We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD HOTEL TO STAY” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Palace Stay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Palace Stay
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Chidambaram
tamilnadu
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“GOOD HOTEL TO STAY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

GOOD TO STAY, But food is not upto my satisfaction, if you have time , go to nearby Restaurant. atmosphere is good, railway station is very close to it, Annamalai university is also nearby. Bus stand is just walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ppnpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    11
    16
    6
    21
See reviews for
31
5
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I arrvied from Kumbakonam around 1pm and had a train to catch at 12:10 AM and thus chose this place, 1/2 km from the railway station. Found the place,fine. Met my basic expectations of clean bed,toilets and cold water on request but at INR 1100, thought should have been priced a tad lesser.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denzel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Budget hotel with low cost... Newly renovated hotel with lift rates also normal. Hotel management should concentrate on room boys and their neatness.
Rooms having individual heater and ac control is nice and easy to use. If mineral water is provided to guest means hotel is good enough in chidambaram.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ravishanki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPSCDM, General Manager at Grand Palace Stay, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Mr. Ravi

Thanks for your valuable feedback about us...

Regards
Karthick N
General Manager
9344033304
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Unless you are totally out of your mind feel free to stay at this hotel. Any sane human will become insane to certain extend the next morning if you survive the night. The hotel is totally opposite of what it's name says. It is a run down building, dirty rooms and horribly dirty toilet. The is small and with musky odour. There is no place for the word cleanliness is this hotel and it is quite costly for this type of hotel. I would strongly suggest you avoid ALL hotels in Chidambaram town. All of them are same. There are good hotels outskirts of the town probably 30 min away. Stay there and make day trip. The one and only main attraction here is the Chidambaram temple with its grand architecture.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarita_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPSCDM, General Manager at Grand Palace Stay, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest

Regret delayed response... this problem has been sorted out... now our hotel is fully renovated and equipped with modern amenities and experienced staffs....


Looking forward to serve you the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chidambaram hotels

Jalandhar, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

The most USELESS HOTEL I have stayed in. A TORTURE for 2 days as I had already paid.
The service is THIRD CLASS as waiters cannot speak English or Hindi. They did not
serve the complimentary breakfast on one day sayingh that no guests are staying. THE WORST
HOTEL. AVOID IT OR SUFFER.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Harjinder B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPSCDM, General Manager at Grand Palace Stay, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for your valuable feed back... Kindly regrett inconvenience caused... we will take necessary action on this breakfast issue.

We will take your review in a healthier way to serve you the best near to future....

Regards
Karthick N
General Manager
9344033304
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

And this hotel you can find Lizards , entering even before you enter to the rooms.(Every where you can find Lizards)
Close to the Chidambaram Bus Stop & Very Close to Railway Station.
Food is so expensive , which is too much for that Location .
Rooms are not well maintained .


  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Selvam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heemstede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

What a horrible room. The room was tiny, smelled of mold (which were clearly visible on the wall), very noisy, hardly any daylight and dirty sheets (I don't think they changed them after the previous guests. The wash basin was torn of from the wall, so no wash baisin availible. Reception was not unfriendly, but not very helpful either. The restaurant was very poor, the waiter rude (i think he was just shy and acted rude to hide his shyness), the breakfast was cold and on the first morning not availible (apperently we were to late, but we were not informed what time it ended.) The only things I liked was the small garden downstairs were you could sit and have a cold drink, but this really the only thing I liked.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esthergoesasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chidambaram
0.4 mi away
Hotel Saradharam
Hotel Saradharam
#3 of 9 in Chidambaram
3.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
5.1 mi away
Lakshmi Vilas
Lakshmi Vilas
#1 of 9 in Chidambaram
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Akshaya
Hotel Akshaya
#4 of 9 in Chidambaram
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Hotel Pams Residency
Hotel Pams Residency
#1 of 1 in Mayiladuthurai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
The Grand White Palace
#1 of 1 in Sirkazhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arudhra Residency
Arudhra Residency
#2 of 9 in Chidambaram
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palace Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palace Stay

Property: Grand Palace Stay
Address: 12 Railway Feeder Road, Chidambaram 608001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chidambaram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Chidambaram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Palace Stay 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
24 hour room service, doctor on call, ATM at the entrance, free car parking, Laundry services, wifi internet, 24 hr running hot water. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing