We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveller rating
61
121
50
14
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
121
50
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalue for moneyroom servicepost officemahamaham tankveg restaurantdressing areatemple towndecent hotelrailway stationstandard roomclean roomscentral locationnon vegsmall townvisit kumbakonamhouse keepingin house restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 258 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2018

I have been to Kumbakonam a number of times, but possibly in summer. In a last minute new year plan, we decided to book tickets to Kumbakonam. It takes about 5 hours from Chennai. The best part, we travelled by AC Coupe which we have never experienced before. It is akin to travelling business class by flight. However if you are a solo female traveller, then exercise caution since you are literally cut off from the rest of the coaches.

For accomodation, we usually stay at Rayas and this time we stayed there again. They have a couple of properties around Kumbakonam. We stayed at their property near the Head Post Office, which also doubles up a landmark. Rayas is well maintained and the service is very good. You are also given your choice of newspaper you would like to receive in the morning. They also give you a handy book listing all the important temples that you can visit both near the vicinity and outside.

We wanted to visit the navagrahas and a few other unheard of temples and just relax the next day. If you have a relative or friend who can organise the cab and negotiate prices for you, then the cab fare will be better priced. Hotel prices are quite expensive. Thankfully, we had someone who arranged an excellent driver for half the price. I would recommend him to anyone. He is trustworthy, well behaved and respectful.

Rayas is very safe and well maintained. For food, we ate at the local shops where food is tasty and served at half the price a hotel will charge you.

December was a lovely season, cool and refreshing. If you enjoy walking around, getting around by foot everywhere is best, though you can negotiate prices with autos to take you around everywhere within the area.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sowmyanatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

Great place. Clean and staff extreemly helpful. Price reasonable. Temples nearby and others easily accessible from hotel. Restaurant served excellent food. Portions were very generous and price good. Recommended.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank gerryivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

During our recent trip to Kumbakonam and temple circuit, happened to stay @Rayas, Kumbakonam. Its budget hotel with basic facilities. Rooms are smaller in size though they are clean and neat. Hotel is centrally located and very good front desk. Though minor language issue can happen if you don't know Tamil, but can be manageable. They arrange cab services if you want to and the drivers are excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Giri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

Hi

I have checked in on 8th and checked out on 9th.

Room : Spacious, well maintained. No issues
Food at their Veg restaurant : Pathetic. No taste. Not hot (lunch time). Not worth
Room service : Coffeee only ordered. Nice small flask and good coffee
Car / tour operator facility : The receiption team arranges on request from our side. Not so good service and charges are more. Better to engage outside
Overall : ok for a night stay with family but expensive charges for stay

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gokul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

This particular hotel is just little away but located in a quiet and docile surroundings. It is in walkabout distance to busstand, ATM's, famous tank, vegetable and fruit markets and also to railway station and Bus stand
The Management staff, officestaff, ward room boys and other facilitators like house keeping are very focussed, sincere and always report promptly when their help is sought.
Relaxing and watching TV, you can read also daily newspaper and glance at TV for p[popular channel shows and rooms are very spacious and neat and tidy. The food demanded and served by waiters/room boys are as per your order. You can simply praise and be happy of your choice of food, which are very tasty, reasonable priced and sometimes if we ask banana leaves are also included with food order
You must be careful of only one thing, when yopur invoice bill does not include certain payments which clearlyy amplifies the realities that the front officer does siphon off the funds, which are not in main bill as well as receipt made off. Despite finding this grave injustice I felt very sad and awkward to ask him bill for payments; as I belong to the kumbakonam. Worse is to complain or inform higher management. This act is reallya big black stigma for all the good work done by the rest of the team

Stayed: February 2017
Thank G Ramani I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews