We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our second visit. A Perfect Relaxation & A Good Return for What You Pay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grund Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grund Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Trutnov
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Our second visit. A Perfect Relaxation & A Good Return for What You Pay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel twice: in April 2010 for Ski, and in July 2012, with our kids (a baby and a toddler) for relaxation.

Location and Atmosphere: the hotel is situated on a sole hill up from Mlade Buky. It is surrounded by lawns and a great view of the giant mountains. The atmosphere is quiet and pastoral and is just perfect for relaxation.

Kids: the hotel by its nature is more suitable for adults, nevertheless it is kid-friendly. It has two outdoor playgrounds, including a trampoline, a play corner at the dining room and two electric bikes that the kids can use in the premises for free (the kids loved it!). In addition, the restaurant offers kid menu with 6 different dishes. At the room we were provided with babycots, a changing table (!) and a potty. It all waited for us ready to use when we arrived. At the pool they provide water wings. Also, when we arrived to the hotel they gave a little wooden toy as a welcome present for the kids.The hotel is non-smoking in general, but smoking is allowed at the restaurants’ terrace.

Restaurant and Food: Mlade Buky doesn’t have much to offer on that aspect, so you will most likely find yourself eating mainly at the hotel’s restaurant. The restaurant offers international menu as well as Czech traditional dishes. It’s really, you get what you pay for. If you’re looking from a Czech perspective it is an expensive restaurant, but then the food in my view is better than the standard. If you’re looking from an international perspective the food is fair and is priced fairly. On our first day we took full board, but changed to a-la-carte the next day. The variety and the quality of the food was lower than what is offered at the restaurant and the waiters doesn’t seem to like this arrangement. At lunch we waited almost 30 minutes for dessert just to get a pastry that was served earlier on the breakfast buffet. Also, at dinner, although we were on full board, we were charged for couvert, even for our son who’s less than 2 years.

Room: In April 2010 we stayed at a standard double room, which was small, but enough for a couple. In July 2012 we took the luxurious apartment as we needed more space for all four of us. If you’re traveling with older kids I would suggest to take two connected rooms rather than the apartment, as the apartment is built as one open space, including the bathroom, which is only separated by a sheer glass. We were amazed to find out that the luxurious apartment that we were given does not have air-conditioner. Luckily a day after we came the other luxurious apartment became available and we moved in. If you’re coming in the summer, pay attention to that.

Service: after two years at the Czech Republic, my expectation for service are moderated. In that light, I can say that the service for the most part is fair. The staff is very nice and friendly, with the waiters it is changing. On our first night we had a waiter that was simply rude. Luckily he only worked that evening. On our check out I told the receptionist about him and she seemed attentive. Apparently he is new, so they probably didn’t have a chance to get to know him yet. Other embarrassing moment we had was when we found a used underwear in one of our room drawers. We told about it to the receptionist, who promised to send someone to take it, but did not.

To summarize, if you come with the right expectation you’ll have a great vacation. It’s a good hotel, but it doesn’t meet the standards you may be used to from similar golf resorts in other places around the world. Having said that, for exactly the same hotel you’ll pay twice or triple in the US. We enjoyed it twice and will probably come again.

Room Tip: If you come over summer, make sure that your room is air conditioned. A family with kids (older than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    20
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
34
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London/Worcs
Level Contributor
493 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed for several nights and, whilst on the whole we again really enjoyed our stay, it was badly let down by breakfast on the final morning. Previous mornings there was a lovely selection of items which were replenished and hot food was either available or could be cooked to order. On the final day there was one solitary tea pot and the 'hot' water in the flask was at best luke warm. When I requested hot water the waiter said the reason my tea was cold was the fact that I had added cold milk.... The orange juice was not replenished, there was no cheese only a few tired slices of ham. A request for tomatoe, cucumber peppers, fruit (all plentiful previously) was met with disdain and a total lack of enthusiasm. We were not offered any hot options e.g. omlette, scrambled egg or sausages (which again previously had been plentiful). The waiter then cleared a table and rather than take a cloth simply wiped the crumbs off the table with his hands onto the floor. It was a pity to end an otherwise good stay on this note. The waiter that morning certainly did not meet the standards of the other staff whom we met during our stay and we left the Dining Room feeling we had been an inconvenience to him with our presence. Hence why this stay is not rated excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraLonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I spent here 3 nights with my husband. Main purpose of our stay was golf and we enjoyed 100%. Not only golf course was great. Food in restaurant is not cheap but you will love it. Wellness center is new, modern and peaceful. I can recommend massages as well. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lumatka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

From the first time you arrive you can tell this is a hassle free zone! I don't play Golf but could have a go ! They even have simulators inside which are great fun!!
The Spa facilities are fantastic and my wife enjoyed all the various treatments.

The food in the Restaurant is some of the best I have experienced in the Czech Republic with great Bouillabasse and Suckling pig for example . The service too was excellent as was the ambiance and decor throughout the Hotel!

The quality of the rooms was fantastic really ..beds great for a good night,s sleep...there is also free wifi if you are in the body of the main Hotel. The resort also offers "hobbit " style apartments in the grounds which are quite different and which we will try next time we are here!

The Resort is also good for Skiers and for walkers being right by the Krkonose ( Giant) mountains.

Cannot recommend this highly enough ...oh and it both child and pet friendly!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank VinnyHar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Do not miss the possibility to stay there when skiing in Krkonose. 10 minutes drive from the best slopes in Czech Republic, Cerna Hora. The hotel staff is very friendly and do their best to help you. After extensive ski day, you can relax complimentary in whirlpool or take a sauna with friends and relax next to the pool. Breakfast is good, but the dinner - wow. Great value for money. Before the check-out, book a massage or pamper yourself with other hotel treatment. Reservation in advance recommended. It was our second visit and we were not disappointed.
Superb, well done and see you next time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MasekPetr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stay there just for one night after our stay in Spindleruv Mlyn.
And I have to say that the hotel exceeded all our expectations.
Wonderful location - you would not believe, that you are in Mlade Buky! It is on the top of the city, with a fantastic view on the SKI area and on fabulous mountains.
There are also golf courts next to the hotel, but we were impressed by the hotel SPA. It is a little SPA, but with bigger whirlpool. For us superb relaxing place after skiing.
All hotel facilities were also fantastic, the hotel staff were also very nice a they have satisfied all our wishes.
Rooms were also very nice, not so big and the standard deluxe rooms were just only with shower. I have seen the suite and it could be called as a presidential suite. Fine Italian style of room, big bathroom with a own jacuzzi bath.
All services and I facilities made us satisfied, I could only recommend this resort. Golf stays, relaxing stays, team building, winter holidays, I thing all that is possible there.
I have enjoyed a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: There are 2 suites, you would not make a mistake if you pay more and stay in the suite. Fantastic ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

We took advantage of a promotion for a weekend getaway to the Grund Resort. We drove from Prague on Friday afternoon and stayed through Sunday. The rooms are not large but they are modern and clean. We had a nice view over the golf course.

Massages and use of the wellness center were included in the package and we took advantage of both. (A round of golf was also included but neither of us golf.) The masseur was courteous and professional. The wellness center is not large but it is new, clean and met our needs. There were a few other couples around the pool so we took turns using the sauna.

The food at Grund was a bit of a mixed bag. A dinner was included in the package so we had an excellent dinner on Friday night. We both impressed with the range of choices and quality of the food. Dinner led to high expectations for breakfast the next morning that were not met. The choice was limited and the buffet was not refreshed quickly during the morning. I had the sense that a few corners were being cut, like watering down the orange juice.

Overall though, it was a very nice weekend and I would recommend the Grund Resort as a good base for explore Krkonose further. We went into Trutnov on Friday, hiked around Kuks Hospital on Saturday and took the lift up to Cerna hora on Sunday.

Room Tip: The apartments provide much more space for families but the standard rooms are adequate for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p2t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trutnov
3.3 mi away
Hotel Davidek
Hotel Davidek
#1 of 5 in Trutnov
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#1 of 37 in Spindleruv Mlyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Horizont
Hotel Horizont
#1 of 10 in Pec pod Snezkou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Hotel Bedriska Wellness Resort & Spa
Hotel Bedriska Wellness Resort &...
#4 of 37 in Spindleruv Mlyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
4.6 mi away
Grand Luxury Hotel
Grand Luxury Hotel
#3 of 5 in Trutnov
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
13.8 mi away
Resort Sv. Frantisek - Erlebachova a Josefova bouda
Resort Sv. Frantisek - Erlebacho...
#2 of 37 in Spindleruv Mlyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grund Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grund Resort

Property: Grund Resort
Address: Mlade Buky 44, Trutnov 542 23, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Hradec Kralove Region > Trutnov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Trutnov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grund Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star hotel has been built with respect for the environment. For our guests it provides pleasant, high quality facilities and total comfort. At the same time, it has been sensitively integrated into the surrounding landscape. The interior was created in collaboration with the top Italian design studio Ferrari Pagani Tresoldi Architetti. Materials of the highest quality ensure maximum comfort for guests. The GRUND RESORT Hotel is integrated in the peaceful countryside of eastern Krkonoše, near Janské Lázně and Pec pod Sněžkou. Our four-star hotel offers luxurious accommodation with a pleasant and friendly atmosphere. There are double rooms and luxury apartments which have been furnished by top Italian designers. The professional staff of the hotel's restaurant will welcome you to its stylish interior or to a terrace overlooking the golf course and surrounding countryside. The restaurant is open for hotel guests, golfers, tourists and visitors from the surrounding area. We offer international cuisine, local specialties, and also seasonal dishes prepared from quality fresh ingredients. A new 18-hole golf course with first-class facilities is part of the resort. You can enjoy a game on the course, with a view of Krkonoše panorama, either in the company of friends or under the supervision of a PGA professional coach. The hotel allows you to organise various company and private events: conferences, meetings, training seminars, team building events, as well as weddings, birthday parties, anniversaries and other family celebrations. The rugged landscape in the area around our resort offers numerous opportunities for relaxation and active rest. In the winter months, it is an ideal place for both down-hill and cross-country skiing. In summer, in addition to golf, you can enjoy horse riding, swimming, cycling or hiking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Grund Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing