We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG this is fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Borobudur Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Borobudur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

A lovely facility with excellent staff. We just stayed 3 nights in Villa Merapi. The descriptions are correct, not for persons with mobility issues or small children. The facility is great and the staff are attentive to your every need, Our only complaint was that the food portions were far too large and we ended up skipping two lunches because we could not find the space to eat. The villa staff picked us up and delivered us to the airport as well as arranging visits to the local sights. There was even a local Javanese dance recital at the villa itself one night. The trip to Pramabanan Temple takes a couple of hours (each way), but is well worth the visit. They don;t have a spa, but the masseuse comes to the villa should you wish for a traditional Javenese massage, which came highly recommended by the two in our party who experienced one. The trip to the airport in Yogy is about 1.5 hours depending on traffic.

Room Tip: We never checked out fitness facilities, but if you want a workout, just run up the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foodie-diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noëlle H, Owner at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Foodie-diver,

Thank you for your Fantastic review! It was a pleasure having you as our guests, it is always great to see our guests really enjoying the Authentic Java experience we offer. It is always a bit difficult to get to the right portion size as sometimes it also differs per day per guest how much they like something and than the amount eaten is bigger. As a hotel we make a serious effort in managing focused on sustainability and therefor we try to create as little waste as possible.
We will also pass on the compliments to the masseuses and the rest of the staff.
Hopefully we may welcome you again some day.

Bets regards,

Ingo, Noëlle and all Villa Borobudur satff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

I've stayed at many hotels in Java and other locations in Indonesia and this was absolutely the best. I was fortunate enough to be upgraded to a pool villa and did not want to leave. Beautifully decorated, wonderful views, very private, and the friendliest most attentive staff. Food/drinks were inclusive and it was more than enough for a big eater like me. Most of the food offered is made from local (Java) recipes and is extremely flavorful and delicious. The only minor complaints I have is that I gained two kilos eating too much food and wish I had taken my headphones because the local mosques have loud speakers that start at 0500 in the morning and ends around dinner time. This place is well worth the price and I will be back for another stay very soon.

Room Tip: Pay the additional cost and get yourself a pool villa which comes with a 24 hour butler team.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BangkokRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noëlle H, Owner at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear BangkokRon,

Thank you for your wonderful review and your stay with us, it was a pleasure having you as our guests and we would love for you to come back again. There is still plenty to discover and to taste and with some hiking, swimming and or cycling in the area you then will maybe not gain more kilos.

Best regards,

Ingo, Noëlle and all Villa Borobudur staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Like the other reviews stated: perfect place to unwind, beautiful, elegant and extremely nice staff! The villas are decorated with taste and nice artwork. Food is very good and the tours available are excellent. Want to go back with my family.

Room Tip: My friend and I stayed in two bedrooms at Villa Merapi and were offered an upgrade to Villa Borobudu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pattiSGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noëlle H, Owner at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Patti,

Thank you very much for your review and wonderful you enjoyed your stay so much. Please do come back with your family as this time was too short and as you were unwinding from a demanding business trip you got to see just a little bit of the area. Just let us know so we can make you a good offer.

Best regards,
Ingo, Noëlle and all Villa Borobudur staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I loved this place! highly recommended

Location - its on the side of a mountain, the drive up is really steep. It has views of Borobudur and on a clear day there is Mount Sumbing volcano looming up in the distance. Being 5 mins away from Borobudur helps with the sunrise tour, you can leave as late as 0430!

Service - all i can say is superb. We asked if they had a certain kind of indonesian crackers and the next day were given a container each! Staff are so helpful -although English is not their first language, they do try their very best. The level of service is comparable to the 5 star hotels that you find in Jakarta, or even better. I can not praise the staff more.

Rooms - The rooms have no AC - so it can be extremely hot if you are thinking of taking a nap in the afternoon. We found the pool was more inviting. I did not like the outdoor shower and basins as i constantly got bitten by rather large menacing mosquitoes, while in the shower. Although insect repellent was provided i was bitten at all times of the day.

A downside to this place is all the steps - not ideal for people with mobility issues.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noëlle H, Owner at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Lizzie11,
Thank you for your review and great to read you enjoyed your stay so much and really appreciate the Javanese hospitality and service concept. Indeed it is wonderful to visit the Borobudur at sunrise and we put a lot of effort into the language skills of our staff. As we believe in supporting the local communities and offering our guests a truly authentic Java experience (including the jungle surroundings), all staff is local and therefor does not have English as a first language. Some however do also speak Mandarin, Japanese or Malay.
Hopefully we may welcome you again to explore more of the surroundings.
Best regards, Ingo, Noëlle and all Villa Borobudur staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is superb establishment set high in the hills overlooking Borobudur Temple. The villas are quite unique, centred around a four poster bed. Beautiful carved timberwork. Amazing shower room with serpent shower head. All meals and non alcoholic drinks are included. Plus laundry. Service is beyond 6 stars.
My husband and I visited for Wesak Festival and the general manager of the resort went out of his way to get all access passes for us ( I'm a photographer ) at no cost and organised a staff member to accompany us. Unbelievable !
The Villa deserves it trip advisor reputation! 6 stars!

Room Tip: All suites are lovely. But if you can't climb lots of steps ask for a lower villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teticat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noëlle H, Owner at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Teticat,
Thank you very much for your review and rating, we have passed on your compliments to our staff with pride. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests over Waisak, as it is such a special time in the area. If you have some great pictures we would be delighted if you could send them to us. Hopefully we can welcome you again some other time.
Best regards,
Ingo, Noëlle and all Villa Borobudur staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

There is not a lot of upmarket choice around Borobudur, which is a great 2-night destination. Villa Borobudur offers packaged service including all meals and non-alcoholic drinks (food is very good). Service, like all decent Indonesian resorts, is impeccable. Rooms fit well with the local environment - room showers are great, good wifi.

Visit the Prambanan temple on leaving the Yogja airport, choose the sunrise temple tour one day and watch the sunrise from the hill-side room on the other (Best time of year for the temple views is apparently July). The early morning view is spectacular, but this is the only quiet time - sleeping was a challenge for us (and our neighbours) as there are no ceiling fans in the rooms (only portables that don't quite do the job given the humidity), music from a wedding in the valley below on the saturday continued to 2 am with the local call to prayers at 4 am, but The lap pool was great for our noisy children, fortunately there were not too many other guests at the time !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baidun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noëlle H, Eigenaar at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Baidun,
Thank you for your review and the compliments about the food, the impeccable service and the amenities of the hotel such as the wifi, the rooms and of course the view. I am so sorry too read your sleep was disturbed by a wedding celebration in the valley and the music kept you awake too late. And wonderful your children could make their own noise in the pool and had a great time. Hopefully we can welcome you and your family again some time soon at a more "quiet" time.
Warm regards, Ingo, Noëlle and all Villa Borobudur staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Me and my husband stayed in the Siddharta villa - it was amazing. The view was gorgeous and the villa was beautiful. We were really lucky as we had the whole complex to ourselves - it was like we had our own home in the mountains. The surroundings and view were amazing - really let's you get back in touch with nature. I can't say enough about the staff - super friendly and endlessly helpful! They made everything so easy. They organized every one of our excursions and were so flexible. We often just booked things the night before or the same afternoon - they always had a driver on standby waiting for us. Even the night we arrived, we thought it would be too late to book the sunrise Borobudur temple tour for the next morning - but despite it already being 9 pm, they said no problem and arranged everything! Besides the sunrise Borobudur temple (which was spectacular) you must also go on the jeep safari to Mt Merapi, go white water rafting, and take a walk through the rice fields - so much fun with lots of amazing views. The rafting was particularly fun! And some of the staff from the villa even joined us since we needed at least 4 people on the raft. The food was also fantastic! Really got the chance to try a whole range of local food.
One of the best places me and my husband have stayed at, and with one of the best natural surroundings and staff.

Room Tip: Get at least the Siddharta Villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLStraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noëlle H, Eigenaar at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear KLee,
Thank you for your wonderful review and great you truly enjoyed experiencing Central Java and Villa Borobudur. As in our concept the experience is individually shaped we really like to take our guests personal preferences in for example tours and trips and therefor we like to be flexible and anticipating for our guests. The rafting is indeed very much fun and a great way to see local live along the river and very nice you enjoyed the Merapi jeep safari as well. We will pas your compliments to the chefs as well.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we hope we may welcome you again some day,
Warm regards, Ingo, Noëlle and all Villa Borobudur staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borobudur
2 mi away
Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
Amata Borobudur Resort
Amata Borobudur Resort
#3 of 11 in Borobudur
231 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
#6 of 11 in Borobudur
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Plataran Heritage Borobudur Hotel
22.6 mi away
MesaStila Resort and Spa
MesaStila Resort and Spa
#5 of 23 in Magelang
465 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Borobudur Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Borobudur Resort

Address: Dusun Pete RT003 RW 003 | Majaksingi, Magelang, Borobudur, Magelang 56553, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Magelang > Borobudur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Borobudur
Price Range: £133 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Borobudur Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Borobudur is a luxury villa hotel in authentic Javanese style. The 6 villas offer the perfect location for a romantic getaway or a family holiday. You can book a Borobudur or Siddharta suite in the 5 bedroom Villa Borobudur or you can also opt for one of the spacious and private villa with 1, 2, 3 or 4 bedrooms. Included in the Javanese inclusive rate are, in accordance with Javanese culture and traditions of hospitality, all meals and snacks - specially prepared for you by our Javanese chefs, non alcoholic beverages, transfers to and from Yogyakarta or Solo, a Boorbudur visit when staying 2 nights or more, free wifi and laundry services. Every villa has it's own staff, chef and a large pool with sun terrace in a large jungle - garden estate. Many excursions and tours available. Experience Authentic Java - Villa Borobudur! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Borobudur Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing