We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”

The Millstream Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 10 Restaurants in Bosham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$57
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Millstream Hotel and Restaurant is located in Bosham, a stone's throw from Bosham Creek in Chichester Harbour designated an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and surrounded by the stunning Sussex downs. The Millstream is a haven from the hustle and bustle, and its country-style interior and award-winning modern British menu provides a tranquil setting for long lunches and romantic evening meals. Popular dishes include the seared Shetland scallops with pea and mint purée, pancetta and foie gras cream; stuffed breast of guinea fowl with celeriac gratin, leek purée and honey roasted squash foam; and the fine selection of British cheeses served with biscuits, walnut bread, fruit chutney, celery and grapes. The bar, with its cosy fireside setting, is ideal for pre/post dinner drinks.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel has endeared itself to us even though the clientele generally tend to be retired and elderly. The staff are helpful and friendly. Set in a beautiful seaside village. Ample parking and lovely maintained gardens. Have had the taster menu on two separate visits, both very enjoyable. The decor is floral and chintz, beautiful but by no means trendy . Please check you are not charged for breakfast if you didn't have it as this happened on both of our visits.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daisypuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare S, General Manager at The Millstream Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Daisypuss
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you find the hotel to be charming and the team to be helpful and friendly. I am sorry that you were charged for breakfast when you did not have it. The bills are prepared overnight with the assumption that the majority of our guests do take breakfasts and it speeds up the check-out process. As it states on the bill, please let us know of any discrepancies and we will adjust it immediately for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Millstream again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    55
    21
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We went here for our wedding anniversary supper ( we got married here!). I hadn't visited since our wedding day but it was apparent as soon as one entered the hotel that the standards had remained the same. It is immaculate in every respect, the bar area is inviting, and very attractive. We were shown to a lovely table, and we enjoyed a truly outstanding supper. The quality of the food was exemplary, choices varied and interesting, the service a perfect blend of caring discreetness. I really could not recommend this restaurant enough. Price wise, we thought it reasonable, just into three figures but that included three courses and drinks. Plus they gave us extra nibbles. They wee not aware that we had been married there so no special treatment. Strongly recommend this place if you want an enjoyable and perfect evening. There was in addition, a delightful pianist which added a nice touch.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Falcoflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare S, General Manager at The Millstream Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Falcoflyer
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you chose to come back to celebrate your anniversary with us having been married here, and we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable evening and had an outstanding supper. We are very pleased with the refurbishment of the bar, lounge and restaurant, and are delighted that you found it to be attractive and welcoming. Thank you for recommending us and saying that we are well worth a visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Millstream again very soon, and would be delighted to see you again for your next anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The chef here is excellent. The service and atmosphere really good and a great wine list.
I would definitely eat here again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare S, General Manager at The Millstream Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear travelox
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal here and found the service and atmosphere to be really good. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Millstream Restaurant again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful but Expensive”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Restaurant is lovely, great service, delicious meals. Breakfast is particularly expensive so try to negotiate that it be included with your room rate. There is a beautiful rose garden outside where you can have breakfast and lunch. Plus there is a glassed in space for high tea. Ask for a window view if you make dinner reservations in the formal dining room. Karen Brown recommends this hotel as well.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare S, General Manager at The Millstream Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Susan F
We are so pleased that you thought the hotel was wonderful and you had some delicious meals in the restaurant. Thank you for taking the time to write both reviews on both the hotel and here on the restaurant. Many of our guests recently have been lucky like you and managed to breakfast on the lawn, surrounded by many of the beautiful roses which are in full bloom. It is lovely to see so many people managing to breakfast in the sun! We are pleased that you and your friend recommend us and we hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Delicious afternoon tea in the rose garden”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Seven of us went here for afternoon tea to celebrate a 90th birthday. As it was a glorious afternoon we chose to sit in the garden which was most attractive with the backdrop of the hotel and roses blooming. The road was not too busy so did not prove a distraction.
The open sandwiches on rye bread were beautifully presented with toppings of brie and cucumber, coronation chicken and smoked salmon with cream cheese. The scones were still warm though I was a bit surprised that they had currants rather than the usual sultanas. The raspberry jam was absolutely delicious. On the final tier of the stand was a small glass filled with a lovely Eton mess, a small frangipani tart and a caramel type mousse on a chocolate wafer. The 'cakes' were a little unusual and slightly let the side down if I am being really critical.

Service was charming and there was no problem getting the tea pots refilled and we had extra scones. Although the inside rooms were pleasant eating in the beautiful garden made the occasion extra special.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BerkshireTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare S, General Manager at The Millstream Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Berkshire Tigger
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the afternoon tea and were lucky to have fabulous weather so could sit in the front garden. A lot of guests have commented on how lovely it is looking with all of the roses in bloom, and it really does make a lovely setting for a special occasion afternoon tea. We describe the afternoon tea as having a selection of cakes as these regularly change with the season, though maybe we need to describe them as “sweet treats” rather than cakes as I do agree with you that our summer tea menu does not have any classic cakes on it at the moment! We hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Millstream Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 
Chichester, West Sussex
Sidlesham, Chichester
 

Been to The Millstream Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing