We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel with gorgeous countryside views and modern conveniences”
Review of Bashay Rift Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Karatu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bashay Rift Lodge
Ranked #12 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Karatu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

We elected to stay at a boutique hotel just 30 min outside the Ngorogoro crater entrance. We were high on a hilltop overlooking the Masai villages below. Once we arrived we found luxurious private villas with private terraces. Ours had a small cluster of bright yellow weaver birds outside that we could observe without our binoculars. The rain shower felt decadent and the bathrooms were big enough that I was able to do Pilates in them with a shades open to the view in the morning without disturbing my husband. The clubhouse/bar area felt like like a old-world country club with rich leather couches and tasteful decor. My favorite was the infinity pool overlooking the vast green countryside below. Our only issue was with the bees...much of the food including the honey is grown organically on the premises. The bees liked our first villa and we couldn't persuade them to leave. They simply moved us to the bigger one next door.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happamomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for Bashay Rift Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2013

Fantastic location (when you find it, it is not marked on Tracks4Africa) the rooms, especially the bathrooms are amazing, floor to ceiling windows overlooking some stunning scenery. The staff are really nice, the gardens and swimming pool great shame about the food. We had high hopes when we sat down to dinner and were very disappointed, bland taste and tough meat.

No one asked us when we checked in if we were vegetarians (fortunately we are not) and there was no choice so I don't know what would have happened if you said you didn't like what was given to you. It is a great shame as everything else was so good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShropshireOldfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The drive up to this hotel is pretty torturous as it's perched on top of a hill and the 'road' is a rutted track. But once there the views are stunning. The hotel is spacious, modern and well designed and the individual lodges have huge picture windows overlooking the countryside, mountains & sunset. The birds are very interesting -there are quite a variety in the grounds. We didn't have a problem with insects and there was mesh on the windows so that we could have fresh air without opening the windows. There is a pool with sunbeds and towels -this would be an oasis in the middle of travelling to stop off for a day to recharge your 'batteries'. Our lodge had a kingsize bed, small table & chairs, plus a very large bathroom with walk-in shower, selection of toiletries and fluffy towels. Dinner (with pre-dinner delicious nibbles) was served a little late for us at 8pm but was delicious. The dining room was very elegant with nice cloths & napkins and attentive, friendly staff. We had a tasty zucchini soup with freshly baked bread roll, there was a choice of salads and a veggy curry or a selection of chops or chicken from the BBQ. All the veg were home grown and delicious. The selection of desserts was excellent -fresh fruit, pastries, cakes etc. We had a great night's sleep -so peaceful Breakfast was agin delicious with lots of fresh fruit, cereals, eggs of choice, toast etc.
All in all, Alan manages a brilliant hotel -thank you.

Room Tip: Would think that all rooms are similar.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hazel-paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Magnificently sited, fabulous accommodation BUT no screens on the windows to protect against an insect infestation, hence the only safe place was actually on the bed. Giving us a can of Doom, was not really the answer to this widespread problem- we could not use any facilitiies and I would rather not think about the kitchen preparation area! This was a deeply unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Gill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Rooms were large, with a fantastic view over the plain and onto the mountains of Ngorogoro. Dinner and picknick lunches were very good, but breakfast is very basic. Hotel staff was friendly, but waiters in the restaurant don't speak English very well and were unfriendly.
Pool is small but well kept and shielded from wind.

Room Tip: Ask for the cabin furthest from the main hotel: a very short walk but a spectacular view from the ba...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bvnunen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stopped here for one night on our way from the Serengeti to Tarangire. We had planned a fairly quiet day in our otherwise full schedule, arriving in the afternoon to give ourselves some free time and the chance to rest up and catch our breath. Bashay Rift Lodge proved the perfect place to do that. It would have been a shame not to have been able to enjoy the pool area with its wonderful views: indeed the lodge is beautifully laid out with stunning views from various balconies and terraces and the gardens, when a little more mature, will be delightful.

This was the only accommodation on our holiday to offer a four course evening meal, and it was delicious. The public rooms are light and well decorated and there's a good small shop with a nice selection of books, T-shirts etc. (Though, sadly they didn't have my size).
Our bedrooms and bathrooms were clean and simple, though nowhere near as stylish or well fitted as the public rooms. And the views from our balconies were very mixed. Two were stunning, the third was almost overgrown by the nearby bushes. Never mind, the pool area was more than adequate.

We had the feeling that the young staff who were on duty during our stay were still somewhat under-trained and lacking in confidence. They seemed nervous and loathe to deal with our queries, preferring to refer to the manager, who was excellent, very friendly and helpful.
The lodge would make a lovely place to rest up or recover at the beginning or end of a safari and, as we were delighted with the way the proprietors, MKSC (Mount Kilimanjaro Safari Club) ran the rest of our holiday, I'm sure it will go from strength to strength.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We spent our last night on a safari in Northern Tanzania in Bashay Rift Lodge - a brand new lodge built on a hill above Karatu, in the foothills of Ngoro Ngoro. The place is owned and operated by Tanganyika Expeditions, a highly regarded French company operating safaris, Kili climbs and hunting safaris in Tanzania.

The lodge is beautifully designed and furnished with fantastic views over the valley. Service is world class and the food extraordinary. Special commendation goes to the baker who produced the most authentic, buttery, flaky, crispy and delicious croissants in the morning.

We were in a separate cottage with a full private bath and a terrace. The place is breezy and cool at night (we needed a light sweater). They say that in August they do light fire in the the fireplaces. There is also a lovely swimming pool. At the time of our visit the spa was still in construction (the place is two years old) but once complete will offer a great experience. It will be on top of the water tank and is like a tower above the gardens.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HikerWestOrange_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karatu
16.1 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#8 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,599 reviews
3.3 mi away
Acacia Farm Lodge
Acacia Farm Lodge
#4 of 51 in Karatu
182 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodge
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodg...
#11 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
423 reviews
6.3 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 51 in Karatu
663 reviews
13.8 mi away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#2 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bashay Rift Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bashay Rift Lodge

Address: Karatu area | south of the Ngorongoro Crater, Karatu, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Karatu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Karatu
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Bashay Rift Lodge Tanzania/Karatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing