We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet - but that's what you want”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Borobudur
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quiet - but that's what you want”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed for two nights, which appears to be quite unusual - most people come solely for the Borobudur temple, which only takes a few hours to explore, unless you are a specialist, in which case it might take a lifetime. For a government-run hotel it's pleasant and welcoming - so unlike the Moscow Ukrainia of 1976! But it's still a government-run hotel where guests are not expected to stay for more than a night. The rooms are pleasant enough, and clean enough, and the staff are pleasant enough, the prices are reasonable enough, and the restaurant food and ambiance are nice enough, even during Ramadan. The great draw of course is the hotel's location, actually within the Borobudur temple grounds, and temple entry (plus a 1980s-style video promo) is included in the room price. You have to pay extra to join the dawn excursion, but I'm not sure that it's worth the extra money and the extra loss of sleep, as the place is quite crowded then - not the peace and quiet that you might be expecting. Normal opening hours start at 6am, which is just a few minutes after dawn, and which should be early enough for most folk. The crowds start to thin out about then, too. No extra charge, and no loss of sleep, if you want to witness sunset rather than sunrise.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet and none is inaccessible, but it might be convenient to get one close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiltwearer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    455
    161
    26
    13
See reviews for
206
332
153
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We really enjoyed our one night at the Manohara. The reason we gave it a 3 is because it is not a fancy hotel – it is very basic. For a 4 or 5 rating we look for something that is very unique or stand out.

The location is amazing right on the grounds of the temple. We did the sunset and the sunrise and the village tour on a horse buggy. We really enjoyed the village tour. The driver spoke very little English but it still was a fun tour.

The food in the hotel is good, we had breakfast, lunch, & dinner. It is very inexpensive.

We only stayed one night but wished we had stayed for two as it was very relaxing and we would have liked to bike or walk around the village.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Manohara was as you would expect from a quality Hotel. It was very good and just what we needed after a few too many flights in tight succession.
The location on the precinct of the Borobodur UNESCO site, with the beautiful grounds, is hard to beat and makes the "quality-end" price acceptable. You are right at Borobudur and can venture out, up and over the site whenever you fancy and as often as you wish.That is hard to beat. The staff at the hotel were excellent and extremely friendly, very helpful and attentive.
If there's anything that lets the hotel down slightly, it would be the menu in the restaurant which is a little dull and not very diverse - breakfast however, was pretty good.
The hotel did organise a Dokar ride for us and that was an unexpected highlight - traveling through Borobudur village, down all the back streets in a hose drawn carriage was something special.
All in all, the hotel's biggest asset and selling point is its location and is a very easy place to relax and enjoy. If your budget can stretch to it, we believe it is worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyJulieN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My partner and I stayed at another hotel near Manohara to do a sunset tour of Borobudur. The website for that hotel stated they could organise this but instead directed us to Manohara who were the only hotel to have organised sunset and sunrise tours of Borobudur.

Already disappointed, we went to Manohara to organise the sunset tour, to find much they charged to be way overpriced. I've travelled Indonesia a lot and know that some places charge different prices of entry to temples and tourist attractions for locals and foreigners. Whilst to me RP20,000 means about AUD$2, I've always accepted it as it's just how it (unfortunately) is in Indonesia. Although I was born in Australia, I am Indonesian by blood as both my parents are Indonesian, but because there's an Australian accent speaking Indonesian or I need to show some sort of ID, I have to pay the foreigner price.

At Manohara, if you're a guest, no matter what nationality, you pay RP230,000 for a sunset or sunrise tour. But if you are not a guest, there is a distinct difference in prince between local and foreigner. As a foreigner, you have to pay RP400, 000 (approx. AUD$40) per person. The local price is about half. It's pretty expensive!

After politely trying to negotiate with the manager, my partner and I relented and just paid the full price each. We didn't get a guide but another couple on the temple did. We weren't taken care of and just got pointed to where to go and that's it. It ended up being cloudy and we didn't even see a proper sunset. As we left, angry and disappointed with our experience, the staff laughed behind our backs as we left. Just because I pay the foreigner price, does not mean I still can't understand Indonesian.

Don't bother with Manohara.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AusCantik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

beautiful hotel and gardens. clearly renovated since Lonely Planet wrote about it.
open terraces in rooms and open restaurant with a view of the temple grounds. several days a week dance and music performances. next to the temple complex. we did a late afternoon stayed for the sunset, much better than sunrise! the horse carriage took us on a 2 hour tour of villages and more distance temples. pickup from Jogjakarta went as planned.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ingolfvogeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

IDR 900,000/room/night is not cheap but including the fee to enter Borodudor during the stay is worth it. Some discount for the dawn ticket is a plus for the value. The room was up to expectations. If you want other services, find them yourself is much cheaper.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forestgecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Great hotel and perfect location to see the Borubudur temple, also if you are doing a sunrise tour. All you need is luck for a great sunrise. Also transport to the airport fair price. Food breakfast ok, could be a bit better. Resort very well kept and tidy. Rooms really nice. Temple 2 min walking distance.

Room Tip: try to get the room facing the temple
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spanc2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borobudur
1.1 mi away
Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Amata Borobudur Resort
Amata Borobudur Resort
#3 of 10 in Borobudur
207 reviews
1.2 mi away
Plataran Heritage Borobudur Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
16.3 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
18.5 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 204 in Yogyakarta
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manohara Borobudur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manohara Borobudur

Property: Hotel Manohara Borobudur
Address: Jl. Badrawati | Komplek Taman Wisata Candi Borobudur, Borobudur, Magelang 56553, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Magelang > Borobudur
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Borobudur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Borobudur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Manohara Borobudur 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manohara Resort offers beds with front-seat views of one of the globe's most amazing destination, The magnificent Borobudur temple, UNESCO World Culture Heritage from your own intimate balcony. Inspired by javanese traditional living, the warm colors of the cozy interior is combined with modern amenities for an enlightening sleeping experience. Manohara Resort has 35 javanese contemporary designed room, each rooms comprises you a generous living area, providing the perfect space for an unforgettable stay. From achieving a peaceful state of mind combined with state-of-the-art facilities, leave the outside world behind! Embrace the biggest Buddhist temple in the world, Borobudur Temple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Manohara Borobudur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Manohara Hotel Borobudur
Manohara Hotel Magelang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing