We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pity about the insect infestation” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bashay Rift Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Karatu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bashay Rift Lodge
Ranked #10 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Karatu
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pity about the insect infestation”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

Magnificently sited, fabulous accommodation BUT no screens on the windows to protect against an insect infestation, hence the only safe place was actually on the bed. Giving us a can of Doom, was not really the answer to this widespread problem- we could not use any facilitiies and I would rather not think about the kitchen preparation area! This was a deeply unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    42
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
55
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kapellen, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Rooms were large, with a fantastic view over the plain and onto the mountains of Ngorogoro. Dinner and picknick lunches were very good, but breakfast is very basic. Hotel staff was friendly, but waiters in the restaurant don't speak English very well and were unfriendly.
Pool is small but well kept and shielded from wind.

Room Tip: Ask for the cabin furthest from the main hotel: a very short walk but a spectacular view from the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bvnunen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stopped here for one night on our way from the Serengeti to Tarangire. We had planned a fairly quiet day in our otherwise full schedule, arriving in the afternoon to give ourselves some free time and the chance to rest up and catch our breath. Bashay Rift Lodge proved the perfect place to do that. It would have been a shame not to have been able to enjoy the pool area with its wonderful views: indeed the lodge is beautifully laid out with stunning views from various balconies and terraces and the gardens, when a little more mature, will be delightful.

This was the only accommodation on our holiday to offer a four course evening meal, and it was delicious. The public rooms are light and well decorated and there's a good small shop with a nice selection of books, T-shirts etc. (Though, sadly they didn't have my size).
Our bedrooms and bathrooms were clean and simple, though nowhere near as stylish or well fitted as the public rooms. And the views from our balconies were very mixed. Two were stunning, the third was almost overgrown by the nearby bushes. Never mind, the pool area was more than adequate.

We had the feeling that the young staff who were on duty during our stay were still somewhat under-trained and lacking in confidence. They seemed nervous and loathe to deal with our queries, preferring to refer to the manager, who was excellent, very friendly and helpful.
The lodge would make a lovely place to rest up or recover at the beginning or end of a safari and, as we were delighted with the way the proprietors, MKSC (Mount Kilimanjaro Safari Club) ran the rest of our holiday, I'm sure it will go from strength to strength.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Orange, NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We spent our last night on a safari in Northern Tanzania in Bashay Rift Lodge - a brand new lodge built on a hill above Karatu, in the foothills of Ngoro Ngoro. The place is owned and operated by Tanganyika Expeditions, a highly regarded French company operating safaris, Kili climbs and hunting safaris in Tanzania.

The lodge is beautifully designed and furnished with fantastic views over the valley. Service is world class and the food extraordinary. Special commendation goes to the baker who produced the most authentic, buttery, flaky, crispy and delicious croissants in the morning.

We were in a separate cottage with a full private bath and a terrace. The place is breezy and cool at night (we needed a light sweater). They say that in August they do light fire in the the fireplaces. There is also a lovely swimming pool. At the time of our visit the spa was still in construction (the place is two years old) but once complete will offer a great experience. It will be on top of the water tank and is like a tower above the gardens.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HikerWestOrange_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

This was our second accommodation of a safari organized by Tanganyka Expedition (we also stayed at Mawe Ninga Camp, Olduvai Camp and Ronjo Camp).
The place is really stunning and remote: we enjoyed a breathtaking view of Ngorongoro Crater and the Rift Valley from the beautiful swimming pool. We had a fantastic dinner (the best among the 4 camps). Bashay is a really different accommodation from the other camps: it is more like a luxury lodge; we slept in a cottage, with 2 spacious bedrooms and a terrace with an amazing view!
The staff was so friendly that we felt immediately at home.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Illy1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

stayed two nights. rooms pleasant. restaurant pleasant. art work in the resort adds a nice touch. there is a swimming pool. this hilltop can be windy at times, so it will be cooler than the surrounding area, which may be a refreshing change.

Watch out for the red brick walkway when a damp fog comes in. It can get slippery. Several of us had trouble walking on it. I almost slipped twice and got off and walked on the grass. Moments later a friend slipped and took a bad fall, skinning her knee and bruising her back. At the end of our trip, she had donated her tennis shoes to an orphanage. Her remaining shoes had very little tread on the bottoms.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindaruthe2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

We stayed here for our second night on our 6 night safari, and after our first night we needed some sleep. And we got some! 10 hours of peaceful sleep. We arrived not expecting much after our first night, but we were seriously surprised. This place is beautiful. The views are fantastic and the rooms wouldn't look out of place in a swanky inner london apartment. The food was home grown and the coffee too, and it was the best coffee and food we had all holiday.

We were met with a glass of freshly squeezed mango juice and then given a tour of the premises. The owner was very nice.

If you want the true Africa experience this probably isn't it, and maybe stay in tents (Which we did for the other 5 nights), but for a one off experience, or if you like luxury, then this is the place for you.

Fantastic!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank D-Man_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karatu
6.3 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 47 in Karatu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
13.4 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
5.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
3.3 mi away
Acacia Farm Lodge
Acacia Farm Lodge
#4 of 47 in Karatu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bashay Rift Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bashay Rift Lodge

Property: Bashay Rift Lodge
Address: Karatu area | south of the Ngorongoro Crater, Karatu, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Karatu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Karatu
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Bashay Rift Lodge Tanzania/Karatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing