We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Javanese charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Saraswati Borobudur
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Borobudur
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Javanese charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

A beautiful hotel in Javanese style, lovely rooms and lovely local breakfast. Very close to the entrance to the Borobudur park. No fault apart from the shower curtains were a bit manky and there is no hairdryer. Book a ground floor room if you have problem with stairs.

Room Tip: As the floor levels are high and there are no lifts, those who struggle with stairs might want to bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    117
    45
    12
    6
See reviews for
44
119
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

The hotel is absolutely beautiful, completely decorated in colonial style with all details. The ceilings are high, tall doors, wooden furniture. The garden and swimming pool are nice, though you see it is a bit older. It's a five-minute walk to the Borobudur temple, making it (more) easy to arrive at 6 when it opens (going in before sunrise is not worth the extra money). For breakfast you could choose a day before, either Western or Indonesian, and was good. Staff was very friendly and helped us arranging a tour and guide in the surroundings to the tofu making and pottery villages and a temple surrounded by rice paddies, as well as a driver for the next day to take us to the Merapi vulcano, Prambanan and Yogyakarta (destination) - both for fair prices.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annique91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai Region, China
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Truly beautiful experience after spending many nights in modern hotels without any character. Room was just beautiful, all details and colours taking me back to Colonial times. Do not expect luxury, it is very modest, what I actually liked because it fits to the overall ambience of the place. Lobby hall with high ceiling is amazing. Friendly reception manager welcoming me at the front door, arranging sunrise at the Borobudur temple and letting me know where I can have good lunch - Paksi Coffee House. It was actually best food in town! Food in hotel is bit expensive so I was going back to Paksi every day. Bike rental is just across the street. Swimming pool looks nice but there were too many small leaves and other plants enjoying it so I did not waste any time in the water :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pawel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

An old palace ideally located near Boroburdur gardens and close to shops and restaurants. Restaurant in the hotel is lovely and a very good breakfast. Nice garden and pool surrounds, and the rooms were comfortable and clean. Lobby is grandiose.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaiTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Saraswati. I have very mixed feelings about this hotel. Good things first. The hotel looks like a huge colonial bungalow...with a courtyard, nice little pool and massage hut next to it. It looks quite nice.We stayed in the junior suite. Big room,high ceilings, quite nice. Lousy TV tho. Location wise, its very near to the Manohara where u access Borobudor for the sunrise tour. Nothing much outside the hotel tho. Breakfast was enjoyable, decent, fresh fare. We did a 2 hour massage when we were there as well, very enjoyable and at a good price.

The thing that made us a little uncomfortable were the staff. From the moment we arrived, we were quite disappointed to not feel any warmth from the staff there. It wasnt as if they were rude, but we just did not feel any local indonesian hospitality that we were used to when we visit indonesia. Smiles were minimal, and overall it felt a little cold and disappointing. The manager was indeed kind enough to assist us with some booking issue,which we are indeed grateful for. But we couldnt help feeling very lonely and cold there.

If the staff all stepped up on their warmth in service, Saraswati can be a very charming hotel indeed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SingaporeJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Booked one night in this hotel for SGD100. Stayed on second floor. We were impressed by the façade of the hotel, that was a mix of French and Javanese style. The only reason we travelled 1.5 hour from airport to this place was for sunrise in Borobudur. This hotel is located 15 minutes away (5 minutes walk to Manohara Hotel - Borobudur sunrise entrance, and another 5 minutes from the gate to the Manohara desk reception to register, and another 5 minutes from Manohara desk reception to Borobudur entrance).

Breakfast was provided and it was okay. No complain. But if I were to have to pay for my own meal, I'd rather venture out and have nasi padang or bakmi goreng at the local restaurants right outside of the hotel for local taste (and cheap). A dish is served in the hotel for 30,000 IDR while a full meal for two outside is the same price!

Room was adequate with AC, TV (albeit all Indonesian channels and one out-of-place Chinese channel), hot shower, towels and toiletries. Comfortable and pleasant to eye. Unfortunately the view out of our window was disappointing - it opens to the hotel's perimeter wall and the defaced wall of a school next door.

Swimming pool is beautiful but a little dirty with fallen leaves and some bugs on the water surface. I'd still lounge around there and dip in the water. Massage hut is overlooking the pool so it would be a nice experience to have Javanese massage there (I didn't try).

Hotel staff were friendly, always-want-to-please and efficient enough. Their English may not be up the mark but if you speak slowly, using simple words, they will be able to serve you better. I have seen reviews that say that the service here is not good. My opinion is that it can only be bad because of poor communication.

You may have issues with the call to prayer at 4AM. If you look at the bright side, you'd need that loud call to wake you up for that Borobudur sunrise trip :) But it is common everywhere in Indonesia as you will always find a mosque within a kilometre of each other. So one's gotta get used to it.

I will go back next time if I have the chance, but I will choose a room facing the hotel grounds instead.

(Better use the hotel's tour package for the sunrise tour. Manohara's may appear to be cheaper but you would have to pay more for a room there, which would add up to be more expensive than Saraswati's instead)

Room Tip: If you're able to get a room that DOESN'T face outside of the hotel, it would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLynxTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia, Hainan, Perth, Bali, Bintan, Batam, Macau, Hongkong, Bangkok
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

The outlook of this hotel reminds me of Raffles Hotel Singapore where it was very spacious and open concept. Nice decorations. Not much of facilities. Only one small swimming pool. No gym at all. Don't expect much from this hotel. Bedroom ceiling and door are quite high and tall. This is generally a place for visitors to stay for the night with the purpose to visit Borobudur. Its a five min walking distance to Borobudur. Breakfast is alright. Normal standard indonesian breakfast with Mee goreng and Fried rice.

Free welcome drink. Service staff is fine.

Rating: 3/5

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desmond_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borobudur
0.3 mi away
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
#5 of 10 in Borobudur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
1.4 mi away
Amata Borobudur Resort
Amata Borobudur Resort
#4 of 10 in Borobudur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.3 mi away
Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Villa Sumbing Indah
Villa Sumbing Indah
#6 of 10 in Borobudur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
16.3 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saraswati Borobudur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saraswati Borobudur

Property: Saraswati Borobudur
Address: Jl. Balaputradewa No.10, Borobudur, Magelang, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Magelang > Borobudur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Borobudur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Saraswati Borobudur 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Saraswati Borobudur International Boutique Hotel, they make sure that guests feel that Saraswati Borobudur Hotel is just more than just a place to stay, but also has a unique culture, fascinating art, and a great wisdom that can guests bring home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saraswati Borobudur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saraswati Borobudur Hotel Borobudur
Saraswati Hotel Borobudur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing