We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff at the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grund Resort GOLF&SKI
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Trutnov
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff in this hotel. Room was big enough and very clean. Quiet area, a little bit out of civilazation, but good for skiing or hiking. Perfect view from the hotel. I would definitely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danyhella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2013

My 2 children and I spent a week in the Grund resort early February 2013. Must say that it was a first stay with the children in the Czech republic as we usually go skiing to Austria. However, this time my husband couldn't join us so decided to stay "at home". We planned to go to Grund resort several times (in summer) but never managed so when looking for a place to stay it was a first pick for me with no hesitation. Also, the fact that the ski resort Mlade Buky is great for children made the decision final.
Concerning the hotel I was a bit disappointed as everything is not so luxury and fantastic as described on the website. We stayed in one of the apartma Deluxe. The second day we had to move to the other one as there was a bad smell coming out of the drain. But it can happen anywhere. However, what unpleasantly surprised me was the fact that I had to point out several things in the suite which were not working (shower head, bath tub, room not vacuumed etc.). I had to ask for the room to be vacuum-cleaned a couple of times, immediately the day we moved into the new apartma and then during our stay. Otherwise, the room was clean.
The hotel restaurant was another disappointment as I was looking forward to the food, again based on the website. In my opinion, the menu is dull, nothing exciting I had a hard time to actually choose a meal every evening. I would rather a typical czech cuisine than something fancy which is very average. Children menu was "too complicated" and what made me angry was the fact that we were charged for ketchup for the kids and also the bread we were served even without asking!!
In my opinion, the staff is the main asset of the hotel! All of them lovely and very helpful. Also, the wellness area is very nice, relaxing to use after the skiing day.
Would I go back? Yes, but just for the weekend, coming Friday afternoon and leaving Sunday afternoon. Certainly, for families with children I would recommend to go skiing in Austria based on money/quality side it's not comparable.
Daniela, Prague

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielaSte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Hotel is located in very nice location with excellent opportunity for skiing or playing golf. There is the possibility to use golf analyser, which is located inside. Rooms are nice but I would expect a bit more space. There is no room for disabled people. Beds are equipped with mattress in TOP quality. The hotel is quiet and personal is friendly. There is excellent cuisine with broad offer of different kinds wine for launch or dinner. I would expect better breakfast offer. Wellness centre was fine, swimming pool including whirlpool and sauna. We were lucky because that time there was nobody. Surroundings of hotel are amazing and suitable for walking if you are not golf player.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We spent one night in this hotel in august 2012. Our stay was affected by mistake of receptionist - I ordered our stay by phone the same day afternoon and she promised us 2 connected double rooms - we are 2 adults and 2 children and we never want to stay in different rooms. When we came here at the evening she told us they have only separate rooms. It made me angry, but we stayed because of late time and 50% discount for second room.
Rooms are really luxuriously furnished, but extremely small - it is really shame, because the style, design and quality of materials are at the highest level, however if you are not very small than at the way from bed to bathroom can be dangerous, because you hit several times in the leg or head.
We ordered dinner to room and food was excellent, worse was breakfast. Waitress was surprised that we want eggs and all foods in offer 15 minutes before end of breakfast time, which is only to 9,30 am. After our claim they prepared for me scrambled eggs, but in dubious quality. Generally the offer of foods for breakfast was not so big.
Wellness center is fine - swimming pool, whirlpool and sauna. Surroundings of hotel is very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Machytka_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We spent three days in the hotel in early July to hike in the Krkonose mountains and relax in the wellness center.

The first impression upon arrival was that the hotel is greatly situated, amidst the beautiful scenery of the Krkonose mountains.

The hotel is spotlessly clean which we came to appreciate once we hit the wellness center after our demanding trek up and down the Krkonose's highest 1602m Snezka mountain (just 15km drive up the main road to Pec pod Snezkou) on the first day. It's got a sauna, whirlpool and a pool about 15m in length. The pool water was perfectly clean, temperature around 28 degrees Celsius which is just about right to cool down after 20 odd minutes in the sauna. If you are lucky enough like we were and the fellow hotel guests happen to be avid golf players or hikers with little time on their hands for anything else, you may have the whole wellness center just for yourself. After a trek through the mountains, you can just spend the rest of the day alternating between a whirlpool, sauna and pool several times over before you head into the restaurant for a dinner.

Which brings me to dining. The cuisine was fantastic, pretty much anything on the a la carte menu we had was great and for someone who has dined in some of the best restaurants in the country, I can assure you that you will not find this quality of cuisine in many places in the country outside the Prague's finest. If you stay in the hotel throughout the day over lunch time, try the dishes on the daily menu which are great value at around CZK 150. The only issue with food is that once you have your expectations initially set by the high quality of the a la carte menu (as we did after arrival on the first day), the rather generic breakfast on the next morning with standard Continental fare may feel like an underachiever.

The staff was quite friendly, can't say if they speak any foreign languages but they were really trying hard to make us happy throughout our stay.

The rooms are nicely furnished, clean, not too big but then again with all the possibilities of spending quality time you will probably not be lingering in them anyway. The bath has a cozy barrier-free shower where you will not feel claustrophobic.

Sadly, my experience with hotels in Krkonose so far is that either you stumble into one of the ancient behemoths with all the amenities of the former communist era that just continue to stick (apathetic staff, food that makes McDonalds look like a Michelin star, smelly rooms where you would be worried to house your pet much less yourself) or into one of the new, small hotels or B&B establishments that sprang up throughout the region in the last twenty years and where the zeal and entrepreneurial spirit of the owners is often matched only by their ineptitude and amateurism. Grund Resort is the third category of a neatly designed hotel where everything feels, if not perfect, then just about right. We've fallen in love with the place and will be coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Icarus1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel twice: in April 2010 for Ski, and in July 2012, with our kids (a baby and a toddler) for relaxation.

Location and Atmosphere: the hotel is situated on a sole hill up from Mlade Buky. It is surrounded by lawns and a great view of the giant mountains. The atmosphere is quiet and pastoral and is just perfect for relaxation.

Kids: the hotel by its nature is more suitable for adults, nevertheless it is kid-friendly. It has two outdoor playgrounds, including a trampoline, a play corner at the dining room and two electric bikes that the kids can use in the premises for free (the kids loved it!). In addition, the restaurant offers kid menu with 6 different dishes. At the room we were provided with babycots, a changing table (!) and a potty. It all waited for us ready to use when we arrived. At the pool they provide water wings. Also, when we arrived to the hotel they gave a little wooden toy as a welcome present for the kids.The hotel is non-smoking in general, but smoking is allowed at the restaurants’ terrace.

Restaurant and Food: Mlade Buky doesn’t have much to offer on that aspect, so you will most likely find yourself eating mainly at the hotel’s restaurant. The restaurant offers international menu as well as Czech traditional dishes. It’s really, you get what you pay for. If you’re looking from a Czech perspective it is an expensive restaurant, but then the food in my view is better than the standard. If you’re looking from an international perspective the food is fair and is priced fairly. On our first day we took full board, but changed to a-la-carte the next day. The variety and the quality of the food was lower than what is offered at the restaurant and the waiters doesn’t seem to like this arrangement. At lunch we waited almost 30 minutes for dessert just to get a pastry that was served earlier on the breakfast buffet. Also, at dinner, although we were on full board, we were charged for couvert, even for our son who’s less than 2 years.

Room: In April 2010 we stayed at a standard double room, which was small, but enough for a couple. In July 2012 we took the luxurious apartment as we needed more space for all four of us. If you’re traveling with older kids I would suggest to take two connected rooms rather than the apartment, as the apartment is built as one open space, including the bathroom, which is only separated by a sheer glass. We were amazed to find out that the luxurious apartment that we were given does not have air-conditioner. Luckily a day after we came the other luxurious apartment became available and we moved in. If you’re coming in the summer, pay attention to that.

Service: after two years at the Czech Republic, my expectation for service are moderated. In that light, I can say that the service for the most part is fair. The staff is very nice and friendly, with the waiters it is changing. On our first night we had a waiter that was simply rude. Luckily he only worked that evening. On our check out I told the receptionist about him and she seemed attentive. Apparently he is new, so they probably didn’t have a chance to get to know him yet. Other embarrassing moment we had was when we found a used underwear in one of our room drawers. We told about it to the receptionist, who promised to send someone to take it, but did not.

To summarize, if you come with the right expectation you’ll have a great vacation. It’s a good hotel, but it doesn’t meet the standards you may be used to from similar golf resorts in other places around the world. Having said that, for exactly the same hotel you’ll pay twice or triple in the US. We enjoyed it twice and will probably come again.

Room Tip: If you come over summer, make sure that your room is air conditioned. A family with kids (older than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ravita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed for several nights and, whilst on the whole we again really enjoyed our stay, it was badly let down by breakfast on the final morning. Previous mornings there was a lovely selection of items which were replenished and hot food was either available or could be cooked to order. On the final day there was one solitary tea pot and the 'hot' water in the flask was at best luke warm. When I requested hot water the waiter said the reason my tea was cold was the fact that I had added cold milk.... The orange juice was not replenished, there was no cheese only a few tired slices of ham. A request for tomatoe, cucumber peppers, fruit (all plentiful previously) was met with disdain and a total lack of enthusiasm. We were not offered any hot options e.g. omlette, scrambled egg or sausages (which again previously had been plentiful). The waiter then cleared a table and rather than take a cloth simply wiped the crumbs off the table with his hands onto the floor. It was a pity to end an otherwise good stay on this note. The waiter that morning certainly did not meet the standards of the other staff whom we met during our stay and we left the Dining Room feeling we had been an inconvenience to him with our presence. Hence why this stay is not rated excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraLonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trutnov
3.3 mi away
Hotel Davidek
Hotel Davidek
#2 of 5 in Trutnov
111 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Horizont
Hotel Horizont
#1 of 10 in Pec pod Snezkou
309 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Emerich
Hotel Emerich
#3 of 10 in Pec pod Snezkou
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
SkiResort Hotel Omnia
SkiResort Hotel Omnia
#1 of 3 in Janske Lazne
72 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hotel Bedriska Wellness Resort & Spa
Hotel Bedriska Wellness Resort &...
#5 of 37 in Spindleruv Mlyn
149 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#1 of 37 in Spindleruv Mlyn
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grund Resort GOLF&SKI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grund Resort GOLF&SKI

Address: Mlade Buky 445, Trutnov 542 23, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Hradec Kralove Region > Trutnov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Trutnov
Price Range: £67 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grund Resort GOLF&SKI 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star hotel has been built with respect for the environment. For our guests it provides pleasant, high quality facilities and total comfort. At the same time, it has been sensitively integrated into the surrounding landscape. The interior was created in collaboration with the top Italian design studio Ferrari Pagani Tresoldi Architetti. Materials of the highest quality ensure maximum comfort for guests. The GRUND RESORT Hotel is integrated in the peaceful countryside of eastern Krkonoše, near Janské Lázně and Pec pod Sněžkou. Our four-star hotel offers luxurious accommodation with a pleasant and friendly atmosphere. There are double rooms and luxury apartments which have been furnished by top Italian designers. The professional staff of the hotel's restaurant will welcome you to its stylish interior or to a terrace overlooking the golf course and surrounding countryside. The restaurant is open for hotel guests, golfers, tourists and visitors from the surrounding area. We offer international cuisine, local specialties, and also seasonal dishes prepared from quality fresh ingredients. A new 18-hole golf course with first-class facilities is part of the resort. You can enjoy a game on the course, with a view of Krkonoše panorama, either in the company of friends or under the supervision of a PGA professional coach. The hotel allows you to organise various company and private events: conferences, meetings, training seminars, team building events, as well as weddings, birthday parties, anniversaries and other family celebrations. The rugged landscape in the area around our resort offers numerous opportunities for relaxation and active rest. In the winter months, it is an ideal place for both down-hill and cross-country skiing. In summer, in addition to golf, you can enjoy horse riding, swimming, cycling or hiking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grund Resort GOLF&SKI reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing