We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a place when culture, nature, and comfy combined”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Sumbing Indah
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Borobudur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2014

If you think Ubud is a great place to relax? maybe it is. But you got to come here to experience the whole lots of Indonesian holistic nature, the volcano, the temples, the rice paddy field, the countryside in one place! This is something Ubud doesn't have. It's in a remote area but whose are holidaying in noisy place? It has French resto with variety of Indonesian menu, and Aussie beef! Prices are not expensive. Definitely will visit the place again and recommend friends if they need somewhere relaxing from their busy life.

Room Tip: all rooms are with view and pool is at the door step. Sensational!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FiaPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

Comfortable rooms next to the pool and good food (Indonesian or French if you like).
Christophe and his wife can help organise transport (to the Borobudur), visits, outings (very nice 2-3 hours walk through the ricefields with old Hindu temple on top with spectacular views.
But you can also just cross the road and wander through the sawahs there for fantastics pics of the loomng Sumbing volcanoe or two other volcanoes further afield.
A bit more expensive than other accomodation in Indonesia but completely worth it. Value for money. We were 9, so book in advance, but other just booked the day before.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Nicolaas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We spent 4 nights recently at Villa Sumbing. The room was spacious and the pool 2 steps away. A welcome drink when we arrived back each day was a pleasant touch. Christophe and his wife were very helpful and arranged onward train tickets for us. A high spot was the 3 hour trek he arranged for us through the local rice fields with one of his staff. I would recommend as a convenient oasis for Borobadur.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank curiouscat74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We only spent a night here, having arrived late in the evening and having left early in the morning to catch the Borobudur sunrise.

The Good:

The food at the restaurant was reasonably priced and delicious, which was a relief after our long journey, given that this place is tucked away in a fairly remote area and doesn't have any other good food alternatives around.

The rooms were clean and spacious with good wi-fi connectivity.

The entire setting of this place was cozy, the staff was warm and friendly and accommodating of our various requests.

The owner/manager was friendly and helpful, and personally tried to ensure our stay was comfortable.

The Not-so-good:

Mosquitoes abound in this area, and in spite of the mosquito nets over the beds, they can be quite pesky when you sleep.

The rooms were not quiet at all - we could hear the noisy chatter of a group of women in the room next to ours, over and above the drone of their television set, late into the night.

The location is quite remote and tucked away in the hillside, so you need to ensure your taxi driver knows exactly where this place is, or else you should be equipped with at least a map, a mobile phone and contact number of the managers here so that they can guide the taxi driver to the right place.

Overall, we had a decent stay, but I doubt I could have lasted more than a night here because of the mosquitoes and the noisy rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swati G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Sumbing I, Propriétaire at Villa Sumbing Indah, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Why when people leave say to us everything is very well no problem, then on the comment they write the opposite.
To speak to us problem directly and as possible shall solve them
thanks for your commentare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at the lovely, peaceful Villa Sumbing Indah hotel located in Kalegen, about 20 minutes’ drive up the slope of the Sumbing volcano west and north of Magelang, Central Java, Indonesia. This hotel has five lovely rooms along side a sparkling clean swimming pool surrounded on three sides by rice paddies and with a lovely view over the Magelang valley. The hotel is about 45 minutes from Borobudur, an hour a fifteen minutes from Yogyakarta and a couple of hours from Prambanan. It thus provides reasonable access to these points of interest and also to the Dieng Plateau region. The delightful owner, Rubiyanti Lavaud, who runs the hotel’s day-to-day activities along with her French-born husband, is happy to arrange for transportation to any / all of these attractions as well as pick-up / drop-off at local airports such as Yogyakarta (two hours) or Semarang (three and a half hours). The hotel has a very nice restaurant and the cost of the overnight includes an excellent breakfast served at your table. Our room (the smaller, two-person villa) had an exterior porch by the pool, a living room with couch, TV and bar connecting to the bedroom. The walls / ceiling are beautifully finished in bamboo and matting. The bed is furnished with mosquito nets. The bathroom is comfortable with plenty of hot water. Everything is scrupulously clean and the décor is lovely.

This is the place to choose if you are looking for peace, tranquility and natural beauty, and do not require proximity to a city center or a large hotel with many amenties. Magelang is just 20 minutes away. Given the traffic snarls, noise and unrestricted development overtaking all the main roads of Central Java, we greatly appreciated the hotel’s location. We took walks in the morning through Kalegen village and on side roads into the rice fields, enjoying views of the Sumbing volcano and the terraced agriculture. We watched farmers plowing the fields with buffalo and taking the ducks out for feeding as the sun rose, to a chorus of early morning bird-calls. The hotel has a small but lovely garden (with fish pond) at one end of the pool.

We discovered Villa Sumbing Indah through trip advisor (while at another hotel in Salatiga which we wanted to leave) but you can reach Ruby at 62(country code)-81328042721 (for additional numbers see website), villa.sumbing.indah@hotmail.fr or http://villa-sumbing-indah-id.com.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Lovely setting on the hill above Borobodur town. Great views of Mt Merapi
We had the end room round the corner from the pool, with three separate rooms + bathroom.
The room was clean and comfortable. Wi-fi was good.
Dinner was good though the menu was a bit restricted.
Generally the hotel is very peaceful, though we were woken by chanting in the night from a mosque.
The owner is very friendly

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deekay99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Our family very much enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The staff kept the room clean, provided food efficiently and sorted our local tours well. Our children found that the hotel is quite close to a very busy road so when we tried to do family walks - the back roads were really gorgeous - the first 10 minutes or so were not very pleasant. That being said, we very much enjoyed being based in the country for our visit to Borobodur.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weaverbarnardfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borobudur
10.7 mi away
Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa
11.6 mi away
Amata Borobudur Resort
Amata Borobudur Resort
#3 of 10 in Borobudur
229 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
#6 of 10 in Borobudur
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Puri Asri
Hotel Puri Asri
#13 of 22 in Magelang
168 reviews
10.7 mi away
Plataran Heritage Borobudur Hotel
14.6 mi away
MesaStila Resort and Spa
MesaStila Resort and Spa
#7 of 22 in Magelang
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sumbing Indah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sumbing Indah

Address: Jl. Raya Kalegen | 20 KM from Borobudur, Borobudur, Magelang 56151, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Magelang > Borobudur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Borobudur
Price Range: £42 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Sumbing Indah 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the slopes of Volcan Sumbing amidst lush landscaping, this property has the traditional Javanese atmosphere, mix of wood and bamboo rice fields along the staircase. Spacieusses rooms with private terrace, lounge, bathroom privée.Acces directly to the outdoor poolVilla Sumbing indah is 45 km from the center of Yogyakarta and Prambanan Temple and 1 hour 20 minutes from the airport Adisucipto.The Borobudur Temple is 40 minutes by car. Quiet afternoon in the gardens and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Sumbing Indah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing