We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exploring Borobudur”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Saraswati Borobudur
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Borobudur
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Exploring Borobudur”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is the best place to stay with a family when exploring Borobudur. Yes, there is a hotel on the grounds of the temple, but they don't have a pool. And having a pool is a necessity when traveling with kids. The food here was excellent and inexpensive. We enjoyed lunch by the poolside each day. Has this hotel seen better days? Yes. But the location, service, cost, and facilities make it the best choice in Borobudur.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mvmalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    117
    45
    12
    6
See reviews for
44
119
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

The hotel is across the street from the entrance to Borobudur. The staff is very willing to help to the best of their ability. We left very early in the morning and they kindly provided a light breakfast to take with us as well as souveniers for our children. Also the pool was lovely.

The building itself is quite grand, but could use a bit of updating. There were a few misstep that keep it from being a truly luxury hotel. But all in all it was fine for our purposes.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EWK-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
Level Contributor
141 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Ok, the proximity of Borobudur Temple is definitely an advantage, The rooms with high ceilings looked quite nice. However, the biggest impression I have of this hotel is that it wasrun down. The swimming pool was absolutely dirty and the parasols were torn off. The aircon in the rooms was quite noisy. The staff could hardly speak any English and were not helpful at all. Overal, not really worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anhangabau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

My partner and I spent one night in Yogyakarta during a week long trip to Indonesia. Unlike the previous times I had been there, we decided to stay at Saraswati to be close to the reason we were there which was Borobudur. The location was great for that as it's only a few minutes walk to the entrance of the temple. Ideally we wanted to do a sunset tour.

In the end, it really wasn't worth it staying here. It's too far from the airport and hotel itself is REALLY out dated. The welcome drink upon arrival was a nice touch. The room was really old and the hotel in general needs a good renovation. The aircon in the room was so high up the wall (high ceilings) that it didn't feel like it was cooling the room down which made it very hot and uncomfortable. The bed was stiff and the mattress was old and musty. The TV was also old and didn't even work. It wasn't a very welcoming room as it was uncomfortable and the decor was out dated too.

We had to carry all our luggage up some stairs which was bothersome as there are no lifts. Unfortunately didn't have a chance to see or use the pool. The hotel restaurant was convenient and the food was nice however, over priced and there was only two attendants working (one was also manning the front desk) and several customers, so service was slow. We did have the option of a takeaway breakfast as our flight was very early which was considerate.

Like I said, the whole point we stayed close to Borobudur was to catch the sunset on the temple and do a tour. On the website it said the hotel can organise this for their guests. However, when we arrived, they directed us to another hotel, Manohara Hotel, which was a 10-15 walk who had 'exclusive access' after hours to Borobudur and it was the place to go for sunset and sunrise tours.

Had we known this, we would have stayed at Monhara instead, or not bothered with Borobudur at all, as guests from that hotel got a discount (BUT STILL EXPENSIVE FOR FOREIGNERS) on the tours. Outside guests, who were foreigners, had to be RP400,000 (approx. AUD$40) EACH to do the tour. Whilst that is more a criticism for Manohara, it was disappointing that Saraswati did not stipulate this anywhere on the website or have their own tours.

Overall, a very average stay. Pretty disappointing with everything and after three disastrous trips to Yogyakarta, won't be returning any time soon.

Room Tip: I'm sure no matter where you stay, you'll here the call to prayer. I'm used to it and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AusCantik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

I had a quick visit with some friends last month and only stayed at Saraswati 1 night. The location is very good as you can walk to the Borobudur Temple within 5-7 mins. Hotel is not too big so our group can enjoy the swimming pool during the afternoon feeling like we are at a private villa. Food and service are acceprable. Hotel is very flexible as we can pay extra to have additional friend sharing our twin room. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Le H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, shame about the 4am wake up calls thanks to the neighbouring Mosque!! Seriously, the calls to prayer were VERY loud and long at that time of day!! Whilst I appreciate Indonesia is a Muslim country, had I known the proximity to the Mosque, I may have stayed elsewhere.

Food was ok, not great and room stank of next door's cigarette smoke. Other than that, the proximity to Borobudur was great and the hotel overall was well decorated and clean.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RussHall_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

In that area, Saraswati is definitely one of the better hotels to stay in. Although the first evening we checked in, we had problems with the safety deposit box and the bed, as soon as we passed the feedback on to the management, they got it fixed the very next day! Which was great! The in-house massage service was also nice. It's done by the pool so the ambiance was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinanirmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borobudur
0.3 mi away
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
#5 of 10 in Borobudur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
1.4 mi away
Amata Borobudur Resort
Amata Borobudur Resort
#4 of 10 in Borobudur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.3 mi away
Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Villa Sumbing Indah
Villa Sumbing Indah
#6 of 10 in Borobudur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
16.3 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saraswati Borobudur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saraswati Borobudur

Property: Saraswati Borobudur
Address: Jl. Balaputradewa No.10, Borobudur, Magelang, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Magelang > Borobudur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Borobudur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Saraswati Borobudur 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Saraswati Borobudur International Boutique Hotel, they make sure that guests feel that Saraswati Borobudur Hotel is just more than just a place to stay, but also has a unique culture, fascinating art, and a great wisdom that can guests bring home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saraswati Borobudur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saraswati Borobudur Hotel Borobudur
Saraswati Hotel Borobudur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing