We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of the best”
Review of Amanjiwo Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amanjiwo Resorts
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Borobudur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

From the moment we left the airplane to when they delivered us to our next hotel, the service was nothing but exceptional and above 5 star. We stayed in a pool villa and after telling them that we stopped on the way to see the locals selling small birds along the road, they promptly delivered a bird to our villa (which we released on our final day). Now that's service. The hotel is just down the road from Borobudur and numerous trips will be arranged by the friendly staff. We also had a driver/guide to show us the various art galleries / local market and even the world renown Luwak coffee. Everything was magnificent and although our trip to Borobudur was a one off, we will definitely stay with the Aman group again. Saludos to the staff and to Mark the GM. Thanks for phoning ahead to our next hotel. Its all in the details and this hotel knows that.

Room Tip: Pool Villas (private pool) are amazing, however the actual hotel pool area is mind blowing and so pe...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StarPANAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
There are newer reviews for Amanjiwo Resorts
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 158 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Having stayed at other Aman resorts, my wife and I knew this would complement our trip here to see Borobudur Temples. Amanjiwo met our every expectation. Like the other Southeast Asian Aman resorts, the beauty, serenity and comfort of Amanjiwo lulled us into quiet bliss. Impeccable and friendly service. Our suite was right at the edge of the rice fields. We woke up to the farmers already hard at work in the early morning (before the midday searing sun). The food was finely prepared. As with all Aman resorts, Amanjiwo was fully-booked but the place never felt busy, as if we had the entire resort to ourselves, further confirmed by such personal service. After the long car ride from the airport, we were so pleased to be welcomed here, with freshly prepared tropical juices, outside on the terrace and looking at the Borobudur Temple in the distance. Really special.

Room Tip: We love our suite right at the edge of the rice fields.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MILKONY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was our first experience at an Aman resort, although we have stayed at many other 5+ star resorts across Asia in the past - but simply put, this is the best experience we have ever had at any resort or hotel anywhere. Although the rooms are 17 years old and so not the most modern, they have aged well and still seem to fit perfectly with the surrounds - the architecture of the property is amazing, complimenting Borobudur perfectly. We did a couple of tours across the three days, but we were perfectly content to stay by the beautiful pool and enjoy long meals at the two restaurant locations.

However, by far the best part of the property is the service. Mark the GM is gracious, informative and completely focused on making your stay as close to perfect as possible. All of the other staff have very high english language skills, are super friendly whilst always professional and seem to always go out of their way to go that one step further than at any other resort. A good example is when one of the managers, AFTER we had already checked out of the resort, rang our airline to organise all of the changes we were trying to make to our reservation, without us ever asking her to do so - simply the best example of service I have ever come across, we were so very very grateful!

I can't think of anything negative to say about Amanjiwo - it's true that it is not cheap, but the location and everything about the experience that we had there made it worth ever dollar!!!! We traveled with a couple of other friends and the four of us will spend the next several years exploring as many other Aman resorts that we can - we're hooked!!!!

Room Tip: We had a villa facing Borobudur which was perfect - some villas had private pools, but we didn't...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BevanMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We had a really lovely time at Amanjiwo with our 2.5 year old daughter - special thanks to GM Mark Swinton and his dedicated team. It was very relaxing and truly beautiful. We were upgraded to the Borobudur suite and the room was spacious with such a pretty view.

Amanjiwo accommodated all of our requests from the very beginning, including a stop over at a gudeg place for breakfast from the airport to the resort, a stop over at the bakpia pathok shop so we could have some local goodies to snack on during the journey (there were snacks provided for us in the car but we opted for the famous local bakpia and mochi) & a stop over at a batik shop. Our driver was always ready with cold towels & cold water everytime we jumped back into the car from each of our stop overs. It was a nice touch.

Upon arrival at Amanjiwo, we were greeted by GM Mark for a little chat accompanied by very refreshing homemade ginger beer. We felt at home right away. Mark then even offered to take my husband for a run around the area the following morning, which was much appreciated.

Food at Amanjiwo was delicious. The gulai kambing was outstanding and the chocolate cake was to-die-for (we ordered a second one right after we took our first bite at it!). My daughter also really enjoyed her French toast breakfast with brown sugar.

A trip to Borobudur goes without saying - though we would have loved to do the sunrise at Borobudur, it was way too early for my little one (a reason to come back one day!) Dagi Hill breakfast picnic is a must. Go early - it's nicer and cooler, your warm cup of ginger tea would taste even better. My husband also went cycling around the villages and seemed to have had a great time trying kopi luwak and going to see a few paintings.

Don't forget your swimmers - the pool is great. The water temperature is just right and the view is magnificent. You can easily order a drink from the pool club whenever the weather gets hot.

Our last night at Amanjiwo was extra special as the restaurant staff presented us with a chocolate cake to celebrate our 4th wedding anniversary. But because our daughter was getting sleepy, we asked for the staff to bring it over to our room once she went to bed. Upon returning to our room, we found they have beautifully decorated our room with candles and flowers, and even filled the whole bathtub with warm water & flowers. It was magical. We enjoyed the cake very much with a cup of lemongrass tea later that evening.

Definitely a holiday to remember. Thank you again to Mark & team for making our stay so memorable.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Poki2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Everything was fantastic!!! The hotel was in the middle of nowhere, near the fantastic Borobudur temple. Our suite and our privet pool was very beautiful , the service was absolutely perfect... everybody treated us like kings and queens!! The New Year's Eve in amanjiwo, was unforgettable!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eve_n90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Amanjiwo is great and amazing place to relax and refresh your soul. They offers the amanjiwo's experience. The beauty of mother earth, the richness of Indonesian, especially Javanese beauty (herbal drink, authentic Javanese massage, nice and helpful staffs, welcome and au revoir snacks, and handmade wooden hat and bag as gift!!).

Amanjiwo is located in little village, 1.5 hours driving from Jogjakarta. I stayed there for 4 days without TV in my room. First time, i thought that I would get bored because it's far from city and what will you do without TV? But without TV, i had a lots of time to relax such as sit at the gazebo on our private balcony and saw the Borobudur or green rice field, and flying the lampion at night..:)

They had rooms with private pool, but unfortunately when i was there it was occupied.
Maybe next time, i will get that room!.. :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyceWibowo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Oh the joys of staying at Aman. Firstly, they always pick a beautiful location. Clearly a lot of thought had been put into the site and design of the hotel, with direct views of Borobudur in the distance framed by the pillars & walkways of the hotel. Rice paddies lie in front and to the back of the hotel, with forests either side cloaking it in green.
I have to say that our arrival into Solo was not well organised - the concierge ladies at the airport seemed to have no idea how to expedite our visas on arrival, with a lot of passports to and fro between them, and us just standing nearby. It honestly would have been quicker if we'd handled it ourselves. Maybe arrivals into Yogyakarta are smoother. However, once we were met by the Aman driver & car, everything fell into place. Cool towels, water, snacks and lots of interesting information given to us on the drive. I don't think the stop half way is necessary - I would have preferred just to get to Amanjiwo as fast as possible, but they are trying to be considerate offering coffee (& the best choc chip cookies ever!) etc & bathroom facilities en route.

We were after serenity, a break from city living (we now live in Singapore) and to see the temple at Borobudur (having loved our stay a few years ago at Amansara to see Angkor Wat). This, combined with a flexible itinerary, interesting suggested activities, delicious food & vino, with lovely service, made for an excellent stay.

We loved our Borobudur suite with direct sight-line to the temple from our huge outdoor daybed. One lovely early evening drinks here, watching the sky changing colours, listening to the distant muezzin. Beautiful.

Mark the GM is excellent. Unstuffy but proactive, thoughtful, on the ball and always armed with tailored suggestions. Fabulous. You get the very real sense that nothing is too much trouble.

What did we do? Sunrise at Borobudur - hmmmm, yes, lovely, but a lot of people. I actually think late afternoon is a better time of day. The temple shuts to most visitors around 5pm, but Aman have special access after that, so it would be much more peaceful. We had a wonderful guide who added so much to our enjoyment and understanding of the significance of the carvings & reliefs.

Also had a lovely breakfast at Dagi Hill with gorgeous views of Borobudur, but I confess I do love a picnic. I think one of my favourite things was the walk with the guide up in the Menoreh Hills up behind Amanjiwo. Walking through rice paddies, past villages where chillies, aubergine/eggplant and corn grew in profusion, watching village life unfold as fires were made, forage collected for the animals. At the top of the hill another picnic awaited us with a wicked carafe of soursop martinis. We watched from a platform ('Aman-ed' ie. lined with woven mats, cushions etc) as children climbed to a nearby precipe to fly kites over the valley, whilst we cooled down with our martinis. A very Aman experience! The local farmer kindly cut us a young coconut (supposed to give 'strength' to honeymooners! not that we were on honeymoon!) and we watched the sun descend whilst feasting on a wonderful picnic.

We also did the tour of the Mendut valley temples, all close by and added to our understanding of the area.

We cooled off with swims in the pool, with more views over the rice paddies, had some vigorous massages (two little ladies that were very strong!) and relaxed reading.

The property is designed for relaxing. There are lots of spaces you can curl up with a book - the library is terrific, the bar area (tea or cocktails), the verandah, the restaurant, the pool...

One or two of the garden suites are overlooked by the Borobudur suites and are not 100% private from the pool. If absolute privacy is important to you, request it and I'm sure Aman will oblige if possible.

Rooms - thoughtfully provided, down to a watercolour set & paintbrushes, mosquito repellent, bag for carrying your things whilst out & about, fruit etc. Extremely comfy bed. I loved the outdoor bath, but that's just me. A bath under the stars - gorgeous. Anything you wish is a phone call away.

We stayed 4 nights but could happily have stayed a week and explored more. Thank you Mark & team.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gvwells2030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borobudur
1.9 mi away
Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Amata Borobudur Resort
Amata Borobudur Resort
#3 of 10 in Borobudur
227 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
#6 of 10 in Borobudur
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Plataran Heritage Borobudur Hotel
22.7 mi away
MesaStila Resort and Spa
MesaStila Resort and Spa
#5 of 22 in Magelang
452 reviews
15.1 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 206 in Yogyakarta
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanjiwo Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanjiwo Resorts

Address: Ds. Majaksingi, Borobudur, Magelang 56553, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Magelang > Borobudur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Borobudur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Borobudur
#3 Spa Hotel in Borobudur
Price Range: £476 - £1,069 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanjiwo Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanjiwo (peaceful soul) overlooks Borobudur, the world's largest Buddhist sanctuary, in the rural heartland of Central Java. Located in one of the most scenic parts of the country, the Menoreh Hills rise up behind and no less than four volcanoes grace the horizon. Amanjiwo provides the opportunity for immersion in Javanese culture, offering trips to ceremonies, temples and antique shops. Private dawn and sunset visits to Borobudur and other archeological monuments in the vicinity are the highlight of a stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith and Cancelon so you can book your Amanjiwo Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjiwo Hotel Yogyakarta
Amanjiwo Resort Yogyakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing