We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Boathouse Bosham
Ranked #1 of 6 Bosham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed in the sail loft room which was beautifully decorated and had a very comfortable bed.
Although it's on a main road there wasn't much noise from traffic at all. However we could hear our neighbours talking loudly, but do not know if they were noisy or the walls were thin.
Upon entering the front door, you see the staircase directly in front of you which leads to the loft room. The room is beautifully made up and it is a reasonable size, although you are in the loft as the name suggests and the ceiling is quite low . The space downstairs was a little awkwardly laid out. For instance the shower room is very small with the toilet right next to it and it has a tiny sink. It felt a bit 'fur coat and no knickers'.The overall space of the sail loft room for the price (£220 for 2 nights) was quite disappointing even if it was high season.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stoutdef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bosham-Boater, Owner at The Boathouse Bosham, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review

All the best

Kevin & Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

We had a one night and stayed in the Sail loft. Our room was lovely bright, clean and comfortable, the bed was so comfy. We were welcomed by Kevin who was very friendly and would not hesitate to reccommend this B & B.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bosham-Boater, Owner at The Boathouse Bosham, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave an excellent review

All the best

Kevin & Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Spent a night here yesterday and found everything great, easy to find, tidy, clean, clear info and no hassle. Spoke to Kevin this morning and wish him (them) good luck in the next venture.

Two things I meant to say about - but forgot, (helpful criticism) - couldn't get the wifi to work & the overrun on the downstairs fan in the adjacent apartment is noisy / goes on for far too long - especially at 6.00am in the morning.

Other than that - very pleasant and would return again.

Also good recommendation to go to the Berkley Arms - food / service great.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Vegieplot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bosham-Boater, Owner at The Boathouse Bosham, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback.

I just wanted to say one thing for the benefit of anyone looking to stay.

When you rightly brought the fan to my attention I did explain that it had just been replaced and the Electrician had set it all to it's maximum durations. (Which is standard for a commercial application)

I did tell you that I would go round that day with my screwdriver and adjust it down to run for a couple of minutes after the light was switched off. This is exactly what I did do.

I thanked you for sharing this with me.

It's great when a customer lets you know of a problem but as I explained the reason and remedied it within hours of you leaving. Was this really the place to mention it again?

Goodness knows how many people were put off by this. Just a tip for future review writing.

All the best both of you

Kind regards

Kevin & Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We booked for 2 nights and pleasantly surprised to be contacted and offering us a room upgrade. Very easy self check-in and we were delighted with the room and facilities, Beds were very comfortable with quality linen (but don't forget your own towels) and a useful wine fridge and a good array of teas and coffees.
Lorraine and Kevin were very helpful and we left as friends and wouldn't hesitate in booking again,

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seraphsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bosham-Boater, Owner at The Boathouse Bosham, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave an excellent review review

All the best

Kevin & Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The couple running the B&B were friendly and helpful. The room was a good size (we were upgraded to a top floor room with sloping ceilings.) The room was clean, everything worked, and the breakfast was good. I'd stay again.

I thought it was a bit expensive (£99 for two) , but obviously they have no problems filling it at those prices so that's my problem not theirs!

Like many others we ate at the Anchor Bleu pub nearby which is walkable, but take a decent torch for the journey back.

I would recommend this B&B to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bosham-Boater, Manager at The Boathouse Bosham, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review

All the best

Kevin & Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I stayed at the Boathouse for one night on a business trip, i rang about an hour before arriving to say that my partner just happened to be local and was it ok for him to come with me, Kevin was great and it was no problem at all. We found the accommodation to be excellent, spotlessly clean and also very welcoming. I would recommend the Boathouse and as for noisy its on a quiet lane and it did not bother us at all.
Top marks all round!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bosham-Boater, Owner at The Boathouse Bosham, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave an excellent review

All the best

Kevin & Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This was a last minute booking, due to a family 'need'!
Booked on line, but had to leave home too quickly to get the confirmation eMail, so left in hope!
Its a bit difficult to find in the dark, on a rainy evening, BUT the room was large, comfortable, lovely bathroom, with a vast, and sleep inducing bed (For those who can still remember fairy tales, The Princess and the Pea springs to mind!).
My room was at the front of the property, and because I sleep with windows wide open, there was a little traffic noise, from about 06.00am onwards, but this didn't stop a good night's sleep.
Breakfast is cooked to order, and can be as large as you like, nice quality food, with the usual offering of fruits and cereals as well.
My wife and I may well be returning to this B & B later this year when we have to go back to the area for a day or two.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, the rooms at the back, away from the road, might suit you better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steamwolf1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bosham
1.1 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
2.4 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
961 reviews
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Chichester
698 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel and Spa
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chichester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boathouse Bosham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boathouse Bosham

Address: Main Road, Bosham, Chichester PO18 8EH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester > Bosham
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bosham
Price Range: £48 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boathouse is ideally situated for exploring and visiting a wealth of local sites and venues. Historical Bosham Church and Quay are within 2km walking distance. Chichester is just a few minutes drive away, or why not take advantage of the bus that stops a few yards down the road? If you are feeling energetic, you might enjoy the local cycle path from Emsworth to Chichester, which passes right outside. This superbly renovated, six-bedroomed house offers 4 guest rooms. All of these ground floor bedrooms are independently accessed and therefore provide private and secure B&B accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Boathouse Bosham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boathouse Bosham Hotel Bosham
The Boathouse Bosham Chichester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing