We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unplugged”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anaconda Lodge Ecuador
Ranked #2 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Tena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This was the highlight of our trip to Ecuador (except for la boda magnifica which was the reason for our trip). The atmosphere was very relaxed and my girlfriend and I really liked the owners, Francisco and Sylvia, and their dedication to the natives and the rainforest. Ceaser was an excellent guide and it was great learning about the native Quichua culture. Overall nicely done, we want to come back someday soon!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JayTimothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was a fantastic part of our trip to Ecuador. It was everything we had hoped for, and much more. The accommodations, food...wow!!! staff, were all outstanding. What was really awesome was the personal attention we received from the proprietors. They were absolutely focused and attentive to every detail of our experience. Francisco and Sylvia are wonderful hosts. We were thrilled at all of the knowledge we gained about the jungle during our hikes and absolutely loved the tubing trip down the river after one of the hikes. The visit with the indigenous family was truly a unique experience we will not forget. Thank you so much from our family for providing such a memorable experience. It was perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco R, Propietario at Anaconda Lodge Ecuador, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Our Dear Friends from Michigan...What a Wonderful Family. We enjoyed every single moment with all of you.
We the people that make Anaconda Lodge will always remember your visit to the Amazon.
"If we are still alive, we will meet again"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

It was just a perfect trip to the Amazon, staying in a island in the middle of 2 big rivers.
What I like the most: the infrastructure: ad hoc and clean, the people: Francisco and Silvia: the owners that are also amazing hosts!, the food! (Silvias menu is great), the trips with the guides were really educative and fun so tourists can learn of the indigenous culture.
I stayed for 5 days and I did a lot of stuff and rest also.
Very recommended, I want to come back soon!
Thanks guys for the hospitality.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Caceli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco R, Propietario at Anaconda Lodge Ecuador, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you Very Much, Ashka Pagrachu, we had a great time when you visited us. Remember that you will always have your Home at the Lodge.
Say hi to all the Cool Chileans!
A big Hug from The Office!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My cousin and I traveled to this lodge for a bit of relaxing... and oh boy did we relax! We really enjoyed the location and the nice peaceful feeling it provides you from the moment you arrive. You get picked up by Francisco while his wife Silvia awaits for you at the lodge.

The rooms are just beautiful and the service is amazing. The excursions were really fun and educational. You need to be warned though... if you're looking for a party place, this may not be it. It is definitely fun and you'll be busy from the moment you arrive. My cousin played her ringtone all night (she forgot to upload music) because she kept missing the "city noise". That was too funny! To be honest, I say turn your cells off and just listen to nature.

I must mention the food... it was soo yummy! Kuddos to Silvia and her stuff! During our stay the head chef was on vacation so Silvia took care of the food and it was amazing!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peladita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco R, Propietario at Anaconda Lodge Ecuador, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you so much for your beutiful review!
It was a preasure to have you guys at the Lodge.
We will be waiting for you guys in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My wife and I just returned from a stay at the Anaconda Lodge and it was all we hoped it would be. The owners, Francisco and Silvia, were not only accommodating but very helpful in making arrangements to get there and back. The food was delicious, plentiful and prepared with mostly local ingredients and all by hand. The staff was very friendly and the guide, Cesar, was very knowledgeable and helpful on the excursions. Don't miss out on tubing down a beautiful river surrounded by scenery and wildlife(you'll want to float forever). You will learn about the local indigenous people and their way of life by seeing it first hand as well as learning about their history. This is a place to participate and learn. Although not a resort with spas and pools you will be quite relaxed from the atmosphere and awe of the location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco R, Propietario at Anaconda Lodge Ecuador, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

It was so nice to have you guys here at the Lodge. We are so glad that you learned a lots of things of the Amazon and also their Native People. Hope seeing you guys again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

You won't be sorry if you decided to go to the Anaconda Lodge in Ecuador to unwind, relax, unplug, eat your hearts out, meet the local Kichiwa people and get to know the wonderful couple that run the lodge, Francisco and Silvia! We went to visit in Dec. of 2013 and wanted an experience involving the Amazon and really only had a few days to do it. After some research and reading reviews on TripAdvisor, we landed on the Anaconda Lodge and it was everything we wanted our experience to be!

We had a couple hikes through the jungle, heard a tree fall during breakfast (and yes, it does make a very loud sound!), ate 5 star food from chef Rodrigo (sometimes we call him Silvio), had the opportunity to participate in a shaman ceremony and have our native Kichiwa tour guide take us around for a few days and show us all of the local floral and fauna (who knew a certain tree bark could taste like garlic?) One of our favorite experiences was just tubing down the river for a few days, seriously one of the cleanest rivers I have ever seen!

The cabins are clean, simple, and comfortable. Everyone working there are friendly and have a smile on their faces. There is no wifi or internet connection so you are really living off the grid. I am a pescatarian and Rodrigo made sure I had equally delicious food as everyone else (he is a master of soup broth!)

We have found new friends with Francisco and Silvia, thank you and we hope to come back to visit you soon!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank general888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I can't believe it's been already over 3/4 of a year that we had our adventure with you Silvia and Fransisco. Our time with you and with the Amazon has stayed firmly in our hearts for this long period and we expect it will be with us always. Your hospitality and grace in spite of our noisy group was greatly appreciated. The food prepared by your extraordinary chef and Cesar's wisdom of the forest are wonderful memories.

But there are 3 memories for me especially: the individual walk and time spent with Silvia as she explained the 'medicine cabinet' within the forest. She took time from her exceedingly busy schedule to do this because I had been ill during the scheduled walk through. How she made this time and showed me these wonders when she had so many things to do for the lodge, has remained a giant teaching moment for me of civility and respect. This was her overriding respect for the jungle and concern about what it has to teach all of us about the balance of nature. It was truly humbling to feel her sense of nurture and care for all of life and her care for my own life.

The second thing is the unbelievably beautiful canopy tree within the Lodge area itself! So many trees within that singularity - Amazing! I couldn't take enough pictures of it.

The next thing that was memorable was the chance for my husband and I to draw and paint there, making artwork from the river, the forest and our experience. We continued to work back in our studios at home from our sketches done on site. It has been a rich font of images. Thank you again and again for the choice you made to buy your island and to educate the rest of us as we come one by one and two by two to visit the glory of the fertile air of the AMAZON. I am hoping to come once again with friends this time. We sent you a few pictures we took as well as images that my husband's Jim made using collage, ink and watercolor (some were made on site there and some were made at home in our studio.

Our best to you and your staff..... From Jackie Kielkopf (speaking for the rest of our group of Kielkopfs for our visit last June)

Room Tip: Any of the rooms will be peaceful and clean. We loved our stay so much!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oilpaint k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tena
12.7 mi away
Cotococha Amazon Lodge
5.4 mi away
Suchipakari Amazon Rainforest Ecolodge
24.7 mi away
Huasquila Amazon Lodge
Huasquila Amazon Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cotundo
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Sinchi Warmi
Sinchi Warmi
#11 of 31 in Tena
31 reviews
4.5 mi away
Tres Rios Jungle Lodge
Tres Rios Jungle Lodge
#3 of 14 in Misahualli
6 reviews
18.3 mi away
Hotel Christian Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anaconda Lodge Ecuador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anaconda Lodge Ecuador

Address: Isla Anaconda s/n, Ahuano Amazonia | Rio Napo y Arajuno, Tena 150150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Napo Province > Tena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Tena
Price Range: £175 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Getting to Anaconda Lodge Ecuador is to discover the nature, jungle, the world that was born on a sea of fresh water. Today, we want to show and tell all the adventures of a region that refuses to be changed.Native peoples with their beliefs, myths, legends and knowledge. Rainforests still present in all its forms, rivers flowing from the Andes are headed to the Atlantic Ocean loaded with sediments and tannins that irrigate these clay soils.Share with us experiences by visiting these awesome places, native houses, primary rainforest, jungle in constant evolution, and in daily conversations, discover how it was born the "lungs of the world", who were the ancestral groups that inhabited these parts as the Western men is changing.We are on an island in the midst of the mighty Napo River and its beautiful tributaries, we are in the jungle, we are returning into the past with modern comforts, with a varied cuisine that combines perfectly the traditional local and international dishes, an excellent bar, tours with native guides and many other activities.In other words, a cultural tourism on behalf of ecology, native peoples and in close contact with nature.Welcome to your home in the Ecuadorian Amazon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Anaconda Lodge Ecuador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing