We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place in jungle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Huella Verde Rainforest Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Puyo B&B and Inns
Karlovy Vary, Karlovarsky Kraj, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place in jungle”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This very nice place in Ecuador jungle is not theatre for turists,but really life at nature with fauna and flora from amazonia area.We have had very nice boat trip with people from indian comunity on the river Bobonasa,we visited indian comunity on the side of this river,and we have seen true life in village.Chris and his indian friend Luchi took us to the green jungle and showed round to us mystery of rainforist.We thank to Dagmara for very clea accomodation and very good home eating.Our stay in Huella Verde was very nice experience from our trip at Ecuador and Galapagos.
Renata and Vaclav Novotny,Czech republic 11.april 2012

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renata N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
28
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regensdorf, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

The cabañas of Huella verde and their surrounding are one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen through all my travels.
From the little village “Canelos” you probably walk for 30 minutes through the rainforest, so you know, you’re going to sleep in the middle of nature. Although the cabañas seem to be in a different world, their quality is really good and clean and especially the bathrooms come with a nice touch of luxury.
The hosts Dagmar and Christof are really loving and carrying people and will welcome you no matter what language you speak as they are fluent in English, Spanish, French and German (Swiss German). The kitchen offers both a traditional Ecuadorian plate as well as some specialties from Europe!
You can make wonderful and interesting tours through the untouched rain forest or along the river with a “one tree boat” made by the natives. Tour guides from Puyo (English) or Canelos (Spanish) will take you on those tours and show and explain you things you never saw before.
If you have special wishes don’t hesitate to ask Dagmar or Christof. They will help you with everything they can!
I remember feeling sick one day and I didn’t want to go on the boat tour with my friends. But our tour guide cured my stomach ache circling an egg over my belly and afterwards I had a great day.
The next time I’ll visit Ecuador, I’ll make sure to visit that place that seems to be from another world again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at Huella Verde. From the moment the owner picked us up from the bus in Canelos, I knew we were somewhere special and about to have a truly unique and authentic taste of Ecuadorian jungle in the Amazon basin. Most of the other lodges we looked at had a touristy and "packaged" feel to them so we searched for the diamond in the rough. We found exactly that in Huella Verde. The owners are so wonderful, friendly and knowledgeable about the history of the surrounding area. We were welcomed with great conversation, amazing meals, fantastic rainforest walks and true peace and tranquility that can only be experienced at such a small and unique place. With only two cabanas and the main house, you really feel a sense of privacy. We loved learning everything about the area. Christophe, the owner, took us on a walk around the village to see women preparing for the holiday celebration and local pottery demonstrations. we were the only tourists in the entire town so we knew this was truly how the people lived each day. The cabanas, dining room and living areas are fairly new (I believe he said they finished building 2 years ago), spotless, and very very comfortable. It is clear that Christophe and his wife went for quality when they built their property. Yet they manage to make the rates extremely affordable and we loved that our meals and drinks were a la carte vs. "all inclusive buffets" like so many other lodges we looked at. The owners made us feel so relaxed and welcomed and I hope to go back and visit them and all of the beauty of Huella Verde again. It is a MAGICAL little oasis in the jungle. - Stephanie

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Huella Verde is an excellent place to relax, learn about the jungle, and watch nature. The owners are a wonderful couple who engaged us in conversation but left us to our own time as well. They cooked delicious meals for us which we ate in a fantastic wooden jungle dining room and then we could watch the rain or stars from their open air living room. We had a really great time here and recommend it to all. The cabins were beautifully constructed, private, and stylish.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimRedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puyo hotels
0.0 mi away
El Jardin Hotel Restaurante
0.0 mi away
Hosteria Flor de Canela
19.2 mi away
Hostal El Colibri
Hostal El Colibri
#3 of 18 in Puyo
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bellandia
Bellandia
#1 of 18 in Puyo
39 reviews
19.1 mi away
Hostal Las Palmas
Hostal Las Palmas
#2 of 8 in Puyo
43 reviews
19.2 mi away
Hotel San Patricio
Hotel San Patricio
#3 of 8 in Puyo
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huella Verde Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huella Verde Rainforest Lodge

Property: Huella Verde Rainforest Lodge
Address: Parroquia Canelos - Renacer Amazonico, Puyo 160150, Ecuador (Formerly Cabanas Huella Verde)
Region: Ecuador > Pastaza Province > Puyo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Puyo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Huella Verde Rainforest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A True Adventure in the Tropical Jungle --We invited you to enjoy an “uncommon “adventure in the Ecuadorian Amazon. Huella Verde (Green Footprint) is a hidden place where you can have an authentic jungle experience and explore the ecosystem at your own pace. Our cabañas have been carefully constructed out of local material along with our tropical gardens which are designed to blend in with the surroundings and the natural architecture of the jungle. Here you find equilibrium with nature which provides, not just a tourist attraction, but the preservation of the culture, flora and fauna. What may surprise you is that our cabañas have the comfort and coziness of many major hotels. But, unlike other locations, at Huella Verde your senses are awakened but what surrounds you in the Amazon. We can accommodate 8 people, with private baths. Our size allows us to offer exclusive and personalized service. Panoramic views of the surrounding forest, clean air, local and international meals prepared by a skilled chef with ingredients from local farms – this is the Huella Verde difference. A Place to disconnect from reality!We are located nearby de indigenous village of Canelos located 1 hour form the city of Puyo. You can get the public bus from the city of Puyo to Canelos - 1hour aprox. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Huella Verde Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing