We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amanjiwo Resorts
Nearby Hotels
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$43
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rumah Dharma(Borobudur)
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$322
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$270
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (572)
Filter reviews
572 results
Traveller rating
484
64
17
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
484
64
17
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool suiteaman propertyoutdoor bathtubborobudur suiteed tuttlemain buildingpool restaurantborobudur templehousekeeping staffrice fieldscentral javadriver guideprogo riverroom numberday bedthe general managercommon areas
Filter
Updating list...
311 - 316 of 572 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Amanjiwo is a must-experience resort for those wanting to get away from it all but still wanting luxury. I only stayed one night here but well worth the hour-plus drive from Jogyakarta airport. Beautifully designed suites open to private garden(ours with a pool). We woke up early to view the sunrise at Borobudur and had breakfast at the main terrace. The weather was cool and breezy. Breakfast was either western or eastern style and very good. The service was very attentive. Traditional Javanese massages are available at the spa or your suite.

Room Tip: Upper level suites have the views to Borobudur sanctuary and less steps required to get there. Some of the lower suites have the private pools with a backdrop of the streams and rice paddied hills. Getting to various parts of the hotel(including our suites) requires walking up and down many steps(design based of Borobudur) so I wouldn't recommend this place to those needing accessible walkways.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iag2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This place is not a hotel to me, it is an experience. Amazing location with this unique combination of energy from the surroundings between hills and rivers, strength from the massive stone walls, and peace from the atmosphere. Remarkable service, a real sense of exclusivity created by the activities proposed and the service quality. We had evening conferences by a scholar on Indonesian art and culture, kids made kites they could fly in the fields, lots of visits can be organised for you - day and night -, to temples, hills, antique shops (day time only for shops but they know great places! There were beautiful objects also inside the main building), to see a fortune teller... or you can simply take a bike and go on the road. The manager, new at the time, was available and knowledgeable. We hope the group supports the local communities as they seemed to.
We had an upgrade to a pool villa and thoroughly enjoyed it, we were visited by the kids from the neighbourhood and our kids had a lot of fun. Breakfast was amazing (fabulous croissants and pains au chocolat!!), food from the restaurant was very good even though too expensive in our view ($30 for a club sandwich, even delicious... funnily i see value in the room but not in simple meals at that price tag), however there was a great and generous javanese dinner (makan malam) when we were there.
A fantastic experience for our family.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Borubudur, world's largest Buddhist stupa, is off the beaten bath in western Java and well worth the effort to visit, in part to sample the spectacular Amanjiwo Hotel. Words fail to convey the superb accommodations, staff and atmosphere. On a day when you need a lift, open the Aman web site and enjoy the view!

Room Tip: Every room a jewel. You have come so far, opt for the pool suites.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamela l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Had the best weekend getaway ever.
Aman resorts never cease to impress me.
The bungalow was just perfect and so private.You can even have a skinny dip in your private pool in the middle of the night:)
The view is breathtaking!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We went to Amanjiwo in last september for a family trip and it was our third experience in this very special place. Actually, we were a bit sad to see Sean, the previous GM leaving to manage an other Aman property in Bali because he knew perfectly how to give an exclusive atmosphere to Amanjiwo and was a very great guy to talk with. However, i'm confident he will be as good for Amanusa and we'll be happy to meet him again in Bali.

Now, Mark arrived to Amanjiwo and he was already the GM when we went in September. We have been perfectly welcomed by Mark who is such an adorable and passionated person. He knows so much about Indonesia and his way of being is so serene and so calm. Just talking to him in such a beautiful place will drive you right away in a kind of meditation. It's remarkable to feel so relaxed immediately when you arrive somewhere and it's really treasurable. Leaving in some busy cities, we really needed to relax and Amanjiwo is the place where we slept the best and where we didn't have any stress. Life is just peace overthere and our three days were just magical.

As usual, we stayed in the exceptionnal Dalem Jiwo suite. This discreet suite secluded on a quiet side of the resort is probably the best suite we had. Massive with a fantastic rotunda to relax and enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner but to relax as well on the huge day bed with a great book. You can choose as well to deep in the very large infinity pool overlooking the stunning countryside, the tobacco fields, Borobudur and as the background, all the vulcanoes. On each side of the Rotunda, a pavillion of about 100 sq. meters where are a gorgeous bedroom wonderfully designed by Ed Tuttle who has designed other Amans; a very marvellous bathroom so spacious and really great with a sexy outside bathtub just so good for an evening romantic bath when having a nice glass of wine and a marvellous terrace. Apart of the unique beauty of the Dalem Jiwo Suite, you'll have 2 hyper efficient and adorable butlers to take care of you and your stay. Moely and Joko are so nice, smily and they always look at the littlest detail to try to make of your stay a memorable experience. They pampered us so well we didn't wanna leave and we almost cry when the car left. It's an emotional experience to stay at Amanjiwo in the DJ suite and we're waiting to go back again.

What else to say i didn't say yet about the most fabulous Amanresort we have visited... Great cuisine with a "to die for" lemon curd to put on yummy brioches for breakfast. Scenic and unforgettable excursions perfectly organized: Sunset Menoreh Hills martinis; Borobudur at Dawn; Progo River picnic are some you don't have to miss; a team you'll consider as a family in Java... Sincerely, nothing can be better and thanks to Mark, the 10 years Sean's work has been well preserved. Now, Mark will give to Amanjiwo his very special touch and no doubt it will be something simply amazing...

Amanjiwo is really the only place you can't miss in your life. We all miss Jiwo so much, we miss the special atmosphere of this place which rejuvenate the body and the mind, we miss the smiles of Javanese people who are so nice, we miss the nature so beautiful, we miss our Jiwo family and we miss Mark... Can't wait to return for the fourth time... EXCEPTIONNAL.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, the Dalem Jiwo suite is the most fabulous suite where we stayed. If not, all the suites are offering the same great design but try to choose one with a private pool for more privacy even if the main pool can be like a private one at certain times of the day.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RCBLHKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews