We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish property” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bashay Rift Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Karatu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bashay Rift Lodge
Ranked #10 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Karatu
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Stylish property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Very nice hotel with great views

The pool is really nice - although my husband got bitten by Mosquitos really badly whilst we were by the pool so be careful if you are prone to bites. View from the pool area is great also.

If you follow the signs to Kilimanjaro safari club you will get to Bashay Lodge.

The food needs to be more inspiring - in general all lodges and camps we stayed in during our trip were run by KSC and they need to be more daring with their food selections in general.

The crater entrance is about a 25min drive from the lodge. The manager at the lodge was really helpful also.

Overall a nice option with great views and only a short drive to the crater entrance.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn3777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    42
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
55
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

We elected to stay at a boutique hotel just 30 min outside the Ngorogoro crater entrance. We were high on a hilltop overlooking the Masai villages below. Once we arrived we found luxurious private villas with private terraces. Ours had a small cluster of bright yellow weaver birds outside that we could observe without our binoculars. The rain shower felt decadent and the bathrooms were big enough that I was able to do Pilates in them with a shades open to the view in the morning without disturbing my husband. The clubhouse/bar area felt like like a old-world country club with rich leather couches and tasteful decor. My favorite was the infinity pool overlooking the vast green countryside below. Our only issue was with the bees...much of the food including the honey is grown organically on the premises. The bees liked our first villa and we couldn't persuade them to leave. They simply moved us to the bigger one next door.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happamomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
150 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

Fantastic location (when you find it, it is not marked on Tracks4Africa) the rooms, especially the bathrooms are amazing, floor to ceiling windows overlooking some stunning scenery. The staff are really nice, the gardens and swimming pool great shame about the food. We had high hopes when we sat down to dinner and were very disappointed, bland taste and tough meat.

No one asked us when we checked in if we were vegetarians (fortunately we are not) and there was no choice so I don't know what would have happened if you said you didn't like what was given to you. It is a great shame as everything else was so good.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShropshireOldfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

The drive up to this hotel is pretty torturous as it's perched on top of a hill and the 'road' is a rutted track. But once there the views are stunning. The hotel is spacious, modern and well designed and the individual lodges have huge picture windows overlooking the countryside, mountains & sunset. The birds are very interesting -there are quite a variety in the grounds. We didn't have a problem with insects and there was mesh on the windows so that we could have fresh air without opening the windows. There is a pool with sunbeds and towels -this would be an oasis in the middle of travelling to stop off for a day to recharge your 'batteries'. Our lodge had a kingsize bed, small table & chairs, plus a very large bathroom with walk-in shower, selection of toiletries and fluffy towels. Dinner (with pre-dinner delicious nibbles) was served a little late for us at 8pm but was delicious. The dining room was very elegant with nice cloths & napkins and attentive, friendly staff. We had a tasty zucchini soup with freshly baked bread roll, there was a choice of salads and a veggy curry or a selection of chops or chicken from the BBQ. All the veg were home grown and delicious. The selection of desserts was excellent -fresh fruit, pastries, cakes etc. We had a great night's sleep -so peaceful Breakfast was agin delicious with lots of fresh fruit, cereals, eggs of choice, toast etc.
All in all, Alan manages a brilliant hotel -thank you.

Room Tip: Would think that all rooms are similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazel-paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

Magnificently sited, fabulous accommodation BUT no screens on the windows to protect against an insect infestation, hence the only safe place was actually on the bed. Giving us a can of Doom, was not really the answer to this widespread problem- we could not use any facilitiies and I would rather not think about the kitchen preparation area! This was a deeply unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapellen, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Rooms were large, with a fantastic view over the plain and onto the mountains of Ngorogoro. Dinner and picknick lunches were very good, but breakfast is very basic. Hotel staff was friendly, but waiters in the restaurant don't speak English very well and were unfriendly.
Pool is small but well kept and shielded from wind.

Room Tip: Ask for the cabin furthest from the main hotel: a very short walk but a spectacular view from the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bvnunen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stopped here for one night on our way from the Serengeti to Tarangire. We had planned a fairly quiet day in our otherwise full schedule, arriving in the afternoon to give ourselves some free time and the chance to rest up and catch our breath. Bashay Rift Lodge proved the perfect place to do that. It would have been a shame not to have been able to enjoy the pool area with its wonderful views: indeed the lodge is beautifully laid out with stunning views from various balconies and terraces and the gardens, when a little more mature, will be delightful.

This was the only accommodation on our holiday to offer a four course evening meal, and it was delicious. The public rooms are light and well decorated and there's a good small shop with a nice selection of books, T-shirts etc. (Though, sadly they didn't have my size).
Our bedrooms and bathrooms were clean and simple, though nowhere near as stylish or well fitted as the public rooms. And the views from our balconies were very mixed. Two were stunning, the third was almost overgrown by the nearby bushes. Never mind, the pool area was more than adequate.

We had the feeling that the young staff who were on duty during our stay were still somewhat under-trained and lacking in confidence. They seemed nervous and loathe to deal with our queries, preferring to refer to the manager, who was excellent, very friendly and helpful.
The lodge would make a lovely place to rest up or recover at the beginning or end of a safari and, as we were delighted with the way the proprietors, MKSC (Mount Kilimanjaro Safari Club) ran the rest of our holiday, I'm sure it will go from strength to strength.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karatu
6.3 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 47 in Karatu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
13.4 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
5.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
3.3 mi away
Acacia Farm Lodge
Acacia Farm Lodge
#4 of 47 in Karatu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bashay Rift Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bashay Rift Lodge

Property: Bashay Rift Lodge
Address: Karatu area | south of the Ngorongoro Crater, Karatu, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Karatu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Karatu
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Bashay Rift Lodge Tanzania/Karatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing