We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A budget hotel in a pilgrim centre”
Review of Hotel Akshaya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Akshaya
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Chidambaram
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Hotel Akshaya is budget hotel with a view of the temple towers of Natarja temple; best part of it is its location- almost next to the temple. Neat and clean for the value you pay. Rooms are large enough and AC is effective- but old window models. No separate restaurant for Strict vegetarians! Credit or debit cards are not accepted.Rooms with no view!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NANIBALA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

This is average business class hotel.chidambaram is a small town and this hotel is ok for it. The a/c room is a better room to stay. There is restraunt in the ground floor and also in the roof. Dinner on the the roof top restraunt will be a good view. The temple and the lighting will be the best view.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
5  Thank ErnestJeffry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We worried very much that we can not find a hotel in chidambaram during a great holiday MahaShivratri. We reserved a room (Double bed AC Rs 1700+taxes = Rs 2000) through the Internet for three months in advance and have lodged without any problems. The room has appeared simply huge with all relying conveniences. And you will not find the best site to visit the main temple. We still had very pleasant impression.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lana_bogdanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We booked a room in this hotel on phone and were told it was confirmed and that we had to just show up on the day for the room. When we called on the day we were leaving for Chidambaram, the manager tells us that we should have called earlier and that they now have no rooms available. As we would have reached Chidambaram pretty late at night and we couldn't go looking for hotels that late at night, we tried to reason with the manager. He finally agreed to get us a room. But what a disaster! The only thing this hotel has going for it is that it is very close to the temple. The entrance in dingy. There is hardly any lighting at all. The whole place is covered in layers of dust as old as the city itself. The elevator, is so small, either your luggage can go or you can, never the two together! Finally the room we were given, apart from the lack of any type of cleanliness had a clogged sink. When we called the front desk to have it fixed, the guy came and just pulled out the tube that goes from the sink to the drain hole in the floor, so all the water just poured out into the room!!! Finally after 5 calls to the front desk, some one came to wipe the mess up and just left a bucket under the sink and told us the sink is now functional! As if this weren't enough, the bed linen was musty, dirty and had holes and stains on them. We knew there was A/C because it made a horrendous noise, not because it had any effect in cooling down the place. The place was infested with mosquitos so much so that two mats (one provided by the hotel and one by us) were completely ineffective. Finally, the restaurant! Just one thing to say: dont eat there. The plates are dirty, the silver ware not washed, infested with flies and no ventilation what so ever. All in all, we were happy to find a room in another hotel the next morning and move out!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank kps80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We paid quite a lot (in Indian terms R2,000) for the deluxe suite with AC. It was a big room and big bathroom, but sheets were very very rough, towels old and worn, place was clean, and given there is not a lot of choice in town ideal for visiting the temple (which is well worth it). Ac was old and noisey, but it worked.
Staff were nice and manager friendly and helpful. But not sure I'd cope with more then 2 days

Room Tip: Avoid being near the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrPaul50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

After my marriage, me and my husband planned to settle in chidambaram as he is a Dentist. So we went to chidamabaram and booked room in Hotel Akshya for searching a house. The hotel is in main area. We stayed there for around 2 days. The AC room rent was only 1100 but the room was very spacious and clean. It had a king sized bed, as we went after 20 days of our marriage we enjoyed the days a lot. Food was too good esp the south Indian Meals.. Chidambaram was famous for old temples we went out for the chidambara ragasiyam temple :-) it was very near the hotel.

Totally it was value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MeeNavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

This is a very basic hotel right next to the big temple. We had a functional but noisy air conditioner and a very loud wedding next door. The bathroom shower has no curtain and everything gets wet. This is fine for a one night temple visit.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ttravel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chidambaram
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saradharam
Hotel Saradharam
#4 of 9 in Chidambaram
133 reviews
9.3 mi away
Lakshmi Vilas
Lakshmi Vilas
#1 of 9 in Chidambaram
100 reviews
24.9 mi away
Arcot Woodlands Hotel
Arcot Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cuddalore
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21 mi away
Hotel Pams Residency
Hotel Pams Residency
#1 of 1 in Mayiladuthurai
16 reviews
11.5 mi away
No photo provided
The Grand White Palace
#1 of 1 in Sirkazhi
8 reviews
0 mi away
Arudhra Residency
Arudhra Residency
#2 of 9 in Chidambaram
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Akshaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Akshaya

Address: 17,18 East Car Street | Chidambaram, Chidambaram 608001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Cuddalore District > Chidambaram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Chidambaram
Price Range: £24 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Akshaya 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel that understands you in Vizag, having 30 well furnished rooms including 3 executive suites along with other facilities at a cozy compact location. The hotel is located in the heart of the city. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing