We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B & B 'lite'” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boathouse Bosham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Boathouse Bosham
Ranked #1 of 5 Bosham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent B & B 'lite'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Spent a night here yesterday and found everything great, easy to find, tidy, clean, clear info and no hassle. Spoke to Kevin this morning and wish him (them) good luck in the next venture.

Two things I meant to say about - but forgot, (helpful criticism) - couldn't get the wifi to work & the overrun on the downstairs fan in the adjacent apartment is noisy / goes on for far too long - especially at 6.00am in the morning.

Other than that - very pleasant and would return again.

Also good recommendation to go to the Berkley Arms - food / service great.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vegieplot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bosham-Boater, Owner at The Boathouse Bosham, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback.

I just wanted to say one thing for the benefit of anyone looking to stay.

When you rightly brought the fan to my attention I did explain that it had just been replaced and the Electrician had set it all to it's maximum durations. (Which is standard for a commercial application)

I did tell you that I would go round that day with my screwdriver and adjust it down to run for a couple of minutes after the light was switched off. This is exactly what I did do.

I thanked you for sharing this with me.

It's great when a customer lets you know of a problem but as I explained the reason and remedied it within hours of you leaving. Was this really the place to mention it again?

Goodness knows how many people were put off by this. Just a tip for future review writing.

All the best both of you

Kind regards

Kevin & Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    32
    14
    10
    4
See reviews for
32
145
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Benitachell
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We booked for 2 nights and pleasantly surprised to be contacted and offering us a room upgrade. Very easy self check-in and we were delighted with the room and facilities, Beds were very comfortable with quality linen (but don't forget your own towels) and a useful wine fridge and a good array of teas and coffees.
Lorraine and Kevin were very helpful and we left as friends and wouldn't hesitate in booking again,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seraphsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

The couple running the B&B were friendly and helpful. The room was a good size (we were upgraded to a top floor room with sloping ceilings.) The room was clean, everything worked, and the breakfast was good. I'd stay again.

I thought it was a bit expensive (£99 for two) , but obviously they have no problems filling it at those prices so that's my problem not theirs!

Like many others we ate at the Anchor Bleu pub nearby which is walkable, but take a decent torch for the journey back.

I would recommend this B&B to friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

I stayed at the Boathouse for one night on a business trip, i rang about an hour before arriving to say that my partner just happened to be local and was it ok for him to come with me, Kevin was great and it was no problem at all. We found the accommodation to be excellent, spotlessly clean and also very welcoming. I would recommend the Boathouse and as for noisy its on a quiet lane and it did not bother us at all.
Top marks all round!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

This was a last minute booking, due to a family 'need'!
Booked on line, but had to leave home too quickly to get the confirmation eMail, so left in hope!
Its a bit difficult to find in the dark, on a rainy evening, BUT the room was large, comfortable, lovely bathroom, with a vast, and sleep inducing bed (For those who can still remember fairy tales, The Princess and the Pea springs to mind!).
My room was at the front of the property, and because I sleep with windows wide open, there was a little traffic noise, from about 06.00am onwards, but this didn't stop a good night's sleep.
Breakfast is cooked to order, and can be as large as you like, nice quality food, with the usual offering of fruits and cereals as well.
My wife and I may well be returning to this B & B later this year when we have to go back to the area for a day or two.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, the rooms at the back, away from the road, might suit you better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steamwolf1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

My overnight business trip was very pleasant here, quiet and very comfortable. I will hopefully return with my husband for a weekend since it is a beautiful part of the world, all country and very rural England. Thank you for looking after me during my stay.

Room Tip: I stayed in The Goodwood Room which was cosy, had decking outside the French windows where you coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine070950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We chose this for our stay in the area because it had very good reviews and we were looking for a bit of luxury. We chose the biggest room the Sail Loft as we needed twin beds. The room was described as en suite but we found that this room had a small shower /toilet/ washroom downstairs from the bedroom. This was not stated in the information on the web page. We were eventually given a much smaller room with a very small en suite but no reduction in price. There is no other sitting area for visitors except outside so you need good weather or be content to stay in your room.
The noise from the road is intrusive most of the day and our sitting area was so very small and uncomfortable. We did not really have room to move in this Chichester Room.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julieandjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bosham
1.1 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chichester Hotel
2.4 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 9 in Chichester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#5 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
3.5 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#7 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Nags Head
The Nags Head
#9 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boathouse Bosham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boathouse Bosham

Property: The Boathouse Bosham
Address: Main Road, Bosham, Chichester PO18 8EH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester > Bosham
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bosham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Boathouse Bosham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boathouse is ideally situated for exploring and visiting a wealth of local sites and venues. Historical Bosham Church and Quay are within 2km walking distance. Chichester is just a few minutes drive away, or why not take advantage of the bus that stops a few yards down the road? If you are feeling energetic, you might enjoy the local cycle path from Emsworth to Chichester, which passes right outside. This superbly renovated, six-bedroomed house offers 4 guest rooms. All of these ground floor bedrooms are independently accessed and therefore provide private and secure B&B accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Boathouse Bosham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boathouse Bosham Hotel Bosham
The Boathouse Bosham Chichester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing