We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Borobudur”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Omah Garengpoeng Guest House
Ranked #5 of 16 Borobudur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Borobudur”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Indonesian BB bungalows type characteristic and comfortable. Managers very friendly and helpful. Indonesian food of high quality. The rooms are Zen, lies the essential, no wardrobe for storing clothes that need to remain in suitcases. Our stay was quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oprando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    8
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
16
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jona, Switzerland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

The Guest House was a bit difficult to find. Entrance area is very muddy and dirty. The bungalow is nice but the whole area looks a bit neglected and empty. Perhaps because we could not see any other guests at the time we were there. The owner Erwin is helpful.
Dinner good, breakfast okay.
We cannot say it is a bad place but for the money you pay, you can get much better accommodation in Indonesia and found it totally overpriced. It was by far the most expensive accommodation of our travel in two weeks Indonesia but not among the best three. For this money you can find better accommodation

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ostschweizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y Nadia M, Guest Relations Manager at Omah Garengpoeng Guest House, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments.
We're really sorry when you're booking the room, we haven't release our promo.
Next time you can check for our promo. We are really want to do the best for our customer.
Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Omah Garengpoeng!

Best Regards,
Nadia
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful experience staying at the place. Everything about this place is just awsome. The food, the ambience and on top of it we had a wonderful host, Mr.Abang who runs the place. No words are enough to describe his hospitality. A must visit place if planing a holiday at this part of the world!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank arunmanjila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y Nadia M, Guest Relations Manager at Omah Garengpoeng Guest House, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments.
Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Omah Garengpoeng!

Best Regards,
Nadia
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulfborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We travelled as a school group of 10 people, and Omah Gorenpoeng was one of our first stops in Indonesia. The evening we arrived, Mt Kelud erupted, and most of Java was covered in ash the morning after. A bit daunting for not-so-volcano-savvy travellers, but we were very well looked after by Erwin and Lily, who did everything to make our stay comfortable, despite the ash. Everything was closed, including the Borobudur temple. Erwin went out of his way to introduce us to other sights and activites, and our stay was thoroughly enjoyable, despite the challenges of everything being covered in ash! Lily's food is nothing short of amazing.

Room Tip: All the huts are built from genuinely old materials and are all nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Wonderful place to stay, so typical and everything is artistically handmade, from the toillets to the doors...according with the typical javanese architecture.
We booked and than they call us and send someone to pick us at the airport, they just waited for us to have dinner and the food was wonderful!!! Everything was so delicious and not that spicy as we tasted before in Jakarta, more tasteful and rich. We had a wonderful breakfast too.
The bungalow was made like in a fairytale...every detail so precious, every corner so magic!
Erwin was the perfect host! He tooks as all around the place and showed us a lot of local spots :)
Erwin's daughter Nadia was just as helpful even with picking us at Malang (where we got by train) the day after, so we could be at Cemorolawang as we schedule before.
A big Thanks to this big family who made us feel like home, even far away from Portugal.
And a low cost service with really high standard service.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RitaVazTeixeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y Nadia M, Guest Relations Manager at Omah Garengpoeng Guest House, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments.
Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Omah Garengpoeng!

Best Regards,
Nadia
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Me and my wife were heading to Borobudur to visit the Borobudur temple. It was a day before Vesak day. After we realized that our booking from the previous another hotel was never went through and we were a bit stranded at Borobudur , we found this lovely place called Omah Garengpoeng Guest House , unexpectedly on the same day.

Omah Garengpoeng Guest House is where best things happen more than we expect. Traditional Javanese guesthouse where we can observe antique Javanese handcrafts. Our hosts , Mr Erwin ( a veteran engineer ) and his lovely wife ( cuisine expert ) are very charming and kind and so sweet. Like a family as it is, we are treated with traditional home-cooked three different meals everyday, which is so nice that I even ask for more - " Uncle Erwin didn't know about it !!".

The guesthouse is located oppsite a pleasant green plantation and at the backdrop of plantation is view of mountains. In the guesthouse compound, several different houses are erected with different designs. You can choose your favourite house. So cool and nice. Uncle Erwin, our host, would show us around the very clean and well constructed neighbourhoods of Borobudur, where I first time see in my life that the houses are mostly not divided by the fences.

Borobudur temple itself is wornderful . Omah Garengpoeng Guest House adds our visit more meanings because we encountered an authentic experience with local family - style treatment.

On our return to Yogyarkata , Mr. Erwin would arrange the transport and we just need to pay the fare.
We may ask the driver with additional fare to send us to extra loacations like Prambanan Temple on the way back.

To me , it was worth while experience and we get more than what we bargain for . On top of that , it was a major plus to encounter such a wonderful local family.

I would like to conclude this review adding a personal accont : By chance or fate - call it what you may - my wife was conceived with our first baby shortly after we return from this trip. In buddhist tradition, it was a fortunate event.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y Nadia M, Guest Relations Manager at Omah Garengpoeng Guest House, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments.
Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Omah Garengpoeng!

Best Regards,
Nadia
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

The javanese style architecture was great. Erwin, our host, was amazing and led us to discover the little wonders in the neighborhood that does not make it into Borobudur top ten lists.

The food was superb. We were served breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food was all local dishes, prepared by Erwin's wife. She wrote a cookbook and it definitely shows in the cuisine. Everyday, we looked forward to the next meal. If you value local, authentic flavour, this place has it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jingshen_ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y Nadia M, Guest Relations Manager at Omah Garengpoeng Guest House, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments.
Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Omah Garengpoeng!

Best Regards,
Nadia
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Borobudur hotels
0.7 mi away
Amata Borobudur Resort
Amata Borobudur Resort
#4 of 10 in Borobudur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
2.2 mi away
Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
#5 of 10 in Borobudur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Villa Sumbing Indah
Villa Sumbing Indah
#6 of 10 in Borobudur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.0 mi away
Saraswati Borobudur
Saraswati Borobudur
#7 of 10 in Borobudur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Borobudur
Villa Borobudur
#1 of 10 in Borobudur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omah Garengpoeng Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omah Garengpoeng Guest House

Property: Omah Garengpoeng Guest House
Address: Jl. Kalangan, Tingal Wetan no. 197 Desa Wanurejo, Borobudur, Magelang 56553, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Magelang > Borobudur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Borobudur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Omah Garengpoeng Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good place to spend your holiday. Feel the traditional environment to know more about Indonesia tradition and Indonesia special food ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omah Garengpoeng Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing