We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brusque and unfriendly staff - Hard to warrant a 4 star rating for this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ringhotel Winzerhof
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rauenberg
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Just returned from a 2 day dealer's meeting in Wiesloch and we were booked into this hotel. I came into the restaurant by mistake with my small amount of hand luggage the first night and was shouted at for not using the hotel entrance. Room was small but clean, view was over someone's backyard and from whichever direction one looked there was the sight of another house in the village - not a picturesque location, despite the rural "gasthaus" first impression from the outside. The breakfast was very good, but a cheery "Gutentag" to the waitress was greeted by a sullen look. The dining room in the evening was full (mainly locals apparently) and the one male waiter was the only friendly face I saw there. After three dinners there I had exhausted the vegetarian options.
Bathroom was clean, hot water sporadic (don't you just love it as it jumps from hot to cold and back to scalding as you wake up in the shower?!) and there were no toiletries apart from stock shampoo/soap in a container fixed to the wall. TV was of course only in German, all 25 channels and the picture froze periodically. Hard to warrant a 4 star rating for this hotel.
There was a very long queue for checking out and my company MC credit card was not accepted despite correct PIN and more than adequate funds - the 40 minute + delay meant that I missed my flight. It was a depressing start to my stay and a depressing end.
I shall be back there at our next dealer's meeting, but don't look forward to it.

Room Tip: Rooms were quiet (apart from 6 am church bells which I didn't find too disturbing), but views fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomebamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringhotel-Winzerhof, Front Office Manager at Ringhotel Winzerhof, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Sir,
thank you very much for your voting.
In case of your statement we want to comment as follows:
We are sorry, that we didn’t fulfilled your expectations.
It would have been nice if you contact us and told us about your problems with us, because we hoteliers from the Ringhotels always have an open ear for our guests – you are our most important asset.
Also important to us is our staff – which we appreciate and which we are very proud for them. Therefore we are very hit by the statement “unfriendly staff”.
We offer in our guest rooms in the bath a shampoo or a soap.
In case for the environment we generally don’t offer small single packings.
Also we have and description in the room for the TV with a list where you can find the international channels.
For not acceptance your credit card (with correct pin) we don’t have influence.
It’s message from the bank.
However, we would be very happy to welcome you again in our house – if you want to give us a second chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2013

I stayed at the Winzerhof on a business trip. The reservation was made for me by a local German colleague (I'm from the US) and I was pleased with his choice. The staff was very friendly, the room was comfortably large, wireless internet worked without issue, the breakfast every morning was very good! The orange juice machine (like a huge juicer that takes in whole oranges out of a bin!) made marvelous juice! I ate in the restaurant one night and the food there was really good...hearty German food.
All in all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimFlyer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I found this hotel on a business trip and really enjoyed the place. Nice and warm welcome, in English if you need, nice and clean room. This family owned place makes your really feel like you are in this part of Germany and nowhere else. The restaurant provides good and simple local food and you can eat outside in summer. There is a nice little pool in upper level with sauna if you fancy it. If you are looking for a hotel which isn't looking like any other hotel of the same chain, have a try in this one and hopefully, you will enjoy the experience. Prices are quite reasonnable as well.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeniZinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

I've stayed once on the weekend and quite liked the place - nice and cozy territory, peaceful surroundings, very good restaurant. My room was quite good - newly refurbished, spacious, the bed was ok.
I really like the restaurant – they serve some German local food and it is really good!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nastasja_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Hotel is OK. Rooms are quite small. Wifi works but only 1 device at a time. Restaurant was quite good. Did not use exercise room due to odd hours of 6-10 PM, as I normally go in the mornings. Oddly enough could not find a bar when walking around Rauenberg. One is on site at the hotel, we just wanted some place different.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I stayed two nights in the hotel on a business trip. Beds (single room) are tiny (90 x 190cm) and not acceptale for taller people like myself - "You can buy an upgrade to a double room" is not an acceptable answer received at the reception either ...
The location is quite nice (for having a run or a walk) and staff unfriendliness (on first sight) can be explained with "rural charme".
Design / furniture in rooms (as well as carpets) are if at all just acceptable; rooms are not noice isolated and ear plugs were useful - bathrooms have been renovated and are clean and well functional (but pls. exchange the Shampoo). Restaurant food quality was good and WiFi Access is free.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAGOHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

I've stayed at the Winzerhof many times on business, but not anymore. This Hotel has had a captive local business with SAP and DuPont for many years and frankly has milked it. A few of the rooms (above the reception) are really excellent, but the vast majority have not been refurbished for many years and are very tired and scruffy.
The restaurant is pretty good, but the service is poor. They have several function rooms and if they have some kind of function during the evening then forget it if you're a resident.
The newly opened Villa Medici in Bad Schoenborn is close by and must be taking many customers from the Winzerhof. Also I would recommend the Scheffelhohe in Bruchsal or the Kreuzberghof in Tiefenbach.

Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
Thank DesmoCheltenham_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rauenberg
8.6 mi away
Hotel Sinsheim
Hotel Sinsheim
#1 of 6 in Sinsheim
162 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Palatin Kongress Hotel
5.7 mi away
Ratsstube
Ratsstube
#6 of 6 in Sinsheim
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Wincent Hotel
Wincent Hotel
#3 of 6 in Sinsheim
91 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Baer
Hotel Baer
#2 of 6 in Sinsheim
55 reviews
8.3 mi away
Cross-Country-Hotel Hirsch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ringhotel Winzerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringhotel Winzerhof

Address: Bahnhofstr. 4-8, 69231 Rauenberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Rauenberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rauenberg
Price Range: £111 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ringhotel Winzerhof 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ringhotel Winzerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing