandi EcoLodge
#13 of 58 in Napo Province
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anaconda Lodge Ecuador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anaconda Lodge Ecuador

Property: Anaconda Lodge Ecuador
Address: Isla Anaconda s/n, Ahuano Amazonia | Rio Napo y Arajuno, Tena 150150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Napo Province > Tena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Tena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Getting to Anaconda Lodge Ecuador is to discover the nature, jungle, the world that was born on a sea of fresh water. Today, we want to show and tell all the adventures of a region that refuses to be changed.Native peoples with their beliefs, myths, legends and knowledge. Rainforests still present in all its forms, rivers flowing from the Andes are headed to the Atlantic Ocean loaded with sediments and tannins that irrigate these clay soils.Share with us experiences by visiting these awesome places, native houses, primary rainforest, jungle in constant evolution, and in daily conversations, discover how it was born the "lungs of the world", who were the ancestral groups that inhabited these parts as the Western men is changing.We are on an island in the midst of the mighty Napo River and its beautiful tributaries, we are in the jungle, we are returning into the past with modern comforts, with a varied cuisine that combines perfectly the traditional local and international dishes, an excellent bar, tours with native guides and many other activities.In other words, a cultural tourism on behalf of ecology, native peoples and in close contact with nature.Welcome to your home in the Ecuadorian Amazon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Anaconda Lodge Ecuador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing