We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable - local without hugely sacrificing five star amenities”
Review of Bashay Rift Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Karatu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bashay Rift Lodge
Ranked #11 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Karatu
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Enjoyable - local without hugely sacrificing five star amenities”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We are staying here now and having read previous reviews I wanted to take the time to give a positive score because the hotel and staff certainly deserve it. The grounds are lovely (hope to post photos at a later date when they can be uploaded). The pool is beautiful, the views are lovely and the service is friendly and attentive without being obtrusive. We are in room/cottage 2, which has a perfect view, the room is a well appointed.

Our only slight notes (and they are slight and don't warrant a demotion to a four star rating by any means) is that the bed is very hard and either we don't know how to work the AC or there isn't any but the breezes are fine and there are doors and windows everywhere.

The staff is approachable, friendly and seems to take an interest in providing good service. The care that went into our drinks and asking thoughtful questions when we chat are really appreciated. It seems like they have a genuine interest in the guests and that goes a long way to making a hotel memorable.

As an aside we have booked our safari through ATR who I think either owns or manages this hotel. Our guide (esyiah), travel agent (Jay) and car from ATR are excellent. We were torn between ATR and another well known holiday agent. Having seen the other at the same park today, I think ATR offers an equal or better product. ATRs service has been fantastic. Highly recommend using them and staying at this hotel if looking for a spot near the Crater and not wanting to super splurge for the very impressive looking &Beyond property).

Overall great local five star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackswim11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    45
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
57
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, NM
Level 6 Contributor
441 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

As the six of us drove up the long driveway to the lodge after a wonderful full day spent in the crater, we were excited to be staying in a place other than a tent camp; up to this point, we had been in 4 different camps in both Kenya and Tanzania. We were greeted warmly by the manager, Alan, and his staff, and we were impressed with the beautiful gardens and main building; it's very nicely appointed and has great views from the terrace where we had a drink and relaxed a bit. We were shown to our room, no. 8, which was really one of a two room unit that appeared to be for a family. It was nice enough with pretty views of the valley and a terrace outside of the common area between our room and no. 9 where no one was staying. There appeared to be only one other couple and a single man staying at the lodge, so one would think the service would be great.......wrong, it was marginal at best. I guess everywhere we had been prior to coming to Bashay, we had had wonderful service and found the staff members to be extremely friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, this was not the case at Bashay. In all fairness, it may have been a result of a language barrier because most of the staff did not speak or seem to understand English.......however, their attitude was also a factor, and I'm sorry to say it wasn't all that good. Not many smiles for us visitors.......too bad because the lodge is very pretty and a great respite in between camps; however, I wouldn't recommend it nor would I return for another stay. It really was a disappointment, the only one during our two week stay in Tanzania. On a more positive note, I should add that one young man who was behind the table where we packed our lunches was delightful and very warm; he was the one exception. When Alan was around, he was also accommodating, but the problem was he wasn't around much or else he kept a very low profile during our stay. No complaints about the food; dinner was really delicious and the choices for our packed lunches were very tasty. Hopefully, things will improve service wise as this lodge could be really great!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BKandCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

The beauty if Bashay is hard to describe. The gardens are incredibly well kept. You will want to take pictures by the garden as you stroll through the place of living in the place of the rich and famous.

The rooms (almost a house) is beautifully laid out and spacious. The room furnishings are well appointed. The common room for the four rooms is a fantastic meeting place with fellow travellers.

Don't forget to enjoy the pool with the borderless wall. You will definitely enjoy the sunset as you overlook the escarpment with a refreshing drink.

The dinner and breakfast are ...well .... Excellent. Service and quality of the food are excellent. The staff are polite and patient and look to accommodate you. I would definitely return to this lodge.

This is a brand lodge opening just three years ago.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This new lodge serves mainly french clients (we were the only non-french during our 1 night stay)
It's really conveniently located after Karatu village, short ride from Ngorongoro park entrance.
The welcome was really nice, with some glasses of juice and ice tea, wet towel and room key waiting for us.
The little disappointment came right after, learning that we will not have the view on the valley and crater, that we have got the furthest possible room (with part of paved road still missing or forgotten), in the room with no terrace ad no balcony.... (if I remember well, it was room 19)
Room was pretty spacious, modern, clean, though missing local touch if I don't consider mosquito nets :-))
Disappointment continued, staff was literally disappearing when we tried to ask for option to change the room.

we calmed down little a bit by sunset, enjoying pretty refreshing swimming pool with beautiful view. (although service staff seemed to disappear from the pool area as well, as we had difficulties to get towels)

Next unpleasant point came with dinner, we came first, only two of us, we were seated next to the entrance / toilets, and they refused to give us any other table (being the only non-french???)

Dinner was 4 course menu, trying to pretend to be "gourmand", Unfortunately it was just a TRY. Fatty pork and tons of tartar sauce was definitely not a highlight of our stay in Tanzania.

Breakfast was good, lunch box under average compared to the other lodges.
Last point, they claimed to have Internet connection in the lobby, that was true, there was a internet connection, but i didn't succeed to get or send one single email.

to finish on little a bit positive note, lodge is really nice, modern, well situated, but what makes it not good option is definitely very poor service, and dining which is average at best compared to other similarly priced lodges.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms at at entrance (eg 19), no view, no terace, quite far & without paved road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tequila007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Very nice hotel with great views

The pool is really nice - although my husband got bitten by Mosquitos really badly whilst we were by the pool so be careful if you are prone to bites. View from the pool area is great also.

If you follow the signs to Kilimanjaro safari club you will get to Bashay Lodge.

The food needs to be more inspiring - in general all lodges and camps we stayed in during our trip were run by KSC and they need to be more daring with their food selections in general.

The crater entrance is about a 25min drive from the lodge. The manager at the lodge was really helpful also.

Overall a nice option with great views and only a short drive to the crater entrance.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn3777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

We elected to stay at a boutique hotel just 30 min outside the Ngorogoro crater entrance. We were high on a hilltop overlooking the Masai villages below. Once we arrived we found luxurious private villas with private terraces. Ours had a small cluster of bright yellow weaver birds outside that we could observe without our binoculars. The rain shower felt decadent and the bathrooms were big enough that I was able to do Pilates in them with a shades open to the view in the morning without disturbing my husband. The clubhouse/bar area felt like like a old-world country club with rich leather couches and tasteful decor. My favorite was the infinity pool overlooking the vast green countryside below. Our only issue was with the bees...much of the food including the honey is grown organically on the premises. The bees liked our first villa and we couldn't persuade them to leave. They simply moved us to the bigger one next door.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happamomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Fantastic location (when you find it, it is not marked on Tracks4Africa) the rooms, especially the bathrooms are amazing, floor to ceiling windows overlooking some stunning scenery. The staff are really nice, the gardens and swimming pool great shame about the food. We had high hopes when we sat down to dinner and were very disappointed, bland taste and tough meat.

No one asked us when we checked in if we were vegetarians (fortunately we are not) and there was no choice so I don't know what would have happened if you said you didn't like what was given to you. It is a great shame as everything else was so good.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShropshireOldfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karatu
6.3 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 50 in Karatu
648 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Retreat at Ngorongoro
3.3 mi away
Acacia Farm Lodge
Acacia Farm Lodge
#5 of 50 in Karatu
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,564 reviews
7.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Forest Tented Lodge
Ngorongoro Forest Tented Lodge
#20 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
83 reviews
5.9 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bashay Rift Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bashay Rift Lodge

Property: Bashay Rift Lodge
Address: Karatu area | south of the Ngorongoro Crater, Karatu, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Karatu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Karatu
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Bashay Rift Lodge Tanzania/Karatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing