We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amanjiwo Resorts
Nearby Hotels
Villa Borobudur Resort(Borobudur)
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$316
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Borobudurhills(Borobudur)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (571)
Filter reviews
571 results
Traveller rating
483
64
17
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
483
64
17
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool suiteaman propertyoutdoor bathtubborobudur suiteed tuttlemain buildingpool restaurantborobudur templehousekeeping staffrice fieldscentral javadriver guideprogo riverroom numberday bedthe general managercommon areas
Filter
Updating list...
390 - 395 of 571 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2008

As with most Amam properties, the setting is a remote location but the amenities and comfort available are second to none. The service was incredible, the building truly unique. It is one of the most surreal purposely designed main building, set in the middle of rice paddies. The views, the serenity, the service makes you feel like you've just stepped back in time and are living as the royalty of the region.

The rooms are beautifully appointed. Make sure you get a room that faces Borobudur if possible - simply breath taking. Provided in your room are water colours with which you can paint the mist that surrounds this ancient monument from your outdoor bale while enjoying afternoon tea.

The service that impressed us most was that after our hike up Menorah hill - towards the back of the property, our shoes were filthy. Well, after several hours, we returned and our shoes were cleaner than before the actual hike. No other words to describe the attention to detail. It's like the staff knows what you want even before you know what you want!

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank detang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2008

My wife and I spent part of our honeymoon at Amanjiwo, and had an amazing stay. Everything about the place is stunning - the service, the rooms, the common spaces, the excursions, the tranquility. It is truly an unforgettable place and experience. The only slight downside is the lack of gym/formal spa (they use one of the villas for massages), but who cares? It is a place simply to escape and take in all of the mysiticism surrounding the place. Make sure to book the excursion for a private visit to the Mendut temple at night - the best.

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank ptjc94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2008

The Amanjiwo is located in the middle of rice paddies, far away from everything, on a hill, close to mountains, very quiet, with stunning views of Borobudur, the most impressive temple in Java. In the evening you hear the muezims from the nearby mosques, paired with the view a great atmosphere. Sometimes you can even see one of the biggest volcanos in Java (best in the early morning, the view is best then - great). Hotel architecture very nice, almost always views of Borobudur. Rooms very nice decor. Staff is very friendly.

Some downsides: Food varies, sometimes good, but not excellent. Service is very very friendly, but slow (e.g. had to wait 20 minutes for a soda) and sometimes missing english language skills. Well, do not get me wrong, it is still a very good hotel, but for a hotel in this category you could expect a higher standard of service and food (but this is unfortunately the same with all Aman Resorts, at least the ones I know).

I can really recommend this hotel as one of the best locations in South East Asia for a long weekend, very romantic, very quiet and relaxing! I recommend to ride a bike to the nearby villages, very interesting and rural, very good experience! You can spend time at the temple, walk through rice paddies etc. etc. - so relaxing!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2008

Amanjiwo was a dream i've turned on reality a few weeks ago and to stay in this incredible resort looking like a fabulous and serene temple has been an unforgettable experience.
From the arrival to the departure, everything has exceeded all our expectations. The staff is great, always smily and attentive and they're providing one thousand little attentions to make of your stay a memorable time. "Taking care" is more than anywhere else (apart of the other Amanresorts), their main objective.
At our arrival, we have been greeted with showers of rose petals and a delicious drink. The amazing GM, Sean waited for us and escorted us to our incredible suite: The Dalem Jiwo Suite...
The architecture is breathtaking. Around a circular limestone monolith centered by a soaring, there are 36 suites including the Dalem Jiwo. It's like a compound with two ultra large and comfy bedrooms, a magical rotunda for lounging and dining and this suite is completed by a 15 meters private pool with stunning views on Borobudur and the vulcanoes.
The design of the rooms and the common areas is simply beautiful, chic, elegant and with this unique javanese touch. The silver leaf ceiling of the main restaurant is impressive and you'll feel in your room like in a peaceful paradise.
The food at jiwo is absolutely delicious. We have had a private BBQ in our suite with dance performance and all the dishes were just irresistible. Moreover, we'll keep this dinner experience in our memory for lifetime because our two butlers made a superb decoration full of flowers and candles.
But at Amanjiwo, many other things don't have to be missed like an excursion at Borobudur at dawn and a return back to the resort by andong; the sunset martinis at Menoreh hill or in the rice fields (i've never drink a so good martini) ; some trekkings in the beautiful surroundings areas with a private guide; a javanese massage, the best we have never had before and simply relax in this so special atmosphere.
We'll never forget our stay at Jiwo, the smiles of all the employees and their great kindness, the very nice javanese population, the beauty of the resort and the GM, Sean Flakelar who is doing a great job.
Merci... It was fabulous....

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RCBLHKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2008

Stayed there 2 nights in March, 2008. Loved every moment of it. I wished I could stay longer. The surrounding volcanoes were so beautiful that I felt like I was in a dream. The staff were all incredible. Borobudur is a must-see.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank coolasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews