We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and best hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Green Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Green Park
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Kumbakonam
Daejeon, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and best hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel. The hotel is very charming and beautiful. The rooms are superb and excellent service. The location is perfect, food absolutely fantastic and very delicious. I think best hotel in kumbakonam.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biovinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    2
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
1
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Hi,

Stayed at Green Park hotel in Kumbakonam a couple of days back. Rooms werent available in any other hotel, this was the only one offering two rooms.

Things went well till the time we checked into the rooms. The rooms itself were okay for the price we were paying.

then we started noticing - the cockroaches, some wierd insects.. and of course the mosquitoes

We asked for blankets / bedsheets.. and they came a jolly 30-45 minutes later.. when most of us fell asleep.
Then again, we asked for the mosquito coils - but that didnt come up

In the morning, we asked for tea / coffee.. and that took a jolly 1 hour and repeated requests to arrive.
However, once they came, the service guy came back in less than ten minutes for taking the cups away..!!
The rooms were so so, the service,, left a lot to desire. However, I dont expect excellent service in Tamil Nadu anyways - its more or less pathetic throughout the state.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gaurishankar I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kumbakonam hotels

berlin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

my room was full of little and big cockroachs (20 pieces!), it stunk all the time and it was damp and all for 850 rupies per day.
one of the worst room i had.
priece/ performance is not correct!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gruenhilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

We heard this place from a common friend who recommended this hotel to be best for family. Somehow the time when we chose to travel, all of the other suggested hotels were booked and/or did not take up our request for advance booking through phone. In the end we called Green Park and they assured us with a non-A/C rooms.

We were happy at the reception as they acknowledged our booking - personally I have experienced most of the bookings through phone usually were not honoured when I end up in their place; be it my face-value that makes them change their tariff rates or it just happens, i don't know. Anyhow, we were led into our rooms. Rooms were very basic and clean - I could live with it for Rs.900. The bathrooms were well maintained and I got clean towels too!

It was a temple trip so the hotel helped us a lot in arranging the logistics and providing the right information. They give out a pamphlet to every customer of the map of temples around the city if required. The map was pretty useful for the entire trip - ours was a 1N2D stay so most of the time we were roaming in the car that the hotel had arranged. Usually the belief is that the hotel guys charge exorbitantly for transport but I am satisfied with the arrangements done by Green Park. They arranged a Sedan non-A/C for Rs.1500 for an entire day. In fact more than us, the driver was keen to make sure that we didn't miss any of the 9 Navagraha temples!

The food was good and their restaurant is very decent for family. They had more North Indian and Chinese on their menu for dinner so it was bummer for us since we expected to savor the typical south indian dishes. The place is centrally located so any facilities is throw away distance. In fact this was very handy when we wanted to rush back to railway station in a matter of 5-10 mins. If I travel again to Kumbakonam, I am sure to stay in this place again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumbakonam hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#13 of 24 in Kumbakonam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sivamurugan Hotels
Sivamurugan Hotels
#3 of 24 in Kumbakonam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vinayaga
Hotel Vinayaga
#17 of 24 in Kumbakonam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Raya's & Raya's Annexe 1
0.0 mi away
Poppys SET Residency
Poppys SET Residency
#12 of 24 in Kumbakonam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel ARK International
Hotel ARK International
#18 of 24 in Kumbakonam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Green Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Green Park

Property: Hotel Green Park
Address: N0 Lakshmi Vilas Street, Kumbakonam 612001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Kumbakonam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Kumbakonam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms restaurant conference hall ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Green Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing