We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great experience...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Huella Verde Rainforest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Huella Verde Rainforest Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Puyo B&B and Inns
Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A great experience...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights with Dagmar and Christof at the end of March. We were the only guests at the time. The trip from Puyo on the bus was straightforward and Christof was waiting for us when we arrived. Our departure was equally easy. The walk to the lodge is fine for able bodied individuals, but follow Christof's advice and pack light. We really appreciated the river for swimming, the local community, the "remoteness" of the lodge and the delicious meals. We enjoyed conversing with both Christof and Dagmar and we learned a lot about the rainforest and Canelos. They are wonderful hosts and their lodge is a gem.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PicaboCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
28
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed at Huella Verde for 2 nights and 3 days in January 2014, it was our most memorable 3 days in Ecuador. Dagmar and Christof were wonderful hosts and provided comfortable clean rooms with mosquito nets, hot water and hammocks for lounging in the evening. The food & coffee was excellent, prepared with care and attention, we cannot say enough good things about the chefs. We enjoyed Filet Mignon, Burritos, Ceviche, Basil Linguini, Apple Flan, Banana Fritters to name a few. We enjoyed the sights and sounds of the area and were thrilled to be in the Amazon for the first time. The insects, the fruits, the plants and their natural remedies, the sounds it was all so alluring. They arranged a guided tour of the area as well as a Cocoa tour both of which were educational and fun and provided the rain boots which were needed. The humidity was 95%, so you never really feel dry but this was a nice change to the Andes. We highly recommend that you stay at Huella Verde!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSCLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isla Taboga, Panama
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in our very comfortable little cabin in the jungle. The food was excellent and the tours were quite enjoyable. Cristof took us on a tour of the community of Canelos as well as the cacao tour. He also arranged a rain-forest tour with local guide Luiz, who is very knowledgeable and a joy to spend time with. We were a bit disappointed that we didn't see any wildlife to speak of, but the trek through primary forest was really nice. The suspension bridge is quite a challenge for anyone with a fear of heights, but hopefully the community will make repairs soon! Cristof and Dagmar were wonderful hosts and we enjoyed their company very much.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suscri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We spent three weeks travelling around Ecuador and our three day stay at Huella Verde was the highlight. We opted for Huella Verde over other rainforest lodges since it didn't involve an expensive flight or a set schedule of activities. Trip Advisor says it is located in Puyo but it's actually in the small indigenous village of Canelos, an hour or so to the east. Chrisoff and Dagmar make you feel very welcome from the moment you arrive. The Cabanas are idyllic and blend in with their surroundings. Very comfortable beds and great hammocks. There are add on trips that you can choose from, and your adventure is really at your own pace. The first day we really just relaxed on our hammocks and took in the rainforest. We also did a cocoa tour, where we learned how cocoa grows and how it is processed. The tour ended with an incredible cup of freshly ground cocoa! We also took a 3 hour walk through the rainforest with a local guide, Louis, who showed us the different medicinal uses of plants and trees. All of the $ for the tour went to the local community.

Everything we had at the restaurant was absolutely delicious with an amazing attention to every detail. Love it! Best food we had in Ecuador! (or any other place that comes to mind)

There is a reason this place gets great reviews! Absolutely amazing!

Make sure you ask Christoff about the swimming hole at the river; perfect place to cool off!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
415 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

First off - just want to apologize for the late review :)

Huella Verde feels like an adventure from the moment you arrive. Do not bring luggage you can't carry (or on your back) by hand because you will have to walk through some trails with your bag and over a suspended bridge.

You have your own private cabin, and they are pretty and rustic. There is also a large patio area with hammocks so you can lounge around. I ended up getting a lot of reading done because it rained so much.

Cristof and Dagmar are wonderful hosts. I was just starting to come down with a really nasty flu the day we arrived and it kept getting worse while we were there. They took good care of me while I was sick with lots of tea (some of it spiked, heh). Fortunately I was still able to go on the jungle walking tour, even with my energy level way down. Their usual guide, Luis, was away for the weekend, so we did the tour with Cristof and it was great.

We wanted to do a few more activities, but the rain did kind of get in the way a lot (we only stayed 3 days). I was sort of grateful for the rain because I didn't feel bad not going out and being active while I was sick. It ended up being pretty relaxing sitting on the balcony a lot and just watching the rain. Our cabin was the furthest from the main building, I suggest if you are staying there take footwear back and forth with you that has good grip on it. If some of the rocks are wet it can be pretty treacherous.

They are also amazing cooks. Easily the best food I had in Ecuador. I don' think you can really go wrong with anything there. Wifi in the main building also came as a surprise to me, it's not the fastest or most reliable, but it worked in a pinch and I was amazed it was available that far from town.

Sleep quality probably doesn't really get much better than this, although there was one really annoying bird (??) that liked to make a lot of noise at 2AM. The shower also has hot water, another thing that amazed me, though its not the strongest pressure. Cristof told us of some of his possible plans for the future of the lodge, so hopefully we will be back one day and see if any of them came to fruition :)

Thank you both for the wonderful stay and putting up with me while I was sick. I will recommend this lodge in the future.

Room Tip: Wear good shoes when visiting the main building. There is a path made from river rocks to each of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LazyRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

On my road trip from New York to Patagonia this has been the coolest place I stayed at, hands down. What Cristof and his wive have created in this part of the world is nothing short of amazing. Great attention to detail, from the rooms, food, surroundings, the way they manage the land and and provide employment opportunities for the locals. This is truly sustainable tourism with all the comfort one can possibly hope for - for a very reasonable price. You can pay a lot more and get deeper into the Amazon, but I doubt you will see more.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freddop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We staid in Huella Verde for 2 nights during our trip thru Ecuador and it was great experience.
We came from Banos to Puyo with the bus (1.5 hours) and then took bus from Puyo to Canelos - th end station of the bus. (the road ends there!) (another around 2 hours). Christof picked us up, 15 min drive to the river, then walk over the hanging bridge and another 20 minutes walk.
Christof did really good work on his longe, spacious rooms with big windows to the jungle makes you feel part of it.
During our trip the best meal we have eaten was right there, Christof is an excellent cook! Try chicken in the banana leaf and do not miss eggs for the breakfast! I quarantee you have never had such eggs (only the colour...!) :)
We refresh ourself in the river and did walk in to the jungle with Christof. For us it was the real jungle, Christof said there is a trail but i have not seen any ;) and it makes you feel really like lost in the jungle.
We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berusak03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puyo
0.0 mi away
Tapir Lodge
Tapir Lodge
#3 of 3 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Jardin Hotel Restaurante
0.0 mi away
Bellandia
Bellandia
#1 of 17 in Puyo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hosteria Lizanes
Hosteria Lizanes
#11 of 17 in Puyo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
19.1 mi away
Hostal Las Palmas
Hostal Las Palmas
#2 of 6 in Puyo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hosteria Don Elias
Hosteria Don Elias
#12 of 17 in Puyo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huella Verde Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huella Verde Rainforest Lodge

Property: Huella Verde Rainforest Lodge
Address: Parroquia Canelos - Renacer Amazonico, Puyo 160150, Ecuador (Formerly Cabanas Huella Verde)
Region: Ecuador > Pastaza Province > Puyo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Puyo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Huella Verde Rainforest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A True Adventure in the Tropical Jungle --We invited you to enjoy an “uncommon “adventure in the Ecuadorian Amazon. Huella Verde (Green Footprint) is a hidden place where you can have an authentic jungle experience and explore the ecosystem at your own pace. Our cabañas have been carefully constructed out of local material along with our tropical gardens which are designed to blend in with the surroundings and the natural architecture of the jungle. Here you find equilibrium with nature which provides, not just a tourist attraction, but the preservation of the culture, flora and fauna. What may surprise you is that our cabañas have the comfort and coziness of many major hotels. But, unlike other locations, at Huella Verde your senses are awakened but what surrounds you in the Amazon. We can accommodate 8 people, with private baths. Our size allows us to offer exclusive and personalized service. Panoramic views of the surrounding forest, clean air, local and international meals prepared by a skilled chef with ingredients from local farms – this is the Huella Verde difference. A Place to disconnect from reality!We are located nearby de indigenous village of Canelos located 1 hour form the city of Puyo. You can get the public bus from the city of Puyo to Canelos - 1hour aprox. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Huella Verde Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing