We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Different, interesting and a change in pace”
Review of Sacha Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sacha Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Different, interesting and a change in pace”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We were met by a rep in Quito airport. She was quite late in arriving and our tour guide was getting impatient waiting for her. When we arrived at the airport in Coca, Lucy was there waiting for us and making sure that our luggage was taken to the lodge and hailed a taxi to take us to their resting spot prior to leaving on a motorized canoe to the lodge. At the resting spot, you were given a bottle of ice cold water and a chocolate cookie. There were restroom facilities (nice and clean) which were used as we were told that there would not be any more until we reached the Sacha Lodge landing. The motorized trip was nice. It took around 2 hours to reach the landing. The breeze was welcome as it meant that you did not feel the humidity. Once you arrived at the landing you were directed to "los banos" as we still had a 30 minute hike to reach the canoes that would take us to the lodge. Our guide, Oscar pointed out several plants and animals along the way. We found out over the course of our stay that Oscar has co-written a book about the birds found in the Amazon and that the other guides deferred to him for identification of the various birds. His English was at first hard to understand and later as you got used to his accent became much easier to understand. The hike is along a board walk except for one muddy patch. Once we reached the dugout canoes, we were carefully helped in and then the guide and the naturalist paddled across the channel and lake to take us to the lodge. We arrived in time for lunch (late). The rules were explained to us and a welcoming drink was given to us. Very refreshing. After lunch we were taken to our cabins. We were in Number 4. We did not know what to expect, but were pleasantly surprised. We were not expecting to have a screen separating us from the bugs and animals while in the shower. The dry box was well used to keep our cameras in good working condition. While there we went on several hikes where we saw a multitude of birds (including mama, papa and baby owl, blue heron etc), several types of monkeys, frogs, toads and lots of bugs. Just as we were leaving most of our party saw an anaconda, which I did not see as I do not like snakes. The canopy walk was something else. I am glad I did it, but would not do it again.. We unfortunately had to come down from the tree house shortly after we arrived as a sudden thunder storm happened. We got soaked on our trip across the lake back to the resort. Meals definitely had a Swiss flavour. Some of the meals very very good and others were average. My words of advice are: eat hearty at breakfast so that you have enough energy to do the hikes, do not take a headlamp with you for the night hike. The bugs will be flying into your face steady and you finally give up and take it off just to stop the bugs from flying into your face. A pair of heavier socks make the boots more comfortable. Get to happy hour a bit earlier so that you can sit under one of the two fans at the bar. Makes you so much more comfortable. The only thing I really did not like was waking up to bugs being on the pillow. I know this is the jungle, but once a city slicker always a city slicker. Drink lots of water as you need to compensate for the humidity.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CndnGuider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    66
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
84
164
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

First you fly, then you spend one and a half hours in a motorised canoe, then you walk for fourty minutes,then another canoe paddles you the last ten minutes to the lodge.Everything you eat,drink, and need to sustain you makes the same journey and it takes 65 people to make this possible.Well all we can say is 'Thanks Guys' because without you and all that hard work this wonderful experince would not exist

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My daughter and I had a fabulous time - from our isolated cabin with huge picture windows staring into the rainforest (the shower had an amazing view), the hammocks on our deck, and the 4 meter anaconda shedding its skin just below the elevated walkway leading to the restaurant , to the daily excursions into the rainforest with both a naturalist guide and a native Quichua guide, the lodge experience couldn't have been better. The sounds of the jungle surrounded us at all times. Highlights were gliding in small canoes paddled by our guides along narrow streams of glassy black water in the flooded rainforest in early morning and at dusk, the 43 meter high canopy walk above the rainforest to see toucans and other birds, and climbing the 40 meter kapok tree to the viewing platform within the canopy. Unfortunately we couldn't swim in the lagoon as the caymans were mating but everything else exceeded expectations.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deverard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

5 nights was just right considering how much there is it see and do. Parrot lick on the other side of the river. Butterfly farm. Birding from both the old wooden tower and the 3 linked canopy towers. Numerous canoe paddles up various inlets. Night walks in search of insects and owls. Mammals too - sloth and various monkeys.
Talks in the medicinal qualities of plants. Very knowledgeable guides. Marcelo is an exceptional birdwatcher.
And all this 50km down river from the nearest sizeable town. What a location!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank _alison_barclay01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

A big thank you to all the staff and Sacha Lodge, who made our vacation in the Amazon so memorable. Our guides were excellent and very attentive - thank you to Daniel, our naturalist guide, and Walter, our local guide. Without them, we would have seen very little of the abundant wild life hidden in the forest - how they spy the flora and fauna is wondrous.
The staff take great care to ensure you will have a guide well versed in your language to maximize your experience.
Thanks also to the chefs for our tasty meals.
The trail system, water ways and canopy walk provide a comprehensive exposure to the delights of the jungle. All together a great trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Getting to Sacha Lodge is an adventure in itself. From start to finish, they took care of us. The rooms we very nice. The resort was everything we had hoped for and more. It had so much charm. The food was perfect. I was never hungry or unsatisfied with my meals. The staff was accommodating. If you asked for it they would do their best to make it happen. You wouldn't go here for a tun of privacy, as the way the rooms are designed, it wasn't very private. Private enough though because there really aren't many people here at one time. I would not consider this for children much under 10. I would think the travel and tours wouldn't be exiting enough. Great escape for a couple looking to do something different, see wildlife, explore, and really relax.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Windus22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Luxury in the Jungle! We had a 2-bedroom lodge with a shared living area and balconies with hammocks looking over the jungle. We were looked after well, but the best part has to be the trips into the jungle. We saw various monkeys, spiders, huge number of birds, Cayman, piranha (we swam in the same lake as we had earlier caught these!) and were extremely fortunate to see an Anaconda! Superb guides (one local and one from Quito) who went the extra mile to help us spot animals and one of them even provided his personal telescope for us. Our boys aged 13 and 15 thought it was superb. While it is somewhat of a lottery as to what wildlife you'll actually see (unfortunately no parrots for us), I would recommend this as a "must do" for anyone visiting Ecuador.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coca
20.9 mi away
Yarina Eco Lodge
Yarina Eco Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tapir Lodge
Tapir Lodge
#3 of 3 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
36.0 mi away
Gran Hotel De Lago El Coca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Sani Lodge
Sani Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
95.4 mi away
Cotococha Amazon Lodge
0.0 mi away
Yachana Lodge
Yachana Lodge
#1 of 55 in Napo Province
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sacha Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sacha Lodge

Property: Sacha Lodge
Address: Napo River, Coca, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Coca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Coca
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
-300 mts Long canopy walk.-45 mts wooden tower a round a kepok tree.-Buterfly Farm.-Visit to the yasuni parrot leak.-On the leake BBq dinning area.-Bird watching guides.-Bilingual guides English-French-German. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sacha Hotel Coca
Sacha Lodge Ecuador/Coca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing