We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here if you plan to visit Borobudur”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Borobudur
Certificate of Excellence
Coquitlam, British Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay here if you plan to visit Borobudur”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We were glad we stayed here.The hotel is located about 5 minutes walk from the Temple. The room we were in was very clean and quiet and the Hotel staff efficient and friendly. Touring this magnificent temple was a wonderful experience Do not miss the elephant ride! My wife and I had a great time. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FShim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    456
    161
    26
    13
See reviews for
207
332
153
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed there only one night, to visit the temple Borobudur. It was great, since with the price of the room, you get to visit the temple as many times you wish, from 6h00 to 18h00, I think. So we went the day we arrived, and also the next morning. we arrived at 6h00, and we saw the sunrise, beautiful. Otherwise the hotel has big and comfortable rooms, no internet in the room, big bathrooms. Breakfast was not as good as we expected. In summery, stay there only if you plan to take advantage of the entry to the temple.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Location of the hotel is absolutely amazing. Very peaceful grounds. Room was very good quality with great soundproofing. If you are interested to visit UNESCO World Heritage temple you must select this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from commonly used walking path
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vlad_Olga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Steps away from the famous Borobudur: helps you maximize your stay in the area. They have special "stay-in guests" prices for the Sunrise and Sunset tickets - there's no tour guide included but they give complimentary tickets to the AV room as well for a bit of history on the temple. As a guest of the Manohara as well, you have special privileges for entrance into Borobudur - i.e. longer stay during sunset: non-guests are asked to leave by 5.15 PM but guests are allowed till 6.20PM and for sunrise, you can enter as early as 430PM before the tourist hordes come in. I think to fully enjoy the beauty of the place, these privileges help - nothing quite like having Borobudur (almost) all to yourself. The manicured gardens provide a zenlike feel to your stay and you can actually see Borobudur from one of their restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JGA_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This exquisite hotel is on the grounds of the ancient ruin and you walk out the back, climb the stairs and there you are. No entrance, no fee, no crowd. It is well worth the extra money to stay because you can go into the ruin, rest, return, eat, return at your leisure. It was a fabulous experience to stay there.

Room Tip: all the same good-but one where the patio overlooks the ruin is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We have just returned from 3 days at the Manohara hotel and had a wonderful time. The hotel was excellent value for money with clean modern rooms situated in beautiful manicured gardens, all within the Borobodur park. Entry to the temple is included in the hotel price and a voucher is given every day for the temple, breakfast and the in house movie which details facts about Borobudur. Each room has a terrace which was was lovely in the evening to sit in with the lovely gardens all around. Breakfast was simple but adequate. Staff were friendly and we ate in the restaurant 2 nights out of 3 which was surprisingly cheap for to the 4 of us with neither nights eats exceeding $40 AUD for 4, food was tasty and nice. As mentioned the hotel is within the park boundary so daytime entry to the temple is included and the ticket allows as many visits in a day as you like. The sunset and sunrise tours are extra, but if staying at the Manohara it is discounted to 230000idr per person instead of the 380000idr for foreign (non indonesian) tourists. The surnise starts at 4.30am where you buy your ticket and are then escorted to the temple steps by a guide, torches in hand, once at the steps the guide leaves and you are free to walk up the temple and situate yourselves for the sunrise. Unfortunately, the morning we went the clouds were so thick that there really wasnt much of a sunrise at all but this is luck of the draw and we still had a lovely time on the temple, in the dawn before the crowds arrived. speaking of crowds, it was the end of ramadan when we visited so the temple was extremely busy by 8.30am so recommend getting there pretty early. Outside of end of Ramadan it could be quieter though but for us it was insanely busy. We visited the temple 3 times during our stay and it was great every time, ven with the crowds. The second day we went on a tour to the Dieng Plateau, which is a whole other review. As for the Manohara, i would recommend anyone to stay here as it is great value for money, well located and such a pleasant hotel. It doesnt have swimming pool, but not being a big swimmer i didnt care about that, others may absolutely have to have a pool..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LindaShir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just a short drive from Yogyakarta, the Manohara is extraordinary value for money considering its superb location within the temple grounds. The room rate actually includes entrance to the temple and breakfast after the visit. In fact, hotel guests can enter the site really early, before it opens for everyone else - which provides a fantastic opportunity to watch the sun rise and then wander around this unique temple with just a handful of people - as opposed to with the hundreds that will cross the gates when the site opens to all. A truly awesome experience.
When heading back for breakfast, you may find yourself amidst a large organised tour and you may think that's where you stop too, but keep walking towards reception. The actual breakfast is set separately from the large groups.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xavitat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borobudur
1.1 mi away
Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Amata Borobudur Resort
Amata Borobudur Resort
#3 of 10 in Borobudur
208 reviews
1.2 mi away
Plataran Heritage Borobudur Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
16.3 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
18.5 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 205 in Yogyakarta
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manohara Borobudur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manohara Borobudur

Property: Hotel Manohara Borobudur
Address: Jl. Badrawati | Komplek Taman Wisata Candi Borobudur, Borobudur, Magelang 56553, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Magelang > Borobudur
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Borobudur
#4 Family Hotel in Borobudur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Manohara Borobudur 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manohara Resort offers beds with front-seat views of one of the globe's most amazing destination, The magnificent Borobudur temple, UNESCO World Culture Heritage from your own intimate balcony. Inspired by javanese traditional living, the warm colors of the cozy interior is combined with modern amenities for an enlightening sleeping experience. Manohara Resort has 35 javanese contemporary designed room, each rooms comprises you a generous living area, providing the perfect space for an unforgettable stay. From achieving a peaceful state of mind combined with state-of-the-art facilities, leave the outside world behind! Embrace the biggest Buddhist temple in the world, Borobudur Temple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Manohara Borobudur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Manohara Hotel Borobudur
Manohara Hotel Magelang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing