We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mystical Place moving forward with time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Queen of The South Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Parangtritis
Vancouver
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Mystical Place moving forward with time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

After 1 year, I stayed at this mystical place of Parangtritis again. Since last time, the hotel have major developments. Outside beyond the parking lot facing the mountain backdrops, there are numerous lodges built for family accommodation. These will not have any seaview but still will have the comforts and modern facilities. At the main ground, the centrally located pendopol is still the focal point but the little joglo has been moved to the west end of the resort, no less beautiful done that offers an excellent views of the mountain as well as the Indian Ocean. The pool at the lawn now is under construction but the one at the east end where the presidential suites are located was done. The pool offers the unobstructed view of the ocean and both are deep! The grounds are still kind of rough with the stairs down the beach the same condition as before.
The road leading to the resort is in better condition but still I would not want to venture at night.
This is the best hotel at Parangtritis with direct access to the beach, so you can choose to go down anytime of day or night.
I came here for the annual worship and meditation at Goa Langse nearby. It is about 20 minutes by car then the local guide Basuki, a fit young man will bring you down the vertical cliff of 400m climbing down wood and steel laddars, stepping on narrow areas between tree roots to reach the beautiful natural site. There is the spectacular view of the hill and the ocean down below from the viewing temple, and then the limestone cave deep inside the hill for meditation. The spring water is sacred and have healing properties. I meditate to the Queen of the South Sea.
I also attended the Parangkusumo Labuhan Ceremony nearby with the ritualistic return of items from the Kraton to the Queen of the South Sea as tradition has it.

Room Tip: They let you see the rooms, so you can choose either seaview with the sounds of the ocean or the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mucuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    55
    24
    7
    8
See reviews for
41
41
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

its another best hideaway in Jogja with stunning view, really combination of Hill and beach. They have direct access to the beach in addition here is the perfect place to enjoy sunset with glass of ice cold beer. The breeze was awesome, rooma are facing the famous Indian Ocean, this is the only beach resort in Jogja i guess. Oh really you should try the coconut here, its different and as well as the banana fritter, just try you will say that i was right. Not to forget the Parangtritis fried rice is just speechless.

Room Tip: choose the superior number 10 / 33 / 37, all they have nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rickyan_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricky s, General Manager at Queen of The South Resort, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Mr. Rickyan,

Greetings from the sunny Gunung Kidul !

First of all, thank you very much for the positive feedback which we do really appreciate it. We are very happy that you enjoy your magnificent holiday with us and hopefully by the picture you share, all the Trip Advisor visitor will experience the same what you had. Thank you again for the compliment feedback about our Banana fritter and Super Green coconut.
We are very looking forward to welcoming you for the next visit.

Kindest Regards,


Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

I stayed here again after 2 years. The road up the hill to the resort is still rough. I have my guide and driver brought me to Parangtritis. They thought they will get me to stay in one of those motels on the beach for next to nothing. But I insisted on going to Queen of the South and told them to go up the hill and follow the sign of the hotel. Somehow, they missed the turn off and we were up and down on this tiny path deep into the jungle after dark and finally came to a dead end road that said Gua Langse! I explained that I was not going to the cave tonight in the dark as I was not crazy. So we u-turned and thank God we did not fall off the cliff or something. We finally found the way to the hotel which is beautifully lit.
I stayed in a room facing the sea with spectacular view.
Room service was great and they rarely have visitors during weekdays and the room and bed were all comfortable but bathroom needed major renovation. The rest of the hotel ground showed its poor maintenance the next morning. Some of the stone columns were still toppled since I saw the way they were 2 years ago. It had been the way since the earthquake. Some area had stone fences totally collapsed, so don't venture too far.
But I walked down the stairs to the beach and the ocean was still rough as usual. They said never turned your back against the wave, very true. I was almost carried out by it!
The pool which was so beautiful in front of the little pendopo was gone. Totally filled in by the stone mined from the cliff nearby. The staff explained, since the hotel was sold last year, structural things had been taken place. The pool will be smaller, located on the lawn. They will move the small pendopo away to the west, so there will be no obstruction when sitting down to dine in the restaurant hall. To the west of the hotel, at the moment they are working hard building the new presidential suite which will feature a private pool at the highest point of the cliff. Then after these structure elements are done, they will start looking at the rest of the ground and may be start cleaning up... I think it will years before it regains its glory.
I like the staff working there and they are very hopeful that the hotel will get it together soon and in the meantime, they are still welcoming visitors to stay and experience this magical place.
It is the closest place to stay if you want to explore Gua Langse. The climb down the cliff was very dangerous and tough but having stayed in the hotel, you can shower and change and have lunch. I am glad to have stayed here again.

Room Tip: They let you look at the rooms first, all superior rooms facing the ocean. I slept with the sound o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mucuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Great views, excellent lcoation, more staff is neecded and more renovation. Teh people on site are great and the ocean is impressive but there is just not that much to do and the fact that there is no pool is a big minus.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gremlin-Kremlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

I visited 9 June at lunch. The absence of other customers and staff first struck me as odd for such a big resort. Settling down to lunch in the beautifully placed gazebo on the cliff, I understood why: pool was completely dry, which spoiled the surrounding ambience; food took a long time to come out and was not well cooked; staff hiding out the back behind the pendopo, which meant if you wanted anything you had to go walk out and hunt for them; infrastructure was peeling and not well maintained. Saw not a single guest in the very big compound in over 2 hrs. The access road is narrow and poor. Non-existent website, no marketing manager... the list goes on, and speaks to the fact this place is being neglected by its absentee owner big time. Did not end up staying that night.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Once upon a time this was the best accommodation near Jogja, owned by Dutch wife and husband. I came to stay here for the first time in 1997, and I am happy to return here again in 2013.
Because of great earthquake, this beautiful hotel was completely destroyed in 2008. But Parangtritis beach is still beautiful and seems nothing has been changed.
A local company bought this hotel in 2012 and started renovation. I hope this jewel regains its glorious day's reputation again.
If you stand on the top of cliff, you may recall your beautiful families and friends and remind your happy days.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Akasaka8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krasnoyarsk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

Famous swimming pool is under construction. Which is very disappointing and without any notification on site. Fist room we checked with AC broken. Second room better but very simple. No safe, wi-fi in the room. Not very clean. Insects inside the room. Very remote. Need taxi to get to vlg.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shalimonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parangtritis
14.2 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
9.4 mi away
Tickle Hotel
Tickle Hotel
#110 of 193 in Yogyakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
13.1 mi away
Bedhot Homestay
Bedhot Homestay
#1 of 1 in Bantul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Hotel Rengganis
Hotel Rengganis
#57 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
14.6 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#55 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
14.5 mi away
Greenhost Boutique Hotel
Greenhost Boutique Hotel
#21 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen of The South Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen of The South Resort

Property: Queen of The South Resort
Address: Klampok Girijati Purwosari Gunungkidul, Parangtritis 55772, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Parangtritis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Parangtritis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Queen of The South Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Beach Resort in Parangtritis Yogyakarta with astonishing sunset view from the hill. A perfect place for Wedding in our Cliff Pool facing the dramatic Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queen of The South Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Of The South Hotel Parangtritis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing