We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveller rating
61
121
50
14
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
121
50
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews value for money room service post office mahamaham tank veg restaurant dressing area temple town decent hotel railway station standard room clean rooms central location non veg small town visit kumbakonam house keeping in house restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 258 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Rooms are modern, very very spacious and neat. Our room had a big dressing area and a dining table apart from the spacious bed area. Rayas annexe does not have a restaurant attached,but room service is available. Another plus is the covered car park. Value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nowisthetime6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

had been to this hotel at Kumbakonam during first week of this month with family.
This hotel is just opposite to Maha Magam.
We have taken one Studio and one standard. The rooms were good and neat. In fact I find the rooms are much bigger with Sofas and tables. hospitality is much good. The rooms are very much worth for the price we pay.
We would like to stay in this hotel during our ensuing trips to Kumbakonam.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WVR7933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Raya's hotel which is near to the famous mahamagum temple is well maintained. I am rather pleased to note that the front office staff are excellent and courteous. They have to improve the response time for room service. The bucket mugs are to be cleaned and maintained.
I don't why there is no hand shower .shower is not in working condition. Don't expect coffee before 6.30 am.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank kalasubramanyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed at the Raya Grand hotel in Kumbakonam in December 2013. Room was very spacious, had all necessary amenities. Bathroom was spacious, well maintained with a 24-7 supply of hot water. The manager was very polite and helpful and assisted in planning visits to nearby attractions in Kumbakonam and Tanjavur. Food is strictly vegetarian and comprises traditional south Indian fare. Overall a great stay at Raya Grand hotel. Would like to visit and stay there again. However, the only glitch in an otherwise pleasant stay was our experience with the cab driver. He was a garrulous fellow who had no hesitation in joining the special darshan queue at srirangam and asked us to pay his ticket.. he did the same in thayar sannidhi as well and did not deduct the charges from his stipulated rate ..Also, he was asking a lot of personal questions regarding our purpose of visit, the functions that we intended to participate in at kumbakonam despite our discouraging him from doing the same ..We didnt bring this to the notice of the travel desk/management and let it go. Otherwise, a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We have been staying here for the past 5 to 6 years. Spacious clean rooms, with A/c and TV. We took a studio elite room. They also offer extra beds so that 4 - 5 adults can adjust in the same room. It was convenient for us as we were taking along our parents with us for the visit. The cost is a bit on the higer end for a town like kumbakonam, but the facilities are good. We also parked our car in the hotel and there was a place for the driver to stay and bathe as well. The coffe was not prepared in house, it was supplied form a local tea stall. The food at the rayas restaurant rice n spice was good.

Room Tip: Rayas annexe is cheaper than the main block, but the room sixe is a bit small. Annexe is good for overnight stops.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews