We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Octagon Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Green Hills Lodge(Karatu)(Great Value!)
US$93
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crater Rim View(Karatu)(Great Value!)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Jambo Rooms(Karatu)(Great Value!)
US$30
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$115
Priceline
View Deal
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Highview Hotel(Karatu)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge(Lake Manyara National Park)
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
67
32
9
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
32
9
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsirish barexcellent nightstayed here for three nightsperfect ambiencengorongoro cratergreat foodrooms are largetwo nightsaccommodationlodgesafaritanzaniagroundsdanielboxesvegetarianmeals
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

The service was absolutely horrible and I would never come here again. They ruined two days of our stay in Tanzania, and managed to make us lose a day of safari and a day of hiking. After this all, they would not let us leave because they did not have a credit card machine and wanted 6 million shillings in CASH! Then they would not let us stay the night for free when they did not let us leave. There service was awful!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adavonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Octagon L, Manager at Octagon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

During your night stay at the lodge on 20 August 2013,Mr. Benjamin who confirmed that the service was excellent. Infact, the Manager went an extra mile and went to Karatu town at night to get Tammy shampoo and conditioner at his own cost. We did not charge you any extra fee for that. The bill was also submitted to you before you left for Serengeti and you promised you will pay after the safari.
Upon arrival at the lodge from Serengeti you said you wanted to pay by card, so we advised you to pay online using pesapal. So at first you paid $327 which was settled. You tried paying $2000 seven times which was declined meaning there was a problem with your card or your bank. Because of the timings we offered you accommodation on bed only basis as we wait for the transaction to be completed which you also declined, and said that you had to leave for Arusha, knowing very well your accommodation and safari payments were unsettled. We had no option and had to ask you to clear your bill by cash.


Regards,
Ken
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed here the night before our safari. Clean, quiet, comfortable rooms and beautiful gardens. Excellent restaurant with some of the best food we had in Tanzania - multiple course and great service from the sweet and friendly staff. You can stay at the Ngorongoro Lodge for three times the price, but the value here can't be beat. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are clean, quiet, and comfortable.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The octagon lodge was an amazing experince! The bigger rooms have fire places that, if asked to, the staff will light you a fire! The restaurant had a great buffet. The breakfast was big and filling (great for a long day of animal watching). The staff was very friendly. Their bar had alot of options and very recently updated. The bar also had a huge fireplace that the staff prepared which was great for relaxing. The shower had hot water for longer periods of time than other african lodges. The bed was big and comfortable. They had extra blankets for the rooms since it did not have heating and the nights do get cold. My husband and I were actually considering changing vacation plans and staying at the lodge more nights. The rooms are all surrounded by beautiful flowers and trelaces. The sound of monkies can be heard. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMFRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

The accommodation is flexible and comfortable. We stayed in a party of 2 adults and 10 children and the lodge accommodated us very well. The rooms were spacious, clean and lovely. The 5 course dinners were delicious and the lodge is well placed in Karatu for safaris to Ngorogoro, Tarangire and Manyara. Asante sana!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ImyFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Wasn't expecting to stay at this fabulous lodge. We were slated for another hotel but our safari guide took us here, stating this was better. We stayed two nights and couldn't have been more impressed. Beautiful lounge run by the owners. We were treated to a BBQ one night and had a meal I still talk about, the goat was amazing. I definitely recommend staying here if you are in the area. The lodging itself was very private and accommodating.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank DGS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews