We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Amanjiwo Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amanjiwo Resorts
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Borobudur
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed at the Amanjiwo during the Chinese New Year. They have Mandarin-speaking staff to serve us, we impressed with personalized service. The view to Borobudur is really stunning when entering the lobby, and we also overlooked the Borobudur from our room. The rich diversity of their meals and cultural activities, it's really a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yaping75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    57
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
132
258
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I organised our family and friends for a memorable stay at Amanjiwo to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday which was enjoyed by all.

Amanjiwo has perfect formula for a memorable celebration with the combination of beautiful nature, peaceful surroundings and luxurious modern convenience; not to mention the professionalism displayed by the friendly GM of Amanjiwo, Mark Swinton and the entire team who are prepared to go the extra miles to ensure guests satisfaction are met for all as our group of 16, ranging from 8 years old to over 70 flew in from Singapore and Australia.

They fully executed our brief with excellence during the recent Chinese New Year period, Jan-Feb 2014. The weather was beautiful. Sunny until late afternoon, shower afterwards.

As the Resort enjoyed full occupancy during this festive season, we enjoyed spectacular entertainment of Lion Dance executed by highly skilled local performers. Coming from Singapore, we are familiar with traditional Lion Dance performance. However, the version performed was slightly different and enjoyed by all as it is more interactive.

We also enjoyed a fabulous piano and violin recital by the visiting rare classical performer, Dr. Ayke Agus, known primarily through her longtime collaboration with the violinist Jascha Heifetz. The concert was an excellent way to kickstart the birthday dinner.

We had 2 celebratory dinners at different venues and they both are excellent. Dinner at Pak Bilal's house is an extra ordinary experience for our family. The Poolside BBQ dinner is truly magical experience for our larger group of family and friends. The cakes were pre-order and specially outsourced from other bakery, suggested by the Hotel to suit the required theme. It was kind of them to suggest that and allow outside caterer. They really don't have to do that.

The food at Amanjiwo can be enjoyed in a number of different outlets, catering different diet requirements obligingly and are of excellent quality. We enjoyed the seasonal fruits offering during breakfast which comes from the local farms that we saw during our bike ride.

As the adults is keen to enjoy their time at the Resort to chillax, we narrowed down our must do list to only visit the Borobudur temple at sunrise & Dr. Oei of OHD Museum.

Borobudur Temple is the many reasons why people came to stay at Amanjiwo. As suggested by Amanjiwo, the best time to enjoy it is before sunrise. The 4:30AM wake up call is truly worth it and do opt for a guided tour as you wouldn't want to do it without. The fact that we can view the temple from the privacy of our pool villa is breathtaking.

As art is my passion, we couldn't skip OHD Museum & Widajat Museum. Due to Chinese New Year both places are actually closed. However, Dr. Oei kindly opened the museum for our visit despite it generally closes during public holiday and personally guided us for nearly 2 hours, leaving behind his full house of visiting friends and relatives from overseas who stayed in his house for the Chinese New Year.

The OHD Museum in Magelang gives an excellent overview of the the modern and contemporary of Indonesian art, about 30 minutes from Amanjiwo. Currently showcased specially curated exhibition from the selected pieces from more than 2000 artworks collected by Dr. Oei Hong Djien. His impressive collection ranges from paintings, sculptures, installations and new media art. His pleasant and interactive guidance during the walkthrough clearly displayed his passion in nurturing the talents of Indonesian artists and he is an inspiration to many art enthusiasts to start collecting. As the source of Indonesian art and advisors to many museums, Dr. Oei is considered, by world class standard, is the most important art collector in Indonesia if not SE Asia.

When all the adults enjoyed beautiful wellness treatments at the Spa, morning yoga, trips to OHD Museum, or relaxing in the private pool, there are more than enough to do for the children to enjoy within the resorts or outside. The choices are endless for the 3 nights stay. We couldn't do everything we wanted as we couldn't resist to do nothing and enjoy the beauty in this peaceful surroundings.

My 9 years old son and his 4 friends considered the stay at Amanjiwo as their best holiday ever as they are very well looked after and were impressed with the appearance of the cold towels and drinks every time they finished with an activity. Something that we couldn't keep up upon their return.

The sun rise at Borobudur, guided scenic biking tour around the villages, swimming, tennis and soccer were the activities they managed to fit in. Have they had more time, trekking, painting and kite making would be on their list too.

My late teenagers enjoyed the same offerings of other adults and agreed that 3 nights stay is too short to enjoy what the area has to offer and with excellent offerings from Amanjiwo.

If you are contemplating a visit and art is your passion, the upcoming ARTJOG2014 is in early June, which will exhibit the specially curated works by the best of Indonesian contemporary artists. Advance booking is recommended :-)

Room Tip: While The Management are very good at accommodating your needs, do book early to ensure your special...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ratuhenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I was staying at Amanjiwo 8 years ago and really impressed with personalized service, the view to Borobudur is really stunning when entering the lobby.
Javanese gamelan and the feeling is really magical and Aman....they do it discretly and of course with a style. Sunset trek to Manoreh hill and see the sun down with home martini and canapes...it's really a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Made A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed at the Amanjiwo during Chinese New Year, having previously stayed at the Amangalle in Sri Lanka. One unexpected nice surprise was the excellent programme for CNY. There was a Lion Dance, a Dragon Dance - nice if you travel with a 4year old. He was delighted.We did not have the CNY menu, but it looked good, too. On the second night, there was a complementary recital of an Indonesian violinist of some international renown - she was amazing. We also got a cookie baking class for kids and made some pretty good gingerbread cookies. Great fun!
As mentioned in other reviews - a unique characteristic of Aman Resorts is the peace and quiet, space, understated luxury, just very sophisticated. It is an exceptionally beautiful property. Amanjiwo is also very child friendly - there is a playroom, 4 hours complementary baby sitting if you want it and pony ride from 10 to 11am every day.
The package deal with 3 complementary activities was nice. An added bonus, although I specifically booked this.
Special mention of 'Manager Mark' who finds the right balance between being polite and helpful, but not exageratetly so, which then gets awkward. I think he does an outstanding job. The same goes for most of the staff. They really do manage to carry off the "Amanjiwo Family" style.
If I had to improve one thing, it would be the kitchen. The local dishes - at least the ones we had - were without exception very well prepared (husband: "best Murtabak I've eaten in my whole life"). The pastries were good, too. Althought I believe, some of the bread roles may have been heated up from the previous day? The Western food is a little uninspried. Competent, I would say. And if I wanted to be really, really critical - as a coffee lover, a bit of training on a decent coffee machine and flying someone in from Melbourne for a bit of help may not be a bad idea. However, the overall excellent experience still makes for 5 stars.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kshinsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights being cosseted by the wonderful family of Amanjiwo staff and really didn't want to leave even though it was quite rainy. We stayed in a Borobudur Pool Villa overlooking lush rice paddies and wonderful scenery with a view of Borobudur, 3km away. Greeted with rose petals and a welcome drink our stay continued with a gift by our bed every night and a box of watercolours and an artists pad to record our days filled with different experiences. Sunrise at Borobudur, walking in the Menoreh Hills and watching the locals racing pigeons. Every meal was a highlight and our every need was met. Great management and lovely staff make a refreshing difference to so many other mediocre hotels. Thank you Amanjiwo, we will be back to enjoy some sunshine!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

This property is on my top 5 list of properties in the world. I favor small boutique hotels and this one is perfect. Beautiful setting with views of the temple in the distance and volcano behind. The pool was great and perfect for lap swims as well. There was a wonderful afternoon tea that was very relaxing and delicious. The Rindik music played during dinner was authentic and relaxing. One of my favorite features of the Aman experience is the access. You can get in to the temple well before the public and watch the sun rise. We had a massage in the room that was perfect after a long bike ride through the rice fields nearby.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DennyMcNally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We loved everything at amanjiwo: the villas are great, location is perfect, service is the best i ever had in a 5 stars hotel. It is the first time we see a guy there to pick up the balls for us on a tennis court! Food is delicious, spa is great, and excursions are superb: in a word'' it is paradise.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amelie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borobudur
1.9 mi away
Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Amata Borobudur Resort
Amata Borobudur Resort
#4 of 10 in Borobudur
196 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
#5 of 10 in Borobudur
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
15.5 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
1.9 mi away
Plataran Heritage Borobudur Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanjiwo Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanjiwo Resorts

Property: Amanjiwo Resorts
Address: Ds. Majaksingi, Borobudur, Magelang 56553, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Magelang > Borobudur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Borobudur
#2 Spa Hotel in Borobudur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Borobudur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanjiwo Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanjiwo (peaceful soul) overlooks Borobudur, the world's largest Buddhist sanctuary, in the rural heartland of Central Java. Located in one of the most scenic parts of the country, the Menoreh Hills rise up behind and no less than four volcanoes grace the horizon. Amanjiwo provides the opportunity for immersion in Javanese culture, offering trips to ceremonies, temples and antique shops. Private dawn and sunset visits to Borobudur and other archeological monuments in the vicinity are the highlight of a stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amanjiwo Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjiwo Hotel Yogyakarta
Amanjiwo Resort Yogyakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing