We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice if you visit Borobudur Temple”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Saraswati Borobudur
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Borobudur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

I had a quick visit with some friends last month and only stayed at Saraswati 1 night. The location is very good as you can walk to the Borobudur Temple within 5-7 mins. Hotel is not too big so our group can enjoy the swimming pool during the afternoon feeling like we are at a private villa. Food and service are acceprable. Hotel is very flexible as we can pay extra to have additional friend sharing our twin room. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Le H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, shame about the 4am wake up calls thanks to the neighbouring Mosque!! Seriously, the calls to prayer were VERY loud and long at that time of day!! Whilst I appreciate Indonesia is a Muslim country, had I known the proximity to the Mosque, I may have stayed elsewhere.

Food was ok, not great and room stank of next door's cigarette smoke. Other than that, the proximity to Borobudur was great and the hotel overall was well decorated and clean.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank RussHall_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

In that area, Saraswati is definitely one of the better hotels to stay in. Although the first evening we checked in, we had problems with the safety deposit box and the bed, as soon as we passed the feedback on to the management, they got it fixed the very next day! Which was great! The in-house massage service was also nice. It's done by the pool so the ambiance was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinanirmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Close enough to walk to Borobudor temple which is 5-10 mins away, so a great option for the sunrise tour. Bring a torch though. The room we stayed in was huge and done up in a colonial european style, with free wifi a welcome bonus (though signal strength a little low from my room). There is a nice pool and the food was delicious - even some vego options for those that way inclined.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmm69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed there to catch the sunrise tour for borobudur. Only 5 min walk to borobudur. The room is big enough even after fitting am extra bed. Room can be stuffy, and thin wall so you can hear people nextdoor. Surprisingly they have a nice little pool with really good Javanese message at reasonable price. Breakfast choice is limited. WiFi connection is sketchy.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank iamlizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed 3 nights at Saraswati and totally enjoyed my stay there. The hotel is built in the style of an old colonial building and is really lovely throughout, although some of the fabrics may have lost their sheen from the tropical climate. The room was spacious and meticulously cleaned and the bathroom was large and modern. I had requested a room with a view and I could actually see Borobudur temple from the window! Wifi was strong and reliable throughout the hotel. The pool is clean and well set up with plenty of chairs and umbrellas. The staff are happy to organise transport and local trips for you at a reasonable cost. You can take a pony drawn cart ride around the area and learn about the lovely village and the activities of the locals. The temple is an easy walk from the hotel. Lots of market stalls to check out on the way in and out. Straight across the road is an excellent laundry (Rumah) and a perfumery too. The village is really interesting with loads of roadside cooks whipping up lovely feasts, but the excellent quality of food at the hotel's restaurant would make it the best place to eat in the whole area. If that restaurant was in Sydney, people would be lining up to get in. If you are trying to decide whether to stay in Yogya and travel out, or stay near the temple, then choosing this hotel would be my recommendation. It really is a fascinating and welcoming area to visit.

Room Tip: Although my room had a view of the temple, it was rather close to the nearby mosque and the call to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robyn_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

They charge US$110 Per night and claim to be an International Boutique Hotel.
That's where it ends.
There is no cable TV, no phone directory, don't even tell you what number for reception, no room service, not even a book telling you the hotels services or facilities. No fire evacuation instructions. The wifi did not work, and the food is very average.
Then when I checked out two days early they charged me one nights accommodation as a penalty.
Definitely do not recommend anyone stay here.
Hotel staff say it is hotel policy to charge for the number of nights booked regardless. So don't change your plans.
This policy is not made clear when making a booking. Just another one of those fine print after the fact rip offs.
I will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borobudur
1.3 mi away
Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
#6 of 10 in Borobudur
1,019 reviews
1.4 mi away
Amata Borobudur Resort
Amata Borobudur Resort
#3 of 10 in Borobudur
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Plataran Heritage Borobudur Hotel
11.1 mi away
Villa Sumbing Indah
Villa Sumbing Indah
#5 of 10 in Borobudur
305 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Puri Asri
Hotel Puri Asri
#12 of 22 in Magelang
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saraswati Borobudur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saraswati Borobudur

Address: Jl. Balaputradewa No.10, Borobudur, Magelang, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Magelang > Borobudur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Borobudur
Price Range: £61 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saraswati Borobudur 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Saraswati Borobudur International Boutique Hotel, they make sure that guests feel that Saraswati Borobudur Hotel is just more than just a place to stay, but also has a unique culture, fascinating art, and a great wisdom that can guests bring home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Saraswati Borobudur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saraswati Borobudur Hotel Borobudur
Saraswati Hotel Borobudur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing