We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel. Polite staff and a good restaurant.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Raya's & Raya's Annexe 1
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Kumbakonam
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

The location of the hotel is great. Very near to mahamagam pond, and a good access to all the roads leading to famous temples. The staff's in the reception were very helpful provided us a root map for nearest temples. However, the rooms were not so big, but worth the money we pay. Both room and bath room were clean and neat. We had a issue with cot, which makes noise even turned. When checking out, we stated this in the complaints log, for which we had a call from the manager very next day stating the mention issue was solved, welcoming again to the hotel. Definitely Raya's will be our suggestion to stay in Kumbakonam.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank navaneekrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

Rooms are modern, very very spacious and neat. Our room had a big dressing area and a dining table apart from the spacious bed area. Rayas annexe does not have a restaurant attached,but room service is available. Another plus is the covered car park. Value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nowisthetime6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

had been to this hotel at Kumbakonam during first week of this month with family.
This hotel is just opposite to Maha Magam.
We have taken one Studio and one standard. The rooms were good and neat. In fact I find the rooms are much bigger with Sofas and tables. hospitality is much good. The rooms are very much worth for the price we pay.
We would like to stay in this hotel during our ensuing trips to Kumbakonam.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WVR7933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Raya's hotel which is near to the famous mahamagum temple is well maintained. I am rather pleased to note that the front office staff are excellent and courteous. They have to improve the response time for room service. The bucket mugs are to be cleaned and maintained.
I don't why there is no hand shower .shower is not in working condition. Don't expect coffee before 6.30 am.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank kalasubramanyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed at the Raya Grand hotel in Kumbakonam in December 2013. Room was very spacious, had all necessary amenities. Bathroom was spacious, well maintained with a 24-7 supply of hot water. The manager was very polite and helpful and assisted in planning visits to nearby attractions in Kumbakonam and Tanjavur. Food is strictly vegetarian and comprises traditional south Indian fare. Overall a great stay at Raya Grand hotel. Would like to visit and stay there again. However, the only glitch in an otherwise pleasant stay was our experience with the cab driver. He was a garrulous fellow who had no hesitation in joining the special darshan queue at srirangam and asked us to pay his ticket.. he did the same in thayar sannidhi as well and did not deduct the charges from his stipulated rate ..Also, he was asking a lot of personal questions regarding our purpose of visit, the functions that we intended to participate in at kumbakonam despite our discouraging him from doing the same ..We didnt bring this to the notice of the travel desk/management and let it go. Otherwise, a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We have been staying here for the past 5 to 6 years. Spacious clean rooms, with A/c and TV. We took a studio elite room. They also offer extra beds so that 4 - 5 adults can adjust in the same room. It was convenient for us as we were taking along our parents with us for the visit. The cost is a bit on the higer end for a town like kumbakonam, but the facilities are good. We also parked our car in the hotel and there was a place for the driver to stay and bathe as well. The coffe was not prepared in house, it was supplied form a local tea stall. The food at the rayas restaurant rice n spice was good.

Room Tip: Rayas annexe is cheaper than the main block, but the room sixe is a bit small. Annexe is good for ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vbvzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I have never seen such a pious atmosphere in hotel..Best in kumbakonam,,
The food they serve is worth for two for a single serve... Too Cost effective..
Coffe is @ its best... Location is good...
The Temple guide is a useful one...
Strongly recommend for family and solo too,.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Athidots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumbakonam hotels
1.1 mi away
Sara Regency
Sara Regency
#8 of 25 in Kumbakonam
309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sivamurugan Hotels
Sivamurugan Hotels
#4 of 25 in Kumbakonam
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#13 of 25 in Kumbakonam
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
INDeco Swamimalai
INDeco Swamimalai
#1 of 25 in Kumbakonam
306 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn VIHA
Quality Inn VIHA
#3 of 25 in Kumbakonam
160 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ananda Residency
Ananda Residency
#10 of 25 in Kumbakonam
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raya's & Raya's Annexe 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raya's & Raya's Annexe 1

Address: 18,19 Head Post Office Rd | nr Holy Mahamaham Tank, Kumbakonam 612 001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Thanjavur District > Kumbakonam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Kumbakonam
Price Range: £12 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the hub of Kumbakonam Thanjavur District, Hotel Raya’s stands out Majestically to offer Mahamaham tank view for the guests. This is known to be the “Best value for money” in Kumbakonam with the atmosphere and facilities of a star hotel. Hotel Raya’s combines efficiency with the Traditional culture of Kumbakonam to provide a pleasant stay for all its guests.3 star facilities only in Raya's Group of Hotels for the nominal tariff.Real Hospitality service is our motto.... Since 24 Years of Hospitality Experiences... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Raya's & Raya's Annexe 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rayas Hotel Kumbakonam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing